Arrow Electronics Reviews in Melville, NY | Glassdoor

Arrow Electronics Melville Reviews

Updated April 5, 2017
22 reviews

Filter

Filter

Melville, NY

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Arrow Electronics President, CEO, and Director Mike Long
Mike Long
11 Ratings

22 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance gets tricky around quarter-ends; however, keep lines of communication open with your manager they will work with you (in 30 reviews)

  • Also matters on who you know or are friends with in upper management (read formerly Melville now Englewood) to get promotions (in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Credit Representative/Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Specialist in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - Credit Specialist in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arrow Electronics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company offered great benefits

    Cons

    Employee Family was not a priority to management


  2. Helpful (4)

    "Dont Accept any Jobs in their NY location...They are moving all to Denver shortly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Arrow Electronics full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Was a good place to work

    Cons

    Everything is moving to Denver thanks to our CEO who ruined jobs and people lives for his own benefit.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arrow Electronics full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers go out of their way to assist others. Large company allows for global career opportunities.

    Cons

    Low investment in staff level employees. Below par 401K plan while senior executives receive very generous pension plan.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of spending millions on race cars, put this money into employee programs (tuition reimbursement, training, raises!)

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 26, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback! It's unfortunate to hear that your experiences here were not ideal. We are looking into ways to create continuous development opportunities for... More


  4. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY

    I worked at Arrow Electronics full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Arrow has one of the most helpful and cooperative coworkers. The coworkers keep the management pressure away and make you stay focussed

    Cons

    The head quarters of Arrow has moved to Denver. Since then NY employees are treated as step children. Any new employees intending to join Arrow should choose Denver as location

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and keep them satisfied. Whether they are Denver based or NY treat them equally.

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thank you for your dedication to our company and taking the time to showcase Arrow as an employer! We certainly wouldn't want any of our employees to feel like a stephchild, however, and encourage... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Progressive HR and Talent Development strategies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Ops in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - Sales Ops in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Cutting edge development tools, importing experts from best-in-class companies

    Cons

    Company moved HQ; not as employee-friendly as in previous years

    Advice to Management

    None

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thank you for your dedication to our company and taking the time to showcase Arrow as an employer! We wish you the best with your future endeavors.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Melville, NY

    Pros

    Great people at Arrow to work with.

    Cons

    Management always looking for cost-costing.

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thanks for highlighting Arrow as an employer - the people here are one of the best reasons to work here!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Accounting Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Melville, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arrow Electronics (More than a year)

    Pros

    A company that thinks ahead to the future while still acting practically in the present. Management acts with integrity no matter what.

    Cons

    Long hours (but still a rewarding experience)

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to showcase Arrow as an employer! We know those long hours in accounting can be tough sometimes, but we appreciate your diligence in keeping us running and for your... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sr financial analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - Director in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Arrow Electronics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good stepping stone to leave public accounting

    Cons

    Long hours, below market pay, no bonuses

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thank you for your dedication to our company while you were here and for taking the time to showcase Arrow as an employer! We wish you the best with your future endeavors.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Finance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melville, NY

    I have been working at Arrow Electronics full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. World of opportunities to advance one's career

    Cons

    Corporate Headquarters relocated to Denver

    Advice to Management

    Encourage work life balance

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Aug 29, 2016 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thanks for sharing your feedback - it seems like you do enjoy the company but the shift of our corporate office to Denver has been challenging for you - sorry to hear that!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not a place to consider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst in Melville, NY
    Former Employee - QA Analyst in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arrow Electronics full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very relaxed work environment,
    Flexible hours,
    Some benefits and retirement packages. Personal space.

    Cons

    Too many well paid managers on the hierarchy between me and the CEO.
    Always changing upper management every two years.
    Regular layoffs of good talent.
    No bonus no raise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the leadership consistent. Retain and value your talented individuals
    Reward effort, else another company will have your employee and your company knowledge.

    Arrow Electronics Response

    Jul 8, 2015 – Manager, Recruitment Systems & Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear that you're no longer with the company. As we relocate many positions from Melville to Denver, there is certainly a lot of personnel... More


Showing 22 of 805 reviews
Reset Filters