Asbury Automotive Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Asbury Automotive President and CEO David Hult (no image)
David Hult
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great and clean dealership with great management team(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and employee relations(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours sometimes but we know what we signed up for(in 25 reviews)

  • "One manager at my dealership is just a pain to work with(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asbury Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Well managed and ethically run. Fair pay and hours. A Fortune 500 public company that somehow manages to not feel overly corporate about everything.

    Cons

    Sometimes complicated hurdles to jump and constantly changing priority tasks.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2020-02-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "RUN!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDC Manager in Duluth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asbury Automotive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cant think of any pros

    Cons

    Andy at the CDZ GEC - whatever its called now is nuts and scary b/c he is either on his medicine or off of his medicine and you never know if hes gonna yell in a meeting or threaten your job or tell you your doing good. The rest of the managers just play pingpong and dgaf about you including the president of the company [nvr met him]. Stay away from this hell.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2020-04-09

    Asbury Automotive Response

    April 28, 2020National Talent Acquisition Director

    The automotive industry is competitive and we offer competitive wages. In addition at Asbury we promote a culture where team members are highly engaged, do quality work to outperform our competition. The President/CEO visits this location regularly as does the Regional Human Resources Manager. It’s unfortunate you did not have a good experience working at Asbury Automotive. We advertise several avenues were you could have brought your concerns to light including an anonymous complaint toll free number. In fact team members are encourage to reach out directly to the Executive Team including the Regional Human Resources management team.

  3. "Terrible Comapny"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automotive Technician in Port St Lucie, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asbury Automotive full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Where I worked was already established all they did was buy it so I don't give them credit for how good it was working there.

    Cons

    When they came along staff changed, pay changed, expectations changed, and benefits changed, and the demons came. people get a job with them if you must but don't stay long because you can do better and there is better out there. this company does not care about you. work life balance is the worse if you work a dealer they own.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2020-04-07

    Asbury Automotive Response

    April 8, 2020National Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for taking time to provide your candid feedback. Feedback is the best way us to grow and improve. I am sorry your experience working with Asbury did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to be a great place to work. If you would like to dicuss in further detail please feel free to contact Della Boyea (HR Manager) directly at 904-747-8996. Thank you

  4. "No training or cooperation from department heads or general manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asbury Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexible with hours depending on management

    Cons

    - management at cares about bottom line -no morale in workplace - HIGH management turnover -

    Asbury Automotive2020-03-25

    Asbury Automotive Response

    April 9, 2020National Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for taking time to provide your candid feedback. Feedback is the best way us to grow and improve. I am sorry your experience working with Asbury did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to be a great place to work. If you would like to discuss in further detail please contact the HR department at 904-747-8996. Thank you

  5. "Worst professional experience ever!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asbury Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good software and software support.

    Cons

    When hired, I was told that the company encourages the "entrepreneurial spirit" from the managers they hire. Couldn't be further from the truth. This was the most extreme example of micromanagement that I have ever experienced. This work environment included constant texts, emails, and calls late at night and early in the morning, for no urgent or necessary reasons. The unstated expectation was that there were no days off. When I was told I had to use PTO for a part of a manufacturer's business meeting, I resigned.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2020-03-05

    Asbury Automotive Response

    March 10, 2020National Talent Acquisition Director

    We appreciate your feedback. Asbury’s objective is ensure success of our dealerships so team members have job security and earn a good living. When a leader is unable to develop a plan and successfully execute, we have our regional team step in to provide needed support to ensure established goals are achieved. If you would like to discuss in further detail please reach out to the Human Resource Department at Human Resources at 770 650-3290 Thank you

  6. "seemingly nice people"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDC Representative in Roswell, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asbury Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    full paid maternity leave after a year.

    Cons

    The manager was 2 faced pretending to be more favorable to some employees when she really does not care about anyone. She called every one into her office, gave them raises because they are " such good employees" , and told them not to tell anyone else. In reality they gave everyone raises be cause they are competing with another dealership paying more to their BDC agents. at asbury BDC in Roswell you are working for 1 location that services over 20 places that you are not properly informed about. Some in Florida, SC, MS and GA. Customers are screaming at you because you. cant. help. them. That is the end of the story, you don't have the resources so its a useless effort. at An in house BDC would be more effective and it is because it is now where I work. I know my service advisers, GM, Managers and its a team effort done well. Also, i was let go EARLY after I put my two week notice in. Way to treat your employees fairly. She is feeding corporate lies saying her team is amazing when they are struggling. but at least shes getting a big paycheck right ?

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2020-02-21

    Asbury Automotive Response

    February 27, 2020National Talent Acquisition Director

    We appreciate all feedback. Asbury Automotive Group pays above average in our BDC. Working with over 20 dealerships it’s sometimes difficult to keep the communication up to date but we do the best we can and look for opportunities to improve whenever a problem arises. We communicate through email, team huddles and instant messaging. We have found the central location for our BDC works well as it has turned out very effective and productive for us the past two years. Thank you

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away!!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asbury Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company paid money weekly.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations, super annoying management that stalks you daily, surrounded by unfriendly people, no training, no work life balance. I could go on and on. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this place.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2020-02-06

    Asbury Automotive Response

    February 10, 2020National Talent Acquisition Director

    Your feedback is important to us. Our expectation is that our managers adopt a servant leadership style that focuses on developing team members to reach their personal goals. If there is more specific feedback you would like to share so we can follow up further, please reach us at 813-349-4716

  8. "Finance Manager: Hare Chevy. Noblesville. Indiana"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Asbury Automotive

    Pros

    well organized. Process driven. Good training.

    Cons

    Normal car business cons a little for favoritism than normal. Pay plan is cut throat which makes for bad mix.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2019-12-06
  9. "GREAT PLACE TO WORK AT!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asbury Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, good benefits, opportunity if you don't have work experience

    Cons

    Complicated to get a promotion

    Asbury Automotive2019-12-05
  10. "Great earning potentials, upward mobility, high stress industry."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asbury Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential to make a great amount of money. Various Benefits available. Free lunches on Saturdays :) you earn what you put in. If you are a hard worker you can make a lot of money ( at the right store).

    Cons

    Extreme hours that come with the industry. 401k plan is terrible, very high stress jobs, which is common part of the automobile industry. Holidays are essentially switched with your normal day off, so you don’t get holidays off.

    Continue reading
    Asbury Automotive2019-12-14

    Asbury Automotive Response

    December 30, 2019National Talent Acquisition Director

    You are right about the younger generations in the work force. We have added in leadership training on generational differences for our managers to be more cognizant of those differences. We are also piloting a “store of the future” that focuses on work life balance and culture. We are very excited by the early indicators that we hope will improve that work life balance and retention. Thank you for your feedback.

Found 275 reviews