KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Armstrong Atlantic State University

Is this your company?

Armstrong Atlantic State University

Add a Review

Armstrong Atlantic State University Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 56 reviews

3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Armstrong Atlantic State University President Linda M. Bleicken
Linda M. Bleicken
5 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Intramural Supervisor

    Jul 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible with schedules and great staff to work with.

    Cons

    None to speak of, great position

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Web Application Programmer

    Feb 23, 2015 - Enterprise Applications Programmer in Savannah, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very flexible, after 6 months they will cover up to 9 credit hours of tuition to further education, stable, friendly work environment. I typically worked 10-5 with an hour or so lunch break and never turned any heads. My technical advice was taken into account and many of my decisions were adopted. I had hands on experience directing policy and making decisions as a non-management employee. Overall: A good place to land some experience and decent pay with benefits. After 2-3 years, go someplace else.

    Cons

    Low compensation and high expectations. The university expects a lot of experience and does not compensate fairly. Many people such as myself take the job for stability, but eventually come across offers often doubling pay with less responsibilities. The university is a public institution, so expect a lot and I mean A LOT of office politics both within the department and outside. Everything is a bureaucratic mess and slow as with most public institutions.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So much better than SCAD

    Dec 9, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Savannah, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Warm faculty, staff, and students * Garden-like campus (it is an actual arboretum) * Great events and perks for faculty and staff * This is where I want my children to come to college * Wonderful benefits, including great retirement and good health

    Cons

    * IT services is understaffed and slow to help * Nobody works 40-hour weeks if they are classified * Only a handful of raises in the last five years.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great job for students

    Nov 18, 2016 - Help Desk Technician in Savannah, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They'll work around your schedule for the large part if you're a student. If you're a full time you have slightly less flexibility but they're still incredibly understanding. Laid back for the large part and fairly stress free.

    Cons

    Help desk is a bit disorganized, though I believe they are currently in the process of revamping it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Spanish Instructor

    Feb 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    To work there, was a feeling of total freedom. My colleagues were kind and professional. My students were the best, always ready to give me the right answer. I will teach there anytime.

    Cons

    My department knew that I was going to finish my doctoral degree in Spain, and they didn't conserve my full-time position. Now I am jobless.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to start...however start networking early!

    Jun 9, 2010 - Graduate Assistant in Savannah, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -great community feel and the faculty are a gem. The lower-level staff also make work really fun and exciting.

    Cons

    -not really student focused and could use some work on making students a priority. -information tech systems are horrible and really need to be updated

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    IT Internship

    Sep 15, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a lot to learn. If furthering your career by gaining valuable skills is important to you this is an excellent opportunity to log some experience. The professors were always more than willing to provide support whenever needed.

    Cons

    This is a step to gain experience and does not pay well. At least it pays something, but it is only supplemental income.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent

    Jun 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits package is great, the time off is great, and accrual of persona/sick leave is unmatched. This applies to all University System of Georgia schools. My direct colleagues are very supportive, friendly, and interesting. The campus is peaceful and safe as well.

    Cons

    Supervisors and other mid-upper level management love to take credit when things go well and dodge and blame when things go poorly, which is crazy when you look at how much one is micromanaged. The entry level employees work hard, while others take the credit. There is also no room to move up either.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Disappointed

    Aug 18, 2011 - Administrative Specialist in Savannah, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work schedule, state paid holidays, employee tuition assistance program, promotion of higher learning, and ability to take courses and earn degrees

    Cons

    Lack of support from upper management, severe favoritism towards employees, lack of accountability, horrible and outdated processes, lack of empathy and care for students, obsession with quantity-not quality, inappropriate behavior, confidentiality breaches, unethical behavior on all levels, and severe lack of employee and student retention. Employee morale is at an all time low, and lower level salaried/hourly employees have not had a raise in 5 years, but faculty members in the high pay brackets continue to obtain raises.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great for students

    Oct 26, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work is relatively stress free, hours are incredibly flexible and they will work with you if you need time off, coworkers and staff are enjoyable to be around. Perfect job for a student on campus.

    Cons

    Minor issue, the ticketing system is a bit confusing in regards to how a ticket can be filed and for what team.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

Armstrong Atlantic State University Reviews FAQs

Armstrong Atlantic State University has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 56 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at Armstrong Atlantic State University to a friend and 39% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Armstrong Atlantic State University employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Armstrong Atlantic State University. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

49% of Armstrong Atlantic State University employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Armstrong Atlantic State University 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Armstrong Atlantic State University to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Work at Armstrong Atlantic State University? Share Your Experiences

or