Arlington Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Arlington Public Schools Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Patrick K. Murphy
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "I taught in two different schools in APS over 6 years, and when I needed something for my classroom it happened(in 5 reviews)

  • "Small school system, good pay, fair planning time, great support for teachers(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "APS is an incompetent school district that is too concerned with its image to reform its teaching practices(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job, and great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - After School Teacher in Arlington, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arlington Public Schools part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, great workplace, and appreciative parents.

    Cons

    It is always draining working with kids, sometimes understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more, we are very overworked

    Arlington Public Schools2019-03-03
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Arlington Public Schools full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Salary compared to other states

      Cons

      Work load depends on school

      Arlington Public Schools2019-05-03
    • "Technology savvy schools"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Arlington, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Arlington Public Schools full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      High schools provide laptops for each student to use at home and inside school during the school year. Admin cares about the students, families, and teachers. Salaries are competitive for the region. School buildings are in fantastic condition.

      Cons

      Cost of living is high and teachers are not paid enough for housing within the area. HR department is difficult to speak with and delays with resolving issues. Commuter traffic is a nightmare for all suburbs of Washington, DC.; very common to encounter highly aggressive, obnoxious and impatient drivers.

      Advice to Management

      Raise salaries for all personnel (teachers, assistants, custodians) so they can afford to live within the area and prevent highly skilled staff from leaving the educational field.

      Arlington Public Schools2019-04-24
    • "Meh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Arlington Public Schools

      Pros

      easy work (depending on the assignments), choose your own schedule

      Cons

      low pay, not enough assignments, lacking management

      Arlington Public Schools2019-01-08
    • "Substitute Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Arlington Public Schools part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Flexible schedule--you can work consistently or as needed. I work as a freelance writer and subbing helps me to ensure that I have a job whenever I'm currently between writing gigs. -The Sub coordinator is really nice/helpful -Teachers can request you which I personally like -$15/h which can add up if you're teaching for all classes as often as possible

      Cons

      -The signup system is outdated. The times are not always correctly inputted so there are days when I'll arrive 2-3 hours earlier than I'm needed, which makes the front desk mad. They also give people who use the call system priority over those who sign up online which seems a little backward and again, outdated. -If a teacher requests you you're not informed. You have to check STAN every day so you don't have a surprise...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      -Talk to your front office people and remind them that subs are APS employees too -Update STAN. It's awful. -If a student has an IEP, tell your sub so they can help them accordingly.

      Arlington Public Schools2018-12-02
    • "Schools are great! County Support Structure has much to be desired."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructional Technology Coorfdinator in Arlington, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Arlington Public Schools full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      The work each individual school does to support and educate the students of Arlington, VA is fantastic. Teachers truly have the goal of success for all the students they work to support. Even the majority of the school-based administrators have the best interest of students and their families in mind.

      Cons

      The support structure of APS limits the ability staff, teachers and administrators have to fully support their students needs. Specifically in Information Services Department where two people leading within that department are not willing to take accountability for their mistakes. This year (18-19) their mistakes resulted in over 7000 student devices, they are responsible for, to stop working. Minimal support and communication...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Clean up the "leadership" in Information Services. They do not have the best interest of all students in their goals. APS and the families it serves deserves IS leadership who can accept responsibility and advocate for more positions to support the ever increasing amount of technology and devices in the hands of the students and teachers.

      Arlington Public Schools2018-09-24
    • "Amazing place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Instructional Assistant in Arlington, VA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Arlington Public Schools full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits retirement life insurance pto

      Cons

      You only get paid for a certain amount of snow days.

      Arlington Public Schools2018-08-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Clueless Self-interest"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ASU in Arlington, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Arlington Public Schools full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      They pay their staff well

      Cons

      They do not treat staff well

      Advice to Management

      Stop pandering to deep pockets

      Arlington Public Schools2018-08-13
    • "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Arlington Public Schools full-time

        Pros

        Great teachers, administration, and use of technology

        Cons

        Focuses too much on test scores

        Arlington Public Schools2018-05-20
      • "Teacher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - High School Teacher in Arlington, VA
        Recommends

        I have been working at Arlington Public Schools full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Great work culture, smart and supportive colleagues, excellent pay and benefits.

        Cons

        none that I can think of.

        Arlington Public Schools2018-02-28
      Found 81 reviews