Arista Networks Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks President and CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
305 Ratings
Pros
  • "work/life balance, you’ll work extra hours only if you want to(in 85 reviews)

  • "An innovative organization with amazingly smart people(in 49 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Somewhat steep initial learning curve(in 32 reviews)

  • "work is little boring unless you are into networking(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid team and tech

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great technology. Amazing engineers. Taking market share, which makes for a fun environment.

      Cons

      Let many consultants go during covid.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work - but undergoing "Growing Pains"

      Mar 23, 2021 - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flat organization chart. If you're not a Manager/Director, you're an Engineer. There is not as much rank-pulling here compared to other companies I've been to - Pay is actually not bad, contrary to what some people say (for US offices, at least) The "secret" here is that a large chunk of your income comes from RSU's which are awarded based on your performance in the first year or two - Most people are very smart, motivated, and helpful - The CTO and Engineering VP's are true engineers, and are intelligent people. - Good work-life balance. Generally, there is no crunch and you can work at your own pace - of course, there are exceptions for certain strategically important projects with timelines set by external factors, but these are few - Company culture has remained good for the above reasons (but more on that later)

      Cons

      - Tools are slow and occasionally not stable, and have not scaled well with company growth. Instead of addressing problems in existing tools, the tools team tends to create new tools and meta-tools to partially work around those problems. Bugs in tools often go unfixed in favor of new development as well. - Lack of documentation. Most knowledge seems to be transferred via word of mouth, and on-boarding new people is longer than it needs to be. This is becoming especially painful with more people joining the company, and with everyone working from home. - Arista uses a proprietary programming language (learning which is a skill that won't transfer to anywhere else), and is also poorly documented

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great management, culture, and coworkers

      Cons

      nonthing comes to mind, a great place to work!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Needs improvement

      May 1, 2021 - Software Engineer in Nashua, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are excellent. Good compensation.

      Cons

      Management is unorganized. Horribly unorganized. Your workload changes projections every few weeks. The codebase is a mess and has no documentation. They have Google docs written for everything, which means thousands of docs and most are outdated. Development is not agile, not waterfall, not kanban, just chaos.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome Place to Work!

      Apr 19, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open door policy. Everyone is transparent. Great team environment. Awesome products and company culture is amazing!

      Cons

      I haven't encountered 1 yet!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Arista - Integrity in Work

      Oct 16, 2020 - IT Analyst in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible Work Hours -Good Pay, Benefits -Exceptional Leadership and Management I have nothing, but good things to say about my managers and peers and the lines of communication are strong and available whenever needed. I would trade all of the fringe benefits I have ever received as a regular employee from a major tech company (I have worked at Both Google and Uber) for the peers and work environment that I now have.

      Cons

      There's no good way to say that there are times when one feels compelled to overwork. I will do my best to be absolutely fair here and say that at Arista I never felt like I was unfairly working overtime or felt compelled to because of pressure from peers or that I would lose my job. Rare is the workplace in which one could not be justifiably upset for having to work long hours, but rarer still is a place in which one finds themselves wanting to because of the people around them. Even in times of stress I have always felt safe in the knowledge that everyone around me was working just as hard toward a collective benefit. I will add that I have never been asked to work later or longer than I wanted to and if I did it, it was always my choice. As a final addendum I should add that this was not indicative of day to day activity prior to the outbreak of Covid-19, but is more likely a product of our changing times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best job I've ever had

      Dec 2, 2020 - Software Test Engineer in Nashua, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at a lot of large and small (startup) companies in my career. Arista Networks is simply the best of both worlds. We work on great technology...with great friendly bright people...for a company that continues to excel. People need to understand that it is very rare to find all 3 in a job. The company culture is to "do the right thing" and that is true in every aspect of the job. This rings true because it starts at the top; from Jayshree, to Andy, to Ken, to Anshul...all the way done to each of the managers. They truly are passionate technologists that care for their employees. In these trying times of a pandemic, they work more on a trust model rather than an old, archaic, corporate structure. Whether you are a parent juggling remote learning for your kids, or a single young employee living in isolation, they are very understanding to everyone's needs. This is by far and away the best job I've ever had.

      Cons

      Because of the flat organization, there is an enormous amount of email; mostly due to automated tooling.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Apr 12, 2021 - Software Engineering Intern in Nashua, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All fun, nothing to complain about at all

      Cons

      None at all, verification beautiful place to work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst company to be

      Nov 26, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. If you don't have an offer or can't get an offer from anywhere else only then join this company.

      Cons

      - Takes a lot of time to actually start contributing because of plethora of internal tools. Situation is soo worse that company have even created a new language which is a wrapper on C++. So if some one takes your interview in C/C++ then don't think that you will be working in any standard language. FYI: their language has no documentation. Its just a word of mouth. - Company/CTO is only focused on tools development and not on product. You won't find any innovative/challenging work. All good reviews for work are older. Now the product has stabilized or company is not focused. - No one talks about research papers or patents. Although there are parties if CISCO's hold on patent ends. You can think where you need to be. - If someone is telling you company gives a great increment then they are either lying through their teeth or may be they are getting good money because they are able to hire you cheap. Once you join forget about any increments. Company is on acquisitions spree. For employees at lower level the management only hand overs a sorry letter. Don't think company is doing well, beating all estimates means it will trickle down to employees. Company even rescinded offers of interns in summer 2020. So negotiate well because after joining you won't get anything.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work with

      Mar 30, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture good culture good culture

      Cons

      no such Cons no such cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 469 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Arista Networks Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Technical Solutions Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Arista Networks? Share Your Experiences

    Arista Networks logo
    or