Art Van Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

Art Van Furniture Reviews

Updated May 29, 2017
192 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

192 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great place to work and great people (in 14 reviews)

  • Good benefits and some good people you never have the same day twice (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours but it pays off we are 100% commission so the harder you work the more you make but they do understand and value your family time (in 16 reviews)

  • Took away profit sharing, no longer family owned, work weekends and holidays (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "New to the furniture market"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Southgate, MI
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Southgate, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth within the company. You make as much money as you work for with both salary and commission.

    Cons

    Weekends and holidays are a requirement as with all retail. If you are a person who needs a lot of direction you will not get it as you are often on your own working.

    Advice to Management

    Spend extra time with sales people who are still growing so if they don't have as much experience they won't sink in a fast paced environment.

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Jul 8, 2016

    Welcome! Thanks for your feedback. Even though our management team can get really busy, they also know that coaching should be their number one priority.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Warehouse"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in Warren, MI
    Former Employee - Support in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Its money in your pocket

    Cons

    Will only pay what they have and will work you like a dog. You get 20 cents every year and thats it and they fire you if you want to make more money. Managers are horrible and will write you up if your sick or a family is dying and you need to miss a day.

    Advice to Management

    Get better managment

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Jul 8, 2016

    We wish your experience was much better and will send your feedback to the appropriate Executive.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service Interview and position"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Pick-Up Associate in Warren, MI
    Current Employee - Customer Pick-Up Associate in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    When I first met the two women I interviewed with I thought they were nice at first. They told me they are flexible with time if you have an appointment. Made it seem like I had the position but never talked about a start date. Seemed like a great company at first.

    Cons

    When I went back in a second time to fill more paperwork out in May they then gave me a start date but was not willing to compromise with the start date as I had already put my start date on my second application in May because I had prior dr. appointments and a wedding I was standing up in as I was trying to get out of the way so it would not interrupt training. The first application I filled out was back April and that start date was before my interview. My interview was scheduled after after my start date. My second application they had me fill out was in May and so I put my start date at the end of May as I am standing up in a wedding Memorial Weekend. But I got declined the job now because they were not willing to compromise and basically told me I lied about my start date as it didn't matter what I filled out in May. The women I met with were rude and very unprofessional. Besides the pay was only 10.00 an hour. So at first they said they would work with me and then they lied as well as I had to wait a while because one of the women were on vacation so that's why everything was originally dragged out. I would definitely tell people don't work here.

    Advice to Management

    Your company needs to compromise a little more about start dates or be more specific when it comes to start dates, because the women I dealt with were rude, did not let me discuss anything about start dates or explain myself. They ganged up on me and pretty much stated it was their way or the highway. They were not professional at all.

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Jun 27, 2016

    We apologize that you didn't have a good experience with our interview process. We will look into it.


  4. "Customer Service Representative Part-time"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Clinton Township, MI
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Clinton Township, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Easy work, flexible schedule, decent pay

    Cons

    dull moments, late closings, upper management no helpful

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Apr 25, 2016

    Being part time at Art Van can be a great match! Especially if your going to school, need supplemental income or need more flexibility during the week. We are always trying to encourage our ... More


  5. "Eh"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Pick Up in Downers Grove, IL
    Current Employee - Customer Pick Up in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are cool, nice environment

    Cons

    Pay sucks for the workload , no chance of getting raises

    Art Van Furniture Response

    May 2, 2016

    Our new Downers Grove store is a beautiful environment to work in everyday! As far as raises, every year the company goes through the process of performance reviews for all individuals. We also look ... More


  6. "Proud to be part of this Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Novi, MI
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, outstanding training. As a sales person I can make the kind of money I deserve....if I work for it.

    Cons

    Not for someone unwilling to make an effort. This is a job for go getters, not clock watchers. Your success is in your hands.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to associates! We know what makes this company great.

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Mar 15, 2016

    As Mr. Van says "Buildings are brick and mortar..the heartbeat of this company are the people". We are committed to listening to our associates throughout the company. It's the only way we can ... More


  7. "Love me some Art Van"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Kalamazoo, MI
    Current Employee - Sales in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great pay and people. I have been with them for 7 years and don't plan on leaving anytime soon. Any negative review on here is more than likely from someone who just can't sell.

    Cons

    Hours are rough but we go in knowing that. The management staff seems to be pretty understanding and lenient with time off, especially since they don't get the time off that the sales associates do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Mar 8, 2016

    And we love you! Yes, our store leaders do a good job accommodating time off especially when they know in advance.

  8. "Store Leader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Clinton, MI
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Clinton, MI

    I have been working at Art Van Furniture full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Tremendous opportunity to be successful. Also willing to grow, teach and learn. Not a better retail commission sales job any where.

    Cons

    We continue to work hard everyday to become the very best.

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Mar 11, 2016 – Vice President - HR

    Appreciate the comments! Glad this has been a great career choice for you!


  9. "Amazing company."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coach in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Sales Coach in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    1) Unlimited earning potential for sales associate.
    2) Amazing training program that sets you up for success.
    3) Art Van gives back to the community like no other company I know.
    4) Great benefits
    5) Fun creative culture.
    6) Continued growth and education.
    7) amazing dedicated employees.

    Cons

    Retail hours but that's expected for our industry.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Mar 11, 2016 – Vice President - HR

    You really laid it out! These are just some of what sets us apart from other retailers.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Where Winners Come to Win!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Warren, MI
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Warren, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Achieving great things at Art Van while still feeling like a family business! The culture is unique and filled with camaraderie. Company believes their people are the competitive advantage and it shows in how many programs they put in place to invest in their development.

    Cons

    This is not the right fit for someone who just wants a paycheck!

    Art Van Furniture Response

    Mar 11, 2016 – Vice President - HR

    Thanks!


Showing 192 of 194 reviews
Reset Filters