Armstrong World Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Armstrong World Industries Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Armstrong World Industries CEO Victor Grizzle
Victor Grizzle
34 Ratings
  1. "Procurement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Market leader & innovator, right tools to do my job, appropriately staffed, great work - life balance.

    Cons

    Still working the traditional 5 days / week

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, be more creative with flex time and role sharing

    Armstrong World Industries2017-10-10
  2. "Good entry level pay. Hostile work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Associate in Hilliard, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Starting pay after 180 days $20/hr. 401k.

    Cons

    Swing shift. Fiberglass. No climate control. Favoritism, racism, sexism. Hostile and vengeful management. Safety violations kept under wraps. Whistle blowers made example of.

    Advice to Management

    Rampant prejudice amongst L5/L6 and support staff. Associates working in fear of making mistakes to ruin safety record.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-10-03
  3. "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Marietta, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay decent time off

    Cons

    Salary and hourly feuds

    Armstrong World Industries2017-09-18
  4. "Working a tArmstrong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lancaster, PA
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good people to work with, good location for family.

    Cons

    Conservative work place, risk averse and slow pace

    Armstrong World Industries2017-09-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great supportive atmosphere. Good training program, with opportunity to move up in the organization. Well respected product line that was easy to sell.

    Cons

    There were really no big cons to working for Armstrong, other than the fact that it is a large corporation and if you need a smaller atmosphere it might seem too big.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to innovate with new products and into new markets to give your sales teams the opportunity to grow the company.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-07-19
  6. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grader in Beverly, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Good Benefits, Good Insurance

    Cons

    Lots of Overtime, Have to be able to put up with a lot of different attitudes and opinions

    Advice to Management

    None

    Armstrong World Industries2017-07-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Ups and downs like any employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I LOVED my job and most of my co-workers. The hours were great.

    Cons

    Management is top heavy and there is a toxic atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting unqualified people to manage teams. Encourage genuine feedback and then actually listen to it. Also pay better. It's well known Armstrong is below average regarding salaries.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-05-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people. Fantastic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Armstrong World Industries

    Pros

    People in Marietta seem to care about all employees. Employees heavily involved and consulted about the process and work. Fast paced environment but it doesn't get boring.

    Cons

    Movement is high, I routinely clock 5-7 miles a day. Other than that it's a great environment in the Marietta plant. Keep up the good work.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-05-07
  9. "Senior Consultant/Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant/Project Manager in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Armstrong World Industries for less than a year

    Pros

    Receptive to new ideas and focused on eliminating status quo within the department leadership and business processes to ensure continued growth and competitive advantage.

    Cons

    Use of accronyms to describe meetings which impacts understanding during conversations with other departments and leadership team members not familiar with the term.

    Advice to Management

    Continue focus on Change Management as a way to instill drive toward quality production and asset integrity throughout the organization and critical suppliers.

    Armstrong World Industries2017-04-17
  10. "TSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - TSM in Atlanta, GA

      I have been working at Armstrong World Industries full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good place to work, enjoy co workers

      Cons

      heavy work load, too much admin work

      Armstrong World Industries2017-04-14
    Found 170 reviews