Ascend Learning Reviews | Glassdoor

Ascend Learning Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 234 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Ascend Learning CEO Greg Sebasky
Greg Sebasky
81 Ratings
  1. "Superb Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Executive in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovation, leadership, and clear vision of purpose are the driving forces at Ascend.

    Cons

    Must be flexible and willing to adapt to new innovations, ideas and process. However, this is what keeps this role fun.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stop! Keep driving toward our goal.

    Ascend Learning2019-06-08
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun culture, flexibility, promising future, and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    New initiatives/projects can get bogged down and delayed due to management indecisions/management changes.

    Ascend Learning2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ascend Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home on Saturdays for overtime

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None that I can think of .

    Ascend Learning2019-04-22
  4. Helpful (7)

    "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ascend has a great culture that is lived out-the values are believed, are real and they matter across all the businesses. But it is really the people who make the biggest difference in this company. The teamwork, the sharing of talents, the generosity and drive to make a difference are all a part of the human spirit that drives the businesses forward and makes this a really unique place to work.

    Cons

    This is a high-growth, fast-paced place to work--with that comes some chaos at times, while change and evolution of systems, brands, processes all are pivoting and changing to align to the businesses needs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep opening doors for growth and development of your people.

    Ascend Learning2018-12-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time

    Pros

    - Open communication - Employee training is organized and thorough - Onboarding process for new employees is smooth - Caring and helpful managers

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Ascend Learning2018-11-28
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Organization on the right track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, independent culture, ideal for people who enjoy feeling ownership over their work, actually committed to the corporate values, opportunities for professional development and continuing education. Dedication to hiring the right people. Commitment to constant, if incremental, improvements.

    Cons

    Fast growth can lead to a fast-paced environment, things are changing a lot as we grow and develop which could make it not the right fit for some people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the dedication to those core values! It definitely shows that leadership is committed to them now.

    Ascend Learning2018-05-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good teetering on great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, products and clients that are easy to care about, and really exceptional coworkers

    Cons

    Executive management is improving, but still has a way to go -- especially in some areas of the technology organization. Individual companies within Ascend Learning often do better, but their gains are largely in spite of the parent company.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure everyone really understands Agile development and DevOps engineering. Focus on aligning structure and processes with those concepts.

    Ascend Learning2018-05-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, I love the culture here folks are easy to approach. Ascend Values are very important, Passionate, Selfless, Courageous, Great Listener, Embrace and Accountable. These values help you to grow as a person. There are internal moves are available. Unless something changes I plan on being here until I retire.

    Cons

    Sometimes the lack of communication but I think that is a lot of businesses issue. Learning how to communicate with one another.

    Advice to Management

    To continue to grow and to communicate.

    Ascend Learning2018-04-19
  9. "Executive Administrative Assistant to President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant to President in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and fun working environment!

    Cons

    I can't think of one negative!

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advise at this point.

    Ascend Learning2018-04-19
  10. "Marketing Communications Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Manager in Leawood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing. Great perks, easygoing atmosphere and genuinely good, good people who care about doing great work.

    Cons

    None that I have encountered in my three years. Truly a wonderful place to work.

    Advice to Management

    One of the things I respect most about Ascend are the opportunities for promotion from within the organization and business unit. I would encourage management to NEVER lose sight of this.

    Ascend Learning2018-04-19
Found 234 reviews