Armstrong World Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Armstrong World Industries Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 175 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Armstrong World Industries CEO Victor Grizzle
Victor Grizzle
38 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    there are none I can think of

    Armstrong World Industries2019-06-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Had a great career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Helens, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was given lots of opportunity to learn new skills, manage new projects, and make contributions to the facilities success. I was able to get promoted more than once to positions with more responsibility as I gained more skills. My working schedule was also fairly flexible, which was a perk in my book most of the time.

    Cons

    Working schedule was hard to keep up with at times. Production worked 24 hours and weekends, and sometimes had to be on call at all hours to help solve problems.

    Armstrong World Industries2019-02-12
  3. "Excellent, Loyal Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Training and Development, Strong Brand recognition

    Cons

    Huge Company, Excess Administration required.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-12-02
  4. "Procurement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Market leader & innovator, right tools to do my job, appropriately staffed, great work - life balance.

    Cons

    Still working the traditional 5 days / week

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, be more creative with flex time and role sharing

    Armstrong World Industries2017-10-10
  5. "Senior Consultant/Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant/Project Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries for less than a year

    Pros

    Receptive to new ideas and focused on eliminating status quo within the department leadership and business processes to ensure continued growth and competitive advantage.

    Cons

    Use of accronyms to describe meetings which impacts understanding during conversations with other departments and leadership team members not familiar with the term.

    Advice to Management

    Continue focus on Change Management as a way to instill drive toward quality production and asset integrity throughout the organization and critical suppliers.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-04-17
  6. "Feeding Machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Feeding Machine in Vicksburg, MS

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Its close to my home and the evening shift is awesome for me because I have my daughter seven days own and 7 days off and i am painter in the day time

    Cons

    I have a Painting Business that is growing

    Armstrong World Industries2016-12-25
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun crew friendly environment it's like working with a family , lots to learning with room for advancing into the next step in your desired field

    Cons

    Clocking in and out as far as time clocks , sometimes the job is the same over and over unless you are looking to advance

    Armstrong World Industries2016-12-01
  8. "grader, nester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grader, Nester in Beverly, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    pays good, good benefits, and can better your self if you want

    Cons

    hard to get on, really don't have any cons about the place.

    Advice to Management

    hard working

    Armstrong World Industries2016-11-23
  9. "project sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Regional Sales Executive in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture and management support

    Cons

    relocations without proper match of location and employee competencies

    Armstrong World Industries2016-11-03
  10. "Great company, treats employees right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management treats their employee right Family atmosphere Management and teams work together to accomplish goals Employees are fairly compensated Very liberal sick and vacation policy

    Cons

    Sometimes with a company this big there are to many layers and some teams are silo. With the recent split this looks to have been addressed

    Advice to Management

    Basically continue to do what you are doing, the success of Armstrong is there employees commitment to integrity, hard work, and following the founding owner's motto Let the buyer have faith

    Armstrong World Industries2016-08-14
Found 175 reviews