Arista Networks Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Arista Networks Software Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
111 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Don't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of anything. Free lunch, that's about it.

    Cons

    Long hours, weekends. Credit for work done assigned to others. Multiple and conflicting managers. Office environment consisted of a desk in a bull pen next to 20 others. In the end, they were mainly concerned with making sure you don't get stock options. I left a going company to join this "hot startup". One of the worst places I have ever worked for.

    Arista Networks2014-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clarita, CA

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best work culture, superb infrastructures, reasonable salary, very good pre-ipo options. Smart people

    Cons

    not so cool to work in networking industry, salary might not be the best.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing good

    Arista Networks2014-04-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place for very smart engineers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smart people to work with - Sound engineering mgmt - Will get a 'piece of the action' to make things happen! No non-sense, no-bull-shit culture - Company is growing and doing well, so one can be part of it

    Cons

    Compensation, bonuses can be better

    Advice to Management

    Keep the current culture even as we scale up and go after IPO.

    Arista Networks2014-02-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "great people, good prospects for company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - everyone is smart - management is intelligent and very approachable - the company is growing very fast - the software architecture is excellent - opportunities to learn a lot

    Cons

    - work can sometimes get a little tedious - can be a steep learning curve in the beginning

    Arista Networks2014-02-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay but long hours of hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Never-ending list of bugs good for those who are up for challenges Small company culture: friday beer nights, large parties, lots of support Free snacks/food and lots of Redbull Highly flexible working schedule (arrivial time and can SSH from home) Great shower facilities

    Cons

    Management occasionally "kindly" requests working 60-80 hours a week Requires longer hours to get projects completed Highly technical work

    Advice to Management

    Provide more training to employees

    Arista Networks2014-02-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best Networking Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding team, Excellent work culture, can do attitude. This has by far, the most advanced software development environment among the networking companies. The tools are a generation ahead. Engineers are allowed to run with their work. No politics. The top engineering management is filled with some of the smartest engineers in the valley. Everyone is very helpful. And you have a very good work-lie balance. And...

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't think of any Cons.

    Advice to Management

    You have developed a very good culture. Please maintain this as the company gets bigger.

    Arista Networks2014-01-03
  7. "Good Culture, good compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to get work done while maitaining work-life balance. Good compensation. Flexible working hours. Smart and nice coworkers.

    Cons

    Should file PERM every 3-month (right now it is every 6-month).

    Advice to Management

    None

    Arista Networks2013-12-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best networking software teams in the valley. Very strong technical leadership and management Tools and infrastructure like you wouldn't believe, with continued investment in improving them. Modern software development (Linux, C++, Python, unit testing, all sorts of virtualization) with developer driven testing and complete engineer ownership of projects from beginning to end. All development offices (Santa...

    Show More

    Cons

    Arista is a place where we work pretty hard and take our work seriously. It's not so much a place to come and play, although we do try.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the tight focus on execution. There is still a ton of work to get done. Try to preserve the bottom up, engineer driven culture even as we get larger.

    Arista Networks2013-12-19
  9. "Great engineering talent, compelling product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Up and coming network company with a niche product. Will probably ipo soon.

    Cons

    No bs culture. Most employees are ex cisco/ex juniper/etc. Not so many young engineers although they are trying to recruit more new grads

    Advice to Management

    More feedback for software engineers

    Arista Networks2013-11-15
  10. "Rising pre-IPO company with huge growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely helpful coworkers, great compensation, free drinks/snacks

    Cons

    Isolated location on edge of Silicon Valley.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Arista Networks2013-11-01
Found 159 reviews