KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ascend Learning

Engaged Employer

Ascend Learning

Add a Review

Ascend Learning Employee Reviews about "business units"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 320 reviews

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ascend Learning Chief Executive Officer Greg Sebasky
Greg Sebasky
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "Their work life balance is absolutely the best, with opportunities for growth in my current business unit (just got a promotion in fact(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great people and fun working environment(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is not group of authority to force these business units to play by the rules(in 13 reviews)

  • "Poor work/life balance, lots of overtime(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    10m

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,843

    955 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ascend Learning and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "business units"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Ascend Learning is a GREAT place to work!

      Nov 27, 2019 - Strategic Account Manager in Leawood, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ascend Learning is a combination of industry leading businesses, which allows you the ability to work with a smaller company with the greater individual impact on the bottom line, with the benefits of working for a larger company. With that being said you are also able to make an impact locally with volunteering and community organizations as well. Their work life balance is absolutely the best, with opportunities for growth in my current business unit (just got a promotion in fact!), and other business units if I decide to make my move. You also have unlimited time off, which is very valuable to me when you have both parents working and ever changing schedules of children and life in general.

      Cons

      I don't have any cons at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Stressful Work for Mediocre Pay

      Jan 20, 2021 - Technical Support Specialist in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a lot of business units and therefore a lot of jobs. Relocation to another business unit across the country is not an impossibility.

      Cons

      Management only acts when it gets bad feedback or when they feel like it. If something is wrong with the job, don't expect anyone to notice (unless it impacts your numbers, then they'll know right away). Pay for contractors is awfully low and the technical support team would rather keep hiring new contractors every 3 months and retraining than hire new full-time employees. The technical support team functions as the technical support for every business unit under the Ascend umbrella. This mean there is a lot of remote support being done and a lot of knowledge gaps on troubleshooting other business unit's systems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company with big problems

      Apr 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and benefits are pretty good. Management really seems to value employee feedback. Training can be available.

      Cons

      There is a group of super sensitive feminists that get good employees fired. They don't pay for overtime and expect you to work a lot of it. Management keeps purchasing new companies at a fast rate and most of these companies don't have compatible technology. Each Business Unit goes by their own rules and don't want to conform to the main vision. There is not group of authority to force these business units to play by the rules.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Business Development Manager

      Oct 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great corporate culture and work life balance Good benefits and salary

      Cons

      Disfunction at Ascend level of company. I worked at ExamFX business unit and loved the management at the business unit level, but holding company (Ascend) kept plugging in Ivy league managers from other business units. We had 4 different CEOs thrust upon us during my three year tenure. Each new CEO would engage in a 60 to 90 day top down analysis of the company and institute changes to rectify their perceptions of weakness in our business unit. Within the next 60 to 90 days this CEO would be replaced by another and the process would start over.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent but disorganized

      Mar 14, 2018 - Systems Administrator in Overland Park, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OK Benefits, Remote Friendly, Unlimited Vacation

      Cons

      The size and number of disconnected business units creates a disorganized and ineffective work environment

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Terrible Company for Software Engineers

      Mar 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Un-tracked PTO, large corporate benefits (health, dental, 401k, etc).

      Cons

      Ascend is a typical big acquisition company. Everything is about squeezing the child companies as much as possible to increase the short-term bottom line without regard to the long-term effects upon the software's marketability/functionality. The CTO has an off-shore first policy. All development is moving to a shared resources approach. All projects must go through architectural council, conform to specific technologies, and be beneficial to other business units to get approval. They ignore the subject matter experts. They refuse to back-fill dev positions. The list goes on. Don't work here. It will kill your soul.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Company to Grow With!

      Jul 11, 2017 - Strategic Account Manager in Leawood, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working for Ascend for less than a year, however they truly show you the path to success. I'm in sales so the fact that I knew my monthly, quarterly, and annual quota was a breath of fresh air. They do a fantastic job of on-boarding and illustrating the other Business Units that you can work for. They truly want you to spend your career with them, and I am really looking forward to the future with Ascend!!

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay Away... former Digital Marketing Manager - clicksafety

      May 21, 2017 - Digital Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No vacation policy - Both a Pro and Con, actually. Employees are allowed to take days as they need them. Good for some positions, bad for others. Employees who work really hard and somehow, still stay despite the obvious troubles. Food - potlucks and a few catered lunches randomly for holidays.

      Cons

      Where to begin? - No budget - Broken technology - Impossible revenue goals - Management who will throw you under the bus Still reading? I'm shocked... well, here's why I am leaving this review. Decide for yourself if this is the type of company you really want to commit to. Always remember to look out for yourself, because at the end of the day, it doesn't matter if you thought they liked you and have praised your good work. They're in it for themselves, and you should be too. I was employed with ClickSafety (one of the Ascend Learning business units) for nearly 2 years, let go in January 2017 2 weeks shy of my work anniversary. I wasn't fired because I was a bad employee, let me be clear - I did a great job and put up with a lot of changes for about a year, until new management decided she needed a scapegoat for revenue problems and wanted to hire her own marketing team. Am I bitter? To be honest, I wasn't overly upset at first... but I just found out that because I was 2 weeks shy, I lost nearly $2,000 of my 401K contribution since I wasn't employed for 2 years. What's worse? I was also let go right after finding out I was pregnant. This company will pretend that they care about their people but when it really comes down to it, all they see are dollar signs. It's 2017 and there are several business unit websites that are NOT mobile responsive... ClickSafety won't be on the website redesign timeline until 2018, folks! Despite that major obstacle, marketing employees are expected to continue generating huge eCommerce revenue goals year after year, which is a complete joke. Customers can't purchase via mobile, yet that's where all the traffic is coming from? Too bad! You still better hit those numbers or else risk being told "you're going to get fired" for the entire office to hear. There is zero respect for employees who work hard and actually care about what they do. I'm a perfect example of collateral damage. As soon as technology fails, they throw you under the bus and will just replace you with the next poor unfortunate soul. Is there more? Oh yes, I could go on and on but I don't want to waste any more time thinking about this toxic company environment. Do yourself a favor and find a different place to work. Ascend Learning wants results but won't fork up the cash to help get things done. I'm sad to say this but they really did me a favor by letting me go.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Organization

      Jan 19, 2017 - Director in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are passionate. People at Ascend Learning truly care about the company, their role and most importantly, each other.

      Cons

      Ascend Learning has many business units and sometimes communication is delayed due to having to be routed to multiple departments, etc., but everything always gets accomplished as needed.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Join for the experience and leave to grow your career elsewhere

      May 31, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers who truly want to help each other. Opportunities to get involved in various projects. Some flex time allowed, but not all departments can take advantage of it.

      Cons

      Top management that can only be described as bullies to make their projects top priority. Hardly any innovation going on. Promotions happen more frequently in select business units so if you're not in the right BU, you need to leave the company to grow your career. Employee morale is terrible.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ascend Learning Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ascend Learning? Share Your Experiences

    or