Artsy Abode "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Artsy Abode Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 21, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Artsy Abode Founder/CEO Leah Lytle (no image)
Leah Lytle
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "As all reviews have stated the stores have great products and wonderful co-workers(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Artsy Abode part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Artsy Abode while I was in college. The SM was very flexible with my schedule and time off requests. I always looked forward to going into work and interacting with the customers and the other associates. Upper management always made themselves accessible to their employees, even sales associates. CEO coached me on sales, product knowledge, and visual displays, which was much appreciative since my degree is in Fashion Merchandising. Overall, rewarding experience and great foundation for my future career.

    Cons

    Most of my paychecks went right back to the store! So many cute products. Always made my sorority sisters jealous :)

    Continue reading
    Artsy Abode2016-06-12

    Artsy Abode Response

    June 16, 2016CEO

    Thank you for this review! I love that you mentioned coaching - that is really the key to being a good manager and we continually work to provide our managers and leaders professional development so they can provide great training and feedback to their team - and it looks from your review that this is happening - so great to hear!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Keyholder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Artsy Abode for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I actually loved working at Artsy when I first started. The store manager and several of my coworkers became some of my best friends. We had a great time at work, and we did an excellent job soaring past our goals. We received discounts on products, and occasionally incentives on certain items. At one point, we got commission on some products which was awesome. That did not last long at all.

    Cons

    I worked there for 3 years and never once met the owners because they rarely came to our store (and I guess because I worked part time). When they did come on a rare occasion, all they did was make a mess and take a lot of our product to the Jacksonville store. How are we supposed to make our goals when you take our popular products???? I did not have the opportunity to go to the new hire training because I started before they were "required"...which, looking back, I wouldn't have gone anyway...I'm not driving 2 hours away for a training for a part time job. Upper management is full of catty women with nasty attitudes. Managers are forced to work well over 40 hours a week, but are only compensated for 40.

    Continue reading
    Artsy Abode2017-11-21
  3. Helpful (13)

    "NOT A NICE PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Artsy Abode full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As all reviews have stated the stores have great products and wonderful co-workers ....

    Cons

    Where to begin? Once upon a time this was a great place to work ... Not anymore! As much as they tell you they care about you, you are all family - they will stab you in the back as soon as you turn around. Managers now being hired are young and inexperienced! If you aren't one of the manager's favorites, your hours are cut. Raises are impossible to get. If your manager is having a bad day, you will be singled out and a "disciplinary report" will be written up on you, and if she doesn't like you, you'll be replaced by one of her "friends". Goals are expected to be made every day regardless if you have customers or not! You are given 15 minutes to close down the store (count registers, do paperwork, put product away, do bank deposit, clean store) and if it takes you 16 minutes, you'll hear about it in the morning! All positive reviews on here are written by someone in upper management to make the company look good ...

    Continue reading
    Artsy Abode2016-08-10

    Artsy Abode Response

    August 12, 2016CEO

    Very sorry to hear about your experience - we have a diverse group of managers of all age groups and provide anonymous means for employees to voice concerns as well as an experienced Human Resources manager available for everyone to discuss issues and this was available to you and would have been a very constructive way to help your situation. We appreciate the reviews that our employees have posted on what is good about our culture and company - we do our best to make this company great with pay, benefits, incentives and discounts.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Owner covering up reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Artsy Abode part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are awesome. Would not have traded them for anything. They would constantly try to make the best of terrible situations.

    Cons

    Cons: the owner and upper management. The owner must be covering up the negative reviews by putting positive reviews in. Probably putting them in herself. Owner would constantly come into the shop and would belittle the workers even in front of customers. I even had a customer say she would shop at Lucy's instead of artsy from now on because of how the owner was treating the workers while she was trying to shop for a gift for her daughter-in-law.

    Continue reading
    Artsy Abode2016-08-04
  5. Helpful (10)

    "This Company is covering up what is really is going on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Artsy Abode part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work until the owner of the company or her Director come in . The whole atmosphere changes. It really crazy that they do not see it. It's not the employees it's the the upper management.

    Cons

    To many to say between the owner coming in and just humiliating the managers and or just being plain rude. She thinks she is all that and brings her demeaning attitude.

    Continue reading
    Artsy Abode2016-07-11
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Artsy Abode full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good quality products, stays on top of trends, wonderful co-workers. Okay employee discount (customers can receive better discount), good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    Management. The store managers are constantly being changed and when changing managers upper management does not inform or adequately train managers. Upper management stresses out store managers and this stress is passes into the other employees. The environment is abusive, stressful, and the moral in the store when the manager is there pushing sales is almost non-existent. This went from a fun, enjoyable place to work to a place where I felt as though I had to constantly watch my back and wonder which side of my manager I would see. It was extremely disheartening to have to leave when I was so excited to work here after I had been hired.

    Continue reading
    Artsy Abode2016-07-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews