Cover image for Arup
Logo
See All Photos

Arup

Engaged Employer

Arup

Add a Review

Arup Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,463 of over 3K reviews
4.3
87% Recommend to a Friend
Arup Chairman Alan Belfield
93% Approve of CEO

Found 2,422 of over 3K reviews

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Arup Chairman Alan Belfield
Alan Belfield
500 Ratings

What people are saying about Arup

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary and sometimes slow to get up the ladder(in 213 reviews)
  • "Low pay relative to competitors and issues with career advancement (a natural bottleneck that is exacerbated by so may lifers)(in 118 reviews)
  • "extended working hours might be frustrating(in 69 reviews)
  • "Long hours and no more(in 52 reviews)
  • "Unless your a tall white man, you probably won't progress much, poor management(in 52 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Arup and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Dec 1, 2022 - Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The projects and the people

    Cons

    Pay and high stress industry

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great firm

    Dec 6, 2022 - Electrical Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good benefits

    Cons

    Salary is not ideal for new graduates

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Arup team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good companh

    Nov 18, 2022 - Structural Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting projects, good work life balance relative to industry

    Cons

    Hard to progress past a certain point without relocating

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company, great benefits

    Oct 20, 2022 - Senior Fire Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good 401k and health care benefits and health care contribution by the company is high. I enjoy the work and focus on sustainability and EDI.

    Cons

    None to share at this time

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Interesting Work and Great People

    Nov 10, 2022 - Infrastructure Advisory in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting and Innovative Projects - Smart colleagues - WFH flexibility - Career growth

    Cons

    - Leadership are technical experts, not people managers. This leads to lack of learning/training support for career growth (though career growth is supported) amongst other issues. - Need more diverse leadership.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Challenging and meaningful projects / Cutting edge technology / Tight Budget

    Nov 14, 2022 - Geotechnical Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Challenging and meaningful projects / Cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Tight Budget / constantly work overtime / salary is lower than other firms.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Administrative

    Nov 16, 2022 - Administrative in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great location in a beautiful office.

    Cons

    Lack of a minority presence.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall great, but need to work on maintaining positive experiences

    Jan 29, 2022 - Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great firm that stands by its values. Amazing ability to work with teams around the world remotely (not purely lip service, it actually happens) and also the long term/ short term exchange program provides unique global opportunities especially compared to competitors. Many of the people you meet are some of the highest achievers in the field but all typically quite approachable and collaborative. A portfolio of high profile projects that makes you quite proud of what you work on. I've worked at a few competitors with major projects and public sector in the same discipline and Arup is by far my favorite culture I've experienced between them all.

    Cons

    Sometimes workload can be unpredictable (ie. a bit slow or extremely busy) especially for technical specialists, which is somewhat similar across consulting engineering, although to be fair they really work to minimize this. Slow to make decisions/not very nimble - in the past 2 years a lot more red tape has been put up around R&D funds, software & technology, generally getting approvals for initiatives

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Exhausting

    Oct 14, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work experience - Brand name

    Cons

    - Overwork you to the brink of destruction - Grossly underpaid and reluctant to pay you overtime (despite just casually expecting you to work overtime) - No respect for lunch breaks (managers will call you up and schedule meetings whenever floats their boat) - Having an empathetic manager might lead to a better experience, I was unfortunate to have a robot as my manager

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Benefits

    Nov 11, 2022 - Technician 2 in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are very good

    Cons

    Long hours and potentially stressful environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,422 Reviews
</>Embed

Arup Reviews FAQs

Arup has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 2,965 reviews left anonymously by employees. 87% of employees would recommend working at Arup to a friend and 77% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Arup employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Arup. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

87% of Arup employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Arup 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Arup to be benefits, culture, career development and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Arup Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Arup? Share Your Experiences

Arup logo
or

Arup Careers

Cover image for Arup

We shape a better world We are an independent firm of designers, planners, engineers, consultants and technical specialists offering a...More

  • Your Career
  • Our Culture
  • Career Development
  • Your Reward
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Arup

873 days ago

COVID-19
We are taking extra precautions as a firm to better protect our members and their families during the COVID -19 pandemic. Following the direction of local health authorities, the majority of our staff is currently working from home. Throughout this time, our members continue to stay focused and support one another and our clients, while keeping a positive attitude. To learn more about how Arup is addressing the pandemic, please visit our website.
Shared image - Adapting to a COVID-19 world
Adapting to a COVID-19 world
glassdoor.com
See all

Arup Photos

+ Add Photo
Arup photo of: Arup office Scotstoun house
Arup photo of: Designers in our Manchester office
Arup photo of: Designers in Leeds
Arup photo of: Our people
Arup photo of: Our offices
Arup photo of: Melbourne office
Arup photo of: Our people
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Arup Job Seekers Also Viewed

AECOM Logo
AECOM

3.5

8,858 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,965 Arup reviews submitted anonymously by Arup employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Arup is right for you.