Art.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Art.com Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Art.com CEO Kira Wampler
Kira Wampler
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Solid benefits package and fun work environment that includes art giveaways, social events, bagel Fridays, learning events, etc(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great location overlooking the bay(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved Every Moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Art.com full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great People who worked hard and smart.

    Cons

    The people who weren't as great and didn't work hard or smart.

    Advice to Management

    Shouldn't have hired Kira

    Art.com2019-02-04
  2. "Paid bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Worker in Lockbourne, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Art.com full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Pay and people i worked with

    Cons

    HR does not truly have a heart for the employees

    Art.com2019-03-02
  3. "Not good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA

    I worked at Art.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice folks, dont have anything to share

    Cons

    Very Nice Folks, bad memories

    Art.com2019-03-10
  4. "Once Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH

      I have been working at Art.com full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Steady Work most of the year

      Cons

      December is a rough time

      Art.com2018-12-01
    • Helpful (12)

      "Confused whether to stay or go"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Art.com full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Great people to work with. They care about what they do and the customers - Getting things done and seeing the impacts directly - Progressive culture with modern tools and a great workspace. The technology platform is consistently getting better.

      Cons

      - Product management still struggles to make a difference. Almost all their ideas didn't improve business or made things worse. - The company fundamentals still haven't changed from 20 years ago, but just more images, more frame types, more canvas types, more countries, more discounts. It's a race to the bottom as the giants like Amazon and Wayfair are eating more of the marketshare everyday.

      Advice to Management

      I want to stay here and work with my team members, but you are not giving me the reasons to. I only hear the CEO talk during all hands. Either she's very optimistic, cherry-picking her numbers. Or she's very down in the weeds and numbers when explaining failures. I don't care for either anymore. Show me that you understand the problems first before you mention any numbers or solutions again, in a way that I understand.

      Art.com2018-09-21
    • Helpful (8)

      "Too much pivoting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Art.com full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I really liked the people I worked with, they were genuine, smart and fun to work with.

      Cons

      I have worked at companies where we were agile and did a lot of pivoting based on new data, but there is way too much pivoting at Art.com, it makes the operation inefficient and doesn't allow for people to focus on innovation or on implementing interesting ideas that would be better for the company long term.

      Art.com2018-10-16
    • Helpful (10)

      "Get out before you're kicked out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Art.com full-time

      Pros

      Good location if you live in the East Bay, decent benefits, flexible work from home/time off policy

      Cons

      Chaotic upper level management, general chaos

      Advice to Management

      Be clear about your goals

      Art.com2018-08-22
    • Helpful (6)

      "Not what it once was"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Art.com full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      art.com is a wonderful concept - buying beautiful art online

      Cons

      Unfortunately art.com couldn’t keep up with the ever changing consumer needs and as a result, has lost a lot of business

      Art.com2018-08-22
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great job, Great opportunity."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Art.com full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I'm a mother to a 15 month old and with working with Art.com, I'm able to work from the comfort of my own home. Ive made friends with some of the kindest people. Art.com is known for our positive impact on customers when calling in and speaking to us. I get to speak to individual all over the world and i find that very neat. Over all i can see myself in the future

      Cons

      borders on prints, leads to needing refunds on items or very upset customers. also the text size on the website is hard to see some of the writing. so for example the item numbers and the text that shows with the actual print sizes are is small so easily over looked if you expect it to be the size you selected. other then those two things Art.com is a great job and i have friends who would love to join our team!

      Advice to Management

      I have had customers complain about the size of the Item numbers and with them being small its harder for the senior's to find them, also the border on the prints match the back ground of the website so customers call in when they receive items that aren't the size they expected or the print is very small with a huge white border around the print

      Art.com2018-06-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great time to join Art.com"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Art.com full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Company has made huge strides in the last year to reinvent itself. Leadership has worked hard to reinforce a culture that values innovation, technology, and empowering employees. Great opportunity for engineers who want to learn and grow as the company is re-platforming and modernizing its tech. Solid benefits package and fun work environment that includes art giveaways, social events, bagel Fridays, learning...

      Show More

      Cons

      Change is ever-constant and it can feel like priorities are always shifting. This can be confusing and frustrating at times because you lose momentum every time you pivot. However, management typically does a good job explaining the data behind decisions and the business case.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to be as transparent as possible with employees down the line. Communication is key. Also, continue to invest in people and technology. Teams tend to run "lean", but there is a difference between running lean and being understaffed to a point where it impacts ability to execute on goals.

      Art.com2018-06-04
    Found 168 reviews