Arista Networks "learning curve" Reviews | Glassdoor

Arista Networks Employee Reviews about "learning curve"

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 282 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Arista Networks CEO Jayshree Ullal
Jayshree Ullal
203 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "learning curve"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Technical Solutions Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Solutions Engineer in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team work is fantastic. Everyone is willing to help. Positive energy. No politics. Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Learning curve is steep but very rewarding

    Advice to Management

    Thumbs up

    Arista Networks2019-04-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best networking company in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arista Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is almost zero politics here. Very little micromanagement. Get to learn python scripting because we developers have to automate all the unit-test and functional tests. Singe code-base for all platforms. People are mostly friendly and helpful. Management is mostly good except a few minor exceptions. Location is good, buildings and facilities are brand new and good.

    Cons

    The initial 6 months were very daunting because of the steep learning curve. It was also lonely because the team does not have any welcome lunches for new hires and people don't invite you into their friend circle. In other companies we are felt more welcome.

    Arista Networks2019-03-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Smart People, and great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Plenty to learn - Smart people - Projects are engaging - They let you focus on what you want to learn and let you explore/learn with projects that you can even propose yourself! - Easy to move between "Teams" to work on new projects - perks ( food! )

    Cons

    - High learning curve! so be ready to read. - There is a lot of outdated documentation which makes it harder to know what is still useful and what has been improved. Thus there is a lot of reading to be done at the beginning.

    Arista Networks2019-03-14
  4. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arista Networks full-time

    Pros

    Innovative company/technology, Surrounded by terrific and very smart people, Work/Life balance, freedom given to employees, Great working environment/culture; still has the start-up culture embedded into the company Company Growth Lots of collaborative work within various teams,Flat hierarchy, individuals can directly see the impact of their contributions

    Cons

    -High learning curve -Growing pains associated with the fast-paced growth of the company -Lacking in rewards and recognition

    Arista Networks2018-11-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineering Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Arista Networks full-time

      Pros

      -You get to work with a small software engineering team and develop software that makes a difference and gets used, even as an intern -Intern program is well organized, good mentor pairing system, "caretaker" pairing, good intern events

      Cons

      -Pretty steep learning curve and hard to make progress the first few weeks. I would recommend taking a networking class before interning with a routing or switching team, it definitely helps.

      Advice to Management

      Perhaps pushing for having interns do at least one paired project with another intern would help. Not all of the projects have to be that way, but having one of these to start before I jump in on my own would have eased the learning curve a bit.

      Arista Networks2017-01-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Exciting, fast growing company with great work culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Choose your own schedule - No manager's breathing down your back - Very smart, motivated co-workers - Good infrastructure for writing and testing code - Company continues to grow quickly

      Cons

      - Not many perks - A bit of a learning curve - Work can get a little tedious at times

      Arista Networks2014-10-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "great people, good prospects for company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - everyone is smart - management is intelligent and very approachable - the company is growing very fast - the software architecture is excellent - opportunities to learn a lot

      Cons

      - work can sometimes get a little tedious - can be a steep learning curve in the beginning

      Arista Networks2014-02-05
    • "Great company, culture, and products"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Company has a lot of great engineers and that is reflected in the products. The Arista operating system is beautifully engineered. After working on Arista's OS infrastructure, I can't imagine working on any other OS. At Arista, I can build a feature faster, with higher quality, and with less resources than at companies I have previously worked with. It's truly an amazing company!

      Cons

      There is a learning curve associated with the Arista infrastructure, and it does take sometime to get comfortable.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the momentum going.

      Arista Networks2013-07-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "New engineers and recent grads work on meaningful projects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Arista Networks

      Pros

      Great place for young engineers to work and learn. Because of Arista's size, new engineers are placed on meaningful projects. Open environment where everyone is willing to help out. Employees take pride in creating the best products on the market. Fast growing company, brings a sense of excitement.

      Cons

      Learning curve may be tough at times, but plenty of people offer help.

      Advice to Management

      Company will face growing pains as it expands. Management will have to figure out how to maintain company culture as Arista grows.

      Arista Networks2011-02-06
    • "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Arista Networks full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Engineering culture Salary and benefit Work life balance

        Cons

        Learning curve for the beginner Focusing on network devices in products

        Arista Networks2018-09-14
      Found 282 reviews