Armstrong World Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Armstrong World Industries Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Armstrong World Industries CEO Victor Grizzle
Victor Grizzle
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, pretty good pay(in 8 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits are at or above average for company size(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management needs to remember that employees are the people that make you money(in 9 reviews)

  • "Management has no clue how to motivate or compensate(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Had a great career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Helens, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    I was given lots of opportunity to learn new skills, manage new projects, and make contributions to the facilities success. I was able to get promoted more than once to positions with more responsibility as I gained more skills. My working schedule was also fairly flexible, which was a perk in my book most of the time.

    Cons

    Working schedule was hard to keep up with at times. Production worked 24 hours and weekends, and sometimes had to be on call at all hours to help solve problems.

    Armstrong World Industries2019-02-12
  2. "This is my opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fantastic individual people to work with Very knowledgeable people

    Cons

    Micro-management process No clear direction Not willing to change but rather continue as they always have

    Armstrong World Industries2019-05-15
  3. "Armstrong World Industries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Lead in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment. Mostly older folks. You can be there for a very long time. Not fast paced. Good place for family. Very great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Title growth appear to be stunted. You can be doing the same things for years.

    Advice to Management

    Anyone there for more than 2 years should be considered for some title / challenge / growth

    Armstrong World Industries2019-03-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good but toxic people atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Hilliard, OH

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    Toxic environment upper management in production related , maintenance dept disfuctional

    Armstrong World Industries2019-01-22
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time

    Pros

    Bonuses every year good money. Plenty of overtime.

    Cons

    Management runs the plant not the workers.

    Armstrong World Industries2018-09-08
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Eye on growing the business through acquisitions. Leadership is important to the CEO, CFO, CIO and SVP HR

    Cons

    Many leaders don't focus on their people

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people more, it will encourage innovation.

    Armstrong World Industries2018-08-20
  7. "Production Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries

    Pros

    Good Salary, Good Barbecues, nice Christmas party

    Cons

    uneven disciplinary issues to difference races

    Advice to Management

    Stand behind Front line Supervisors

    Armstrong World Industries2018-08-04
  8. "Headed in the Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Benefits: health, dental, 401k, etc. -Colleagues: genuine people to work with who truly want to see you succeed, and create a fun working environment -Growth Opportunities: management is willing to help you grow and succeed- even if it's in other areas of the organization

    Cons

    -Outdated offices on some areas of campus. Could use some new paint to make the working environment more exciting -Sometimes has an "old school" feel, but they're working to be more forward and progressive thinking

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your workforce. They're your greatest asset

    Armstrong World Industries2018-07-02
  9. "Very Clicky, Every Man for Himself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Manager in Lancaster, PA

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Big Company with Good Benefits

    Cons

    Very Clicky, Everyone is in survival mode.

    Armstrong World Industries2018-06-30
  10. "Sr. Manager, Manufacturing Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good company and fair wages

    Cons

    Company separation killed both companies

    Armstrong World Industries2018-06-14
Found 170 reviews