Arup "working environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Arup Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
88%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Arup Chairman Alan Belfield
Alan Belfield
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Structural Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at Arup

    Pros

    - Great working environment - Organized and well structured

    Cons

    - Expect to work long hours if a project is near deadline

    Arup2019-10-01
  2. "Review Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible working environment, great employees, awesome benefits.

    Cons

    Financial compensation (benefits excluded) is around average for the industry.

    Arup2018-01-29
  3. "Assistant engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Arup

    Pros

    Great learning and working environment

    Cons

    a bit lower salary compared to similar industry

    Arup2017-11-06
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Arup

    Pros

    Great company, well-known, some interesting projects. Friendly work-environment, good mentors.

    Cons

    Not enough work to do

    Arup2017-04-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate Plumbing Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Pluming Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The working environment is vibrant and exciting. There is a wide variety of projects to work on that will allow you to hone existing skills and develop new ones.

    Cons

    The work life balance is difficult to maintain with the large workload. There is not a formal training process. You will be thrown into uncomfortable situations that will be challenging and rewarding.

    Continue reading
    Arup2017-02-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent engineering firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Structural Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arup for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic office relationships, most interesting engineering projects in the world, flexible work environment, collaborative atmosphere, freedom to work in your own style

    Cons

    Sometimes the processes were disorganized, especially for an engineering firm. Lots of rushing to meet deadlines and very little oversight and QA which can lead to mistakes. Half the year I would work normal hours but when times got busy I did a lot of overtime, including the occasional 80-90 hour week. Only worth it because we were paid overtime and my coworkers were some of my best friends.

    Continue reading
    Arup2016-08-31
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Wonderful working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and working environment - open thinking, freedom to express, continual education. Benefits compared to other engineering firm are top notch.

    Cons

    Work load, work/life balance, and salary are deficient.

    Continue reading
    Arup2016-04-05
  8. "Good place for an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Arup for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, supervisors are very nice.

    Cons

    Frequently you spend hours with nothing to do.

    Continue reading
    Arup2016-04-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arup for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly working environment with smart people. Mature systems in place for marketing and finance. Good healthcare plan.

    Cons

    Pay is not great. Senior management has favourites. I observed some colleagues working very long hours with no reward.

    Continue reading
    Arup2016-02-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A good workplace, but leaves much to be desired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY

    I have been working at Arup for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be a great educational experience depending on your group and your mindset. Flexible working environment and the ability to drop into any office throughout the world. You have the freedom to create a pursue a specialty, but may not get support or acknowledgement form senior staff.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive. Benefits are standard, despite the company stating otherwise. Lack of support for any field outside of structural, mechanical engineering.

    Continue reading
    Arup2015-11-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews
</>Embed