Arista Networks Reviews | Glassdoor

Arista Networks Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 282 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
203 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Solid job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture here is really good to engineers. When I look around, most faces look happy. People are generally very helpful, and give real answers to my questions, rather than brushing me off with 'read the documentation'. Annual bonuses are based strictly on a peer review process; this is really cool because you are rewarded not for sucking up to your manager, but rather by demonstrating your merits to your co-workers....

    Show More

    Cons

    Headquarters is in the middle of nowhere in Santa Clara, so commute from downtown is pretty bad. If you don't mind living in the burbs, this might not be a problem for you. And of course, network switching isn't exactly the sexiest industry to work in; my non-technical friends and family will never ever understand what I do for a living.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, really. I don't know how you managed to scale the company to this size while maintaining a good culture, but it worked. Company culture is easily the best part of this job for me.

    Arista Networks2018-02-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Can be good if you find the right position/team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Arista Networks full-time

      Pros

      Many engineers like working here There are some interesting problems to work on Good infrastructure for automated testing

      Cons

      Pay not envelope-pushing You might be given a series of tasks that don't suit your experience, and end up with no ownership of anything

      Advice to Management

      Put more effort into finding the right fit for new hires, there's more to be done than just getting bodies in the door

      Arista Networks2018-01-30
    • "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Culture and a growing company

      Cons

      May offer low base sometimes

      Arista Networks2018-01-18
    • "Company Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Platform Engineer 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Best Place to work . great opportunities to grow

      Cons

      no cons really. Maybe just use of titles would be better

      Arista Networks2018-01-02
    • Helpful (16)

      "Don’t believe the hype"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in Little America, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Growing stock price so here you can make money Quality products means they do listen to customers needs Good support. This is critical to accounts coming back and growing.

      Cons

      Horrible field SE management and leadership Terrible culture breeds mistrust Leadership is clueless about its employees needs and proves they are out of touch with the field. Cheap and disingenuous and mis-leading to get you to join the company. They do nothing to retain talent. No annual bonus or stock for retention.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your sales organization with respect and realize Arista does not sell itself. You have entrusted the wrong people in sales leadership for development of sales beyond cloud companies. Some of the ones you trust the most are destroying your company.

      Arista Networks2017-10-13
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great Products Great Engineering- Lousy Performance Review Method"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great products and strong growth. Good to be on a winning team. Compensation is more than fair if you include stock grants

      Cons

      The performance review method is bad. They depend on your fellow employees voting on how good an individual is. It becomes a popularity contest. In addition management doesn't tell you where you rank.

      Advice to Management

      Scrap the performance ranking method currently employed and move to something that is more objective.

      Arista Networks2017-10-09
    • Helpful (4)

      "Terrible management and direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Stock is good but they

      Cons

      Terrible management from the top. Culture of silence and mistrust called the arista way. Workers are scared of soeaking up because they will lose their job that means the stock given.

      Advice to Management

      Lose your narcissism and inflated ego

      Arista Networks2017-10-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Software development at Arista is challenging and rewarding."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Arista Networks full-time

        Pros

        Work is challenging and the culture uniquely encourages solving problems the right way. Excellent opportunities to expand engineering skills as well.

        Cons

        The ramp up can be challenging and working with teams in all time zones can present some difficulties.

        Advice to Management

        Benefits, particularly healthcare options could be improved. The importance of keeping the quickly growing engineering team cohesive and informed can't be over emphasized.

        Arista Networks2017-09-27
      • "Software Engineer Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Arista Networks

        Pros

        Good Mentorship and good caretaker

        Cons

        No return offer and no feedback

        Arista Networks2017-10-18
      • "Systems Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Arista Networks full-time

          Pros

          Great focus on engineering execution.

          Cons

          Keeping up with the growth can be challenging.

          Arista Networks2017-10-03
        Found 282 reviews