Armstrong World Industries Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Armstrong World Industries CEO Victor Grizzle
Victor Grizzle
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, pretty good pay(in 9 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits are at or above average for company size(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management needs to remember that employees are the people that make you money(in 9 reviews)

  • "Management has no clue how to motivate or compensate(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good compensation package. Lots of changes in 2018-19 - many opportunities to grow. Awesome team of professionals.

    Cons

    Capital team travels a lot. Sometimes installation dates are around Thanksgiving and Christmas.

    Armstrong World Industries2019-11-26
  2. "Lots of opportunity but also lots of stress"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Value Stream Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good compensation; lots of opportunity for advancement; company well-positioned for long term stability; company seems to generally care for its employees

    Cons

    24/7 activity by production lines means you are always on call. There always seems to be a lack of capital available to maintain equipment and infrastructure even though the company is very profitable. Micromanagement is fairly rampant.

    Continue reading
    Armstrong World Industries2020-05-11
  3. "No training"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some colleagues were nice enough

    Cons

    There is no training, no support, and no rewards for doing a good job

    Armstrong World Industries2020-02-27
  4. "Good place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, work/life balance, benefits, growing business

    Cons

    Not diverse, favoritism by some managers, politically conservative/narrow minded

    Armstrong World Industries2019-11-12
  5. "Overall great company with great pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, culture, management, peers

    Cons

    Not a lot of millennials, older workforce, in a small town with not much to do, limited career growth due to small size of departments

    Continue reading
    Armstrong World Industries2019-10-25
  6. "Very rewarding job that requires self discpline"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Line Sales Manager in Waukee, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time

    Pros

    You make your territory what you want, freedom to create your own schedule and also allows for personal growth.

    Cons

    Training lacks at times, so you need to be a self starter

    Armstrong World Industries2019-08-12
  7. "Janitor"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Janitor 

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are good and the campus is nice.

    Cons

    The culture is largely dominated by men. Company policies are outdated and not up with the times.

    Armstrong World Industries2019-08-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good people but why so much stress"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries

    Pros

    Pay and benefits is decent Co workers are awesome Ability to push the envelope

    Cons

    Overly stressful environment. Feels like you never know when you will be let go for someone’s idea of poor performance Feels like the company favors very young employees vs the older experienced workers - so if your 35/40 ......

    Armstrong World Industries2019-07-17
  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    there are none I can think of

    Armstrong World Industries2019-06-28
  10. "A Great Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Specialist CAD Technician in Johnstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement, excellent benefits, and friendly environment

    Cons

    I was a manager at a former job, and I desire to be a manager at Armstrong. However, I don’t see that happening in the near future.

    Armstrong World Industries2019-06-25
Found 182 reviews