Arista Networks Software Engineering Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Arista Networks Software Engineer Intern Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
5 Ratings
  1. "Great Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks

    Pros

    Work Culture/Environment is really nice and relaxed. The kind of work culture I would want in a long-term position. Work/life balance is very good as well Smart, nice people Free drinks and snacks Cool intern events Personally, the work I did was interesting and was a valuable experience for me

    Cons

    At least when I was there (Summer 2018), the learning curve was steep. Many of the presentations meant for new hires were too in-depth and specific to certain topics, and need to be changed to be more big-picture.

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    Arista Networks2019-02-28
  2. "time in arista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Test Engineer Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    got to know a lot for the internship period

    Cons

    a lot of tasks for a short period of time

    Arista Networks2018-03-06
  3. "Great Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Culture Great Working environment great people

    Cons

    Low compensation Less facility at Bnagalore

    Advice to Management

    Great

    Arista Networks2015-11-05
  4. "Awesome Place to Intern or Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    -Arista has great Senior management. -Employees have a lot of freedom and there is a lot of trust in the employees to do the right thing and get their work done. -Great values: "always do the right thing". They don't do quick fixes.

    Cons

    They provide good compensation for interns, but it would be nice to have a housing stipend or housing provided since this area is so expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that you don't compromise your values as you grow.

    Arista Networks2015-09-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointing Experience - Not recommended for college students/new grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Some very smart people work there (although people who've stayed 4 years or longer definitely seem to be leaving and others may soon leave as well after they've stayed long enough for their RSUs). Free chips, candies and sodas on each floor. Pretty flexible work hours and some people spend a lot of time working at home.

    Cons

    I worked in software engineering and I really wouldn't recommend it to other new grads/college students. Most of the work revolves around very specialized tools/technologies mostly used only at Arista and unless you plan to specialize in working on datacenter switches, there isn't much to be learned that would be useful for school/working at other companies. The projects that they assign to interns are generally a bit...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really should devote more resources/provide more training to teaching interns and new employees about company technology and tools. Also don't be cheap about employee salary/perks and intern events, especially after the IPO.

    Arista Networks2015-03-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very good place for interns. A lot of software engineering tools. Advanced development framework."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    The TACC framework is very advanced. Developing on the framework is extremely efficient. As an intern, your project would be integrated into the system, and you would be assigned tasks from week 1.

    Cons

    Too much relied on the framework, hardly learn new softwares and tools. The offer is average, and it is not very generous after its IPO.

    Arista Networks2014-12-02
  7. "Rising pre-IPO company with huge growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely helpful coworkers, great compensation, free drinks/snacks

    Cons

    Isolated location on edge of Silicon Valley.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Arista Networks2013-11-01
  8. "Great Environment, work could be more interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

      Pros

      People are always friendly and able to help if you don't know what to do. The summer intern company events are a lot of fun. Really relaxed working hours: come in whenever, leave whenever, just get work done.

      Cons

      The work was a little bit tedious for me. It took a while for me to get assigned a task and then every time I finished it, someone would have some idea of how it could be different, and I would have to re-do it. My experience didn't seem to be typical though.

      Arista Networks2013-02-25
    • "Great internship experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks for less than a year

      Pros

      People here are smart, intelligent and open minded. Cool project to work on. You have the possibility to work on lots of different IT area (Kernel, application, routing etc...) Great office in Dublin with free snacks/fruits/sodas .

      Cons

      I can't think of any for the moment.

      Arista Networks2016-09-02
    • Helpful (4)

      "It was great!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Burnaby, BC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

      Pros

      You learn a lot while working at Arista, like networking, Linux command line tools (which will change the way you code forever!), etc.

      Cons

      There were absolutely no cons.

      Arista Networks2015-10-09
    Found 11 reviews