Argo Tea Reviews | Glassdoor

Argo Tea Reviews

Updated 5 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Argo Tea CEO Ted Bernstein  (no image)
Ted Bernstein
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "A lot of free drinks and discounts on merch and food(in 21 reviews)

  • "Many people working in the home office got their start as baristas and have a long history with Argo(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn't tend to listen to lower level employees like the Barista role(in 22 reviews)

  • "Always out of stock in something and they never let the baristas know what is going on(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "this is a company with a big heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mixologist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Tea full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    tight team, care, family-like feel, great product, everyone is really involved

    Cons

    product shortages are kinda annoying

    Advice to Management

    don't lose the family-like feel

    Argo Tea2018-11-01
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Amherst, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Argo Tea full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Lots of opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming and there's a lot to learn in a short period of time.

    Argo Tea2019-07-09
  3. "They don't care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Argo Tea full-time

    Pros

    Delicious beverages, fun co-workers, okay operating hours

    Cons

    They closed our location that I was hired for after just 6 months

    Argo Tea2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Absolutely no recognition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Argo Tea part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will meet incredible people and coworkers are friendly and down-to-earth.

    Cons

    You will be overworked if your coworkers do not carry their own weight. Management does very little to train employees and most either don't know what their responsibilities are, or simply don't care about this job. I also applied to a mentorship program that they were offering (with NUMEROUS follow-ups) and never got any response. My application was simply ignored by corporate and management and I had to wait... another year to re-apply. But before then, my location was shut down and I, along with many other employees was laid off. The adherence to safety standards is bar none. Customers have gotten allergic reactions because nobody bothered to know the ingredients in the drinks we make. Things are out of stock constantly. Working in a tea shop that is out of green tea for a month is humiliating.

    Show More
    Argo Tea2019-07-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Where's the green tea??"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Barista in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Tea full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none. really. cannot thing of a single pro. anyone reading this, thinking of getting a job here at any level; dont. run. run away.

    Cons

    how can a tea company opperate when it cant even get tea to sell? do you know how frustrating it is to yelled at every day by ppl who expect a tea comapny to have green tea????????????? oh, and im still waiting on paycheque. are you guys broke? why cant you pay me??

    Advice to Management

    your first step was getting rid of arsen. good job! glad to no longer be harrasssed. we thought it would get better but it hasnt. shut down already.

    Argo Tea2019-08-16
  6. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Argo Tea full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good management - good hours

    Cons

    - okay pay - customers can get crazy

    Argo Tea2019-05-02
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Morrilton, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Tea full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great hours and great people to work with

    Cons

    Working around food lol and mean customers

    Argo Tea2019-04-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good people but rough company management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Argo Tea full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow, able to get experience in many different areas of the business, people are fun and friendly to work with

    Cons

    Difficulty keeping inventory stocked in cafes leads to frustrating moments when trying to drive sales

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize inventory management

    Argo Tea2019-04-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Leader in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Argo Tea full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks and that is it.

    Cons

    No product for customers as well equipment never working. Benefit are too expensive. Meetings every week about the same thing. Cater to full-time and part-time employees schedules. No work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Look into more affordable benefits and equipment for stores. Stop employing people that don’t have an open availability or no availability what so ever.

    Argo Tea2019-05-20
  10. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Argo Tea

    Pros

    The culture your coworkers and the product

    Cons

    Compensation, turnover was very high and store managers work too many hours

    Advice to Management

    Work on developing managers

    Argo Tea2019-04-09
Found 154 reviews