Arkema Reviews | Glassdoor

Arkema Reviews

Updated August 2, 2017
41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Arkema Président-Directeur Général Thierry Le Hénaff
Thierry Le Hénaff
24 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Many perks to a good work life balance i (in 5 reviews)

  • Very positive and friendly work environment, excellent quality of the products, recognized by the market, company with a coherent strategy (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • I wish my position was going permanent (in 2 reviews)

  • Annual review process is poor, plus core values do not necessarily match those of local plant management (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great atmosphere and safety driven."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arkema full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, SAFETY, just a great place to work. They take safety very seriously and always strive to do it safer. Great pay, overtime if you like it.

    Cons

    I left to pursue other interest.....

    Advice to Management

    Always keep safety as your number 1 goal.

    Arkema Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your kind words! I will share them with the team and with the Safety Department.


  2. "Engineer/Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arkema full-time

    Pros

    Employee friendly and laid back.

    Cons

    Lack of technical career growth options

    Arkema Response

    Jun 21, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! About career opportunities, we have at the moment 111 opportunities for internal applicants in France and around 56 in the US.
    We would advise you to contact your HR... More

  3. "HES technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arkema full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great facilities

    Cons

    Nothing bad, hours are great, pay is wonderful. I can't think of any cons, because the job I came from was awful, crooked, sneaky, racist, backstabbing. It was awful. Coworkers were great but management was a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, make your employees feel important because they are. They can't be replaced, well they can but you might get a mess then. Just continue to show appreciation across the board and don't be afraid to spread some ethnicity in the plant. 😉


  4. "My Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pack Out Operator in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Pack Out Operator in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arkema full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, unionized

    Cons

    I'm not a supervisor yet

    Advice to Management

    NA


  5. "Not Credible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in King of Prussia, PA
    Former Employee - Researcher in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arkema full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    You can get some experience here, but don't count on a career.

    Cons

    This company used to have a very low rating, but due to a lot of recent bogus (and very short) reviews, it looks like a great place to work, with the rating going from 2.8 to 4 within a year. If Glassdoor doesn't develop a way to filter out the fake reviews, it won't have any credibility soon. The Amphibians running the company have no idea what any of their American employees actually do. The promotions only go to their fellow countrymen,

    Advice to Management

    Put American management in American hands.

    Arkema Response

    Feb 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are sorry you did not enjoy working with us. If the ratings improved, maybe it's because things are not as bad as you think it was?
    Anyway, plenty of executive positions are hold by Americans as... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    My co-workers were really terrific.

    Cons

    None. I wish my position was going permanent.

    Arkema Response

    Feb 5, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for this feedback :)


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Proces technical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great hours, a great management staff, flexible, a lot of room to grow, great location

    Cons

    With a small work group, the clicks are all ready formed. Management distance itself from hourly employees,

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to loosen up!

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Maintenance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arkema full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Able to work with some very good maintenance personnel, engineers and professionals.
    Usually good opportunities for a variety of positions with in the plants.

    Cons

    Need better communications from upper and middle Management to plant staff! Plant Managers with hidden agendas, protecting favorites. Need better work/life balance. No real appreciation for those that go above and beyond. Salary and benefits tend to be behind industry averages. Annual review process is poor, plus core values do not necessarily match those of local plant management. Relatively high personnel turnover, do not seem to value and/or need to improve the environment/culture to develop personnel and foster loyalty.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to do a better job of communicating with plant personnel. Local plant management routinely spin communication with upper management to fit their agendas! Improve culture/environment to develop personnel. Value personnel that are loyal to company!

    Arkema Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed the quality of your colleagues, all professionals in their respective fields.
    About salary, it depends on the country you are based in. For example... More


  9. "A Crucial Time for a Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The willingness to teach young professionals about how the business operates and how to grow as both a person and professional. The team members at Arkema are great and bring a small company feel to a multinational corporation. Many perks to a good work life balance i.e. on site picnics with live music and informative personal health meetings.

    Cons

    Decision making ultimately was France-centric which was hindering progress of abroad operations. Some aspects of technology availability/usage within the company were outdated.

    Advice to Management

    I think the next few years will be critical to the long term prospects of Arkema. The management for current success is in place, but a need to focus more on talent development for the next stages of company growth will be crucial for the future.

    Arkema Response

    Jun 20, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your comment. Indeed, decision-making comes from France, most of the time, as the Executive Comitee is based near Paris. Nevertheless, all the decisions are taken with the insights of... More


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in King of Prussia, PA
    Former Employee - Business Manager in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arkema full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good pay, very smart people in the chemical industry, good benefits, nice international feel to the organization.

    Cons

    Standard big company politics, performance is rewarded to a degree, but politics can also trump performance. The yearly review system is antiquated, used more as a stick than a carrot.

    Advice to Management

    I left Arkema because I was not rewarded for my performance, however, I was well paid for my job description. What that means is that if you are interested in drawing a nice, but predictable salary, this is a great company. If however you feel that your results will be significantly above average, you will not get paid for your results.

    Arkema Response

    Apr 25, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for providing a constructive feedback. At Arkema, we do our best to reward individual performance and our employees' commitment. If you think (at your level) that it was not the case, we do... More


Showing 41 of 51 reviews
Reset Filters