Arista Networks Software Reviews | Glassdoor

Arista Networks Software Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
114 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good Culture, Good Technology, Awesome People, But management needs to wake up regarding compensation now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Those of you who worked at traditional networking companies will be amazed at the tools, technologies and development environment that we have. We don't connect two switches the traditional way. We have got python and our test infrastructure to do that. Testing your new feature the traditional way is much harder than testing it via the infra we have. Moreover, you would spend most of the time designing the feature.... The donkey work you did for robust unit testing is no longer needed. It has been streamlined and the testing efforts you put in will be leveraged whenever someone changes the relevant code. There are hardly any bugs - bugs of the kind you would have seen in your previous n jobs at networking companies. Coming to people:, well, this is the highest concentration of smartest people I have ever seen. You don't need to stretch your self to explain a complicated item in the code that you are looking at very closely. people just get it. One mail, one diagram on board and you are there. Stocks have a great potential. Yes, even if you are joining today, and with average valuation for the company, you will make reasonable amount

    Show More

    Cons

    Compensation, See the advice to management section.

    Advice to Management

    You guys have done an amazing job in setting up the culture, envisioning a company that could stand up against the giant. You have hired smartest people around. Moreover, founders have been generous in allocating a huge stock pool for employees. But, I think time has come where you need to seriously start looking at revising the compensation, starting a bonus plan. Everybody in the company knows we are doing... amazingly well. And its people who have made it possible. A sermon now and then explaining what the "inflection point" would be or what the stock pricing would be is not going to help. Act on it before it becomes too late. Sure stocks have potential. But employees have no clue regarding the timelines for IPO . Please don't spoil a great team that you have built. If stock really does well, no one is going to care for bonus/hike going forward. You have a real chance of making a statement to employees that " we care for the team" by distributing some bonus now - in these years before IPO. This would also send a strong message in the job market that Arista management really cares.

    Show More
    Arista Networks2013-09-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Unique culture, great people, expected to take initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Management in the engineering team is highly technical, and the higher the position the smarter people are * Lots of room for career growth * Lots of different projects to choose from * Give people responsibility, no matter your experience level * Transparent peer review process and proactive raises if you are worth it For people who are energetic and love doing different things, this is THE company you... should work for. You can learn from a lot of smart people. But you have to take initiative, as there is zero micro management. Nobody is babysitting you unless you are incompetent (and going to be fired).

    Show More

    Cons

    * Could be hard to adapt to since many things (culture, tools, management structure) are different from traditional big companies * Compensation isn't great if you don't believe in stock options This is probably harder for more senior people who come from companies that give a lot of cash compensation (no bonus here yet!)

    Advice to Management

    (cash) compensation is one thing to improve Listen more to employees and their concerns (greencards, etc)

    Arista Networks2013-08-13
  3. "Awesome place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best engineering team I have worked with. This is probably the most advanced development environment for a networking company.

    Cons

    None that I can think about.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the continuous focus on the culture and hiring great people

    Arista Networks2013-08-15
  4. "Space age tools and infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Space age tools and infrastructure - Very smart colleagues, a lot of whom are from a strong academic background (read lots of Phds) - Very open culture. - Superbly architected software. - To be hired, you have to not only be good at what you do, but you have to be a nice person. Once you're hired, being nice and helping your co-workers solve problems is almost explicitly incentivized. - All in all, this is a... really nice place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    For a pre-IPO company that has top talent and (I believe) will go from strength to strength, the workplace and perks are a bit spartan.

    Advice to Management

    - Preserve the culture - Keep the hierarchy flat - Make sure every one in management is highly technical

    Arista Networks2013-07-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to be software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with some of the industry's best. And not "work with" like you see them once a year, but "work with" as in you're on the same team. The caliber of people here is just outstanding! The company really respects its employees. Individual opinions, time, work-style - all are valued. This leads to this being a great place to do work. A lot of procedures in place are there to minimize overhead and... repetitious tasks - hence a phenomenal build system, automated test infrastructure, and the most painless merge / mergeback setup I've ever used. I feel like I'm learning a lot every day (2 years and still going strong). It's really humbling to look at the more senior people and see how much more I have to learn! The company is working in a really rich sector which is quickly growing. The company is growing really quickly and that presents a lot of career growth opportunities. There's a strong drive towards internal promotion instead of external hiring whenever possible. We actually sell something you can touch! This may seem foolish, but selling something real, something where your software actuates a physical action, is really rewarding. Leadership has done a great job of keeping the focus on Engineering rather than managers. All of the managers here were engineers first, and accepted a management position because they made good managers, but also because they saw the need for oversight and direction, and agreed they were the best person to provide it. Management seems to view its role as "getting out of the way of software engineers so that they can do what they do best - engineer software" which leads to a very healthy culture. Very open culture at all levels. Engineers talk with Jayshree around the coffee machine, a weekly beer-bash encourages people to mix and meet with others from around the company. Arista is in it for the long-haul. When asked if we were firmly committed to an IPO as an exit strategy our CEO responded no, that's our *entry* strategy; we're not here to exit, we're here to change datacenter networking and you can't do that if you just exit. Wide range of Software Engineering from firmware and EE-style register twiddling to very high-level programming. Solid mentoring and development opportunities 20 days/yr of PTO for everyone. Weekly beer bash!

    Show More

    Cons

    Arista wasn't founded by web2.0 kids and the perks don't shadow those companies: there're no free meals (although the snack bar is pretty darn good), no subsidized gym memberships, no on-campus dinner, no massages, no laundry, no daycare, etc. It's a workplace, and not a place to live...IMHO that last one is actually a pro but individual mileage may vary. You won't be made an instant mega-millionaire... instagram-style because that's not the game Arista is playing. Most of your friends will have no clue what you work on. You can't pull up a website and show them. Most of the time you'll settle for something like "we make the internet work" and move on. On a day-to-day basis the work isn't super-flashy: it's just solid, interesting problem solving. (more of a neutral than a con)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. We're happy to have you running the show! But really: free lunch, and 401k matching would be REALLY nice

    Arista Networks2013-07-18
  6. "New generation Networking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Arista has a very open culture. Everyone is accessible. Relatively Flat organization with no unnecessary upper management. Heavily focus on engineering. Smart and intelligent colleagues. Last not the least we have free beer bash on friday evenings !!

    Cons

    Market is extremely competitive and have to always run twice as faster than the competition.

    Advice to Management

    Company is growing at a fast rate please keep the same culture and continue to keep the organization flat.

    Arista Networks2013-07-24
  7. "Great Software Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working here. OS and Networking are my passion and there are a lot of companies to work for. Here are the things I like best about the Arista software team: - No titles, we're all software engineers. We don't have to deal with the politics of a senior engineer or technical lead telling a software engineer what to do based on rank. A natural hierarchy evolves where engineers who are very skilled in specific... areas are considered the authority on a topic. - Package based system. Modeled after the Linux community, each package has a team of maintainers for that code. Anyone can submit changes to any package, and the Maintainers do the code reviews for their packages. No one discourages others from modifying their code. - Incredibly smart people - SF office - Great equity upside - Great set of tools - No QA team. We use continuous integration with automatic testing to prevent regressions at merge time. - Encouraged to learn different things. I maintain parts of the code and am also free to work on different areas. I work on device firmware, kernel code, and user space c++ and python.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Salaries are lower than established public networking companies. When I took the job I had offers with higher salaries, but Arista had the better equity upside and learning potential.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep the hiring bar high - Continue to empower engineers as we grow. We've converted engineers to new layers of management and so far that has worked well and not got in the way of my work.

    Arista Networks2013-07-22
  8. "Excellent work environment with great leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What makes Arista a great company to work for is the culture. A culture of 'doing the right thing', it sounds simple enough, but it is immensely powerful, and everyone follows it. I've seen companies sacrificing on quality for a release deadline. That doesn't happen here, when it comes to software quality it trumps all sales or marketing imposed deadlines. Arista has the best tools for making a developers life... easier. Whether it is source code management, or for running unit tests. A lot of people have put in lots of effort to build infrastructure to make the developers life easy. I've seen new products being released in amazing speed, like 6 to 9 months, which bigger company like cisco would have taken 18 to 24 months to do. Central to EOS is a meta language that makes writing code easier. Eliminates writing lots of boiler plate code (if you've ever read Effective C++ book, you'll understand the difficulty in writing good C++ code, and this takes care of a lot of it). Another part of Arista culture is helping fellow engineers and seeking help. Performance review process is designed to encourage engineers to be helpful to others. In previous companies, performance reviews and ratings were pretty much at the mercy of your reporting manager. At Arista there is a democratization of reviews (peer-reviews) which is awesome! Very hands-on leadership team, most of the infrastructure and tooling were written by engineers who are now in management positions. You won't find a PHB in Arista, and any inputs from management is usually constructive and strategic rather than clueless or political. Lots of freedom to choose projects to work on. Lots of freedom to switch teams/managers. Perfect work life balance, there was a crunch time for one quarter when everyone was putting in 50hrs a week, but things have returned to normalcy now.

    Show More

    Cons

    Engineering organization is almost flat (few hierarchies), there are no titles for software engineers. It feels like there is no ladder to climb on the technical path. Reviews are conducted anonymously only the manager knows the feedback if you're doing good or awesome. Still, it is difficult to guess where you stand in the ratings because the feedback is subjective and no metric is used in the reviews. No... definite IPO date. 3 CFOs have changed recently. Compensation not on par with competition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't bring in outside management who doesn't fit the engineering culture. Focus on hiring great talented engineers.

    Arista Networks2013-07-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible work environment. You can pick from a menu of projects pretty much every quarter and work on what excites you the most on the said menu. - Smart colleagues. They've done a good job of hiring mostly smart people. - No QA bs. There's no QA organization. Yay. - A culture of tools to solve everyday operational issues. People like writing tools and it's encouraged. - Potentially big equity upside. The... company is doing well and may in the near future go IPO at a decent valuation. The market they're in is huge and growing.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Insular culture. There are basically 3-4 people (Directors now), who run the engineering organization. They went to school (Stanford) together. Worked at a prior startup together (that Cisco acquired), together. Pretty much every engineering / management decision is made by these people. They've either driven out (or tend to drive out) every other engineering manager that has come on the scene. For someone fresh... out of college, they're something to admire and look up to and maybe even worship for their wealth of knowledge and all that. For someone with a little bit of experience, they can come across as patronizing at times. Expect a lot of sermons in your interactions with The Directors (and sometimes, downright rudeness, unfortunately). - Not a whole lot of hard problems to solve. There's hardware (asic) drivers, routing protocols, standard L2/3 protocols, cli, etc. There are enough Cisco features to implement on their platforms that you'll be busy for a while doing just that.

    Show More
    Arista Networks2013-07-17
  10. "Fun place to work in the silicon valley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * You will meet and work with some of the best talent in the networking industry * You will give and take a lot of respect in an apolitical setup * Founders and management really care about making products and not interested in just achieving it by any means. Sound judgement is like an epidemic. Everyone is on the ground and they make sense usually. * This is no sweat shop. On the other hand, people... genuinely care and go beyond expectations by choice * X-factor - in the networking industry this is probably the closest you can get to a google/facebook type next-gen work environment with serious and world-class thought put towards scaling, continuously developing infrastructure and tools for engineering. If you are the kind of person that is excited by the thought learning all kinds of cool programming languages, paradigms and is not shy to develop tools on the go, there is no better networking company around * Another cool thing is that there is a genuine mix of fresh talent and experience. This is another similarity to facebook/google type environment IMO

    Show More

    Cons

    Not much to complain about

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture going

    Arista Networks2013-07-19
Found 162 reviews