KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ascend Learning

Engaged Employer

Ascend Learning

Add a Review

Ascend Learning Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Nov 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 318 reviews

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Ascend Learning Chief Executive Officer Greg Sebasky
Greg Sebasky
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Their work life balance is absolutely the best, with opportunities for growth in my current business unit (just got a promotion in fact(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great people and fun working environment(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is not group of authority to force these business units to play by the rules(in 13 reviews)

  • "Poor work/life balance, lots of overtime(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ascend Learning and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Executive Administrative Assistant to President

      Apr 19, 2018 - Executive Administrative Assistant to President in Burlington, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and fun working environment!

      Cons

      I can't think of one negative!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Values

      Jan 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, some great people to work with. I am proud of the job I do so in spite of the long hours I am happy that I have made a difference in my time with Ascend.

      Cons

      I came to Ascend because of the values and the people, I understand that change is a constant but wish that those running the company would remember where we came from and hold on to the values with a little more vigor. I didn't used to mind so much working long hours as the supervisor I reported to rewarded me with good annual increases and bonuses as well as acknowledging jobs well done. Now the excuse is standard increase percentage across the board regardless of your effort and contributions, especially if you are not a member of a department that produces income for Ascend. 80% of the Shared Services group are taken for granted. The longer you work for Ascend the less visible you become. Just come in and do your job- don't voice your opinion. Now I am wondering why I am still there. PTO plan is great if you can take it. That's another problem, no time to take a vacation with no backup for your position.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Teachers

      Join the conversation on

      Teachers

      9m

      a 

      West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

      Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

      2,842

      955 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Ascend Learning - NHA

      Sep 19, 2016 - Sales in Kansas City, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people with leadership driven by goals of financial success & nurturing a successful work culture while achieving financial goals. Work Life balance is lived not just talked about. Time off policy is liberal. The organization is service minded and provides employees the opportunity to serve in the community. This is also the only organization where when I have traveled for business or meetings I have been encouraged to take some time to see the city where I was traveling to.

      Cons

      Any cons I could cite, for NHA, would really fall within the realm of normal for any organization. Overall, the leadership of our division of Ascend strives to make this a great place to work. From an Ascend perspective, the shared services model for technology makes it hard for smaller divisions to get the resources they need. It would also be great if there was more focus on the smaller divisions where there is still great growth opportunity vs. the largest division that has an immense amount of market share and penetration. Overall the Ascend organization is positive and feels like one where ongoing improvement is sought after and culture is important.

      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Almost killed me, tbh

      Nov 16, 2018 - Platform Analyst in Leawood, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO, decent benefits, great people

      Cons

      Enjoying a bright career, I loved consulting with this company and eagerly awaited the perfect opportunity to join the team full time. While the work was hard and we often worked nights and weekends, I loved my teammates and stakeholders. I enjoyed great personal relationships with people in all departments. I came to trust a lot of folks and a lot of them trusted me, too. I made the huge mistake of outshining my manager one day. And it was in front of her boss. Things took a quick turn, and suddenly she was working very hard to ruin my career. I was 'laid off' and became deathly ill for the following two years. After seeing specialist after specialist, my team of providers came to the conclusion that my new autoimmune disease destroying my body had in fact been caused but stress. I now have a life- long illness to remind me of what happened at Ascend Learning.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Ascend is a Great Place to Work... as Long as You're Under the Right Management/Department

      Sep 4, 2014 - Marketing in Leawood, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work in the marketing department and work under, and around great people. The hours, professional development, team, management are all great! The vacation policy and work environment is outstanding.

      Cons

      I agree with others that the change in leadership and lack of transparency is a buzz kill.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tons of potential, lack of accountability

      Jun 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, tons of potential, new CEO with a good plan. Financially sound company only going up from here. There are some really great people and some that need to go.

      Cons

      Lack of accountability from leadership down. Too much focus on the "Values" to actually get any work done. Reviews are too dependent on the "Values" to accurately reflect your performance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to work

      Mar 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good atmosphere and great people to work with. Management is great to work for, supportive, and always there to answer any questions.

      Cons

      There are really none that I can think of except that you must be flexible as far as your schedule goes.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Chaotic but great

      Jul 10, 2009 -  in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people who are friendly and more than willing to help great products and services offered very transparent good but not great pay feels like a family

      Cons

      the company tends to be disorganized with introducing new products to the market. career ladder is somewhat difficult to climb as they like to define roles

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Happy to be a member of the MedHub team!

      Mar 5, 2015 - Client Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, laid-back office culture with great people! Management is easily approachable, and open to new ideas and suggestions. Work is interesting and challenging.

      Cons

      This is a place for self-directed people. If you need someone to tell you what to do all of the time this may not be the best place for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company doing meaningful work but lacks hands on leadership

      Aug 27, 2014 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am here to provide an honest objective point of view for current Ascend employees or potential candidates. I've been around for quite some time and have seen many changes over the last 5 years after Ascend acquired our business. Ascend has been through a transformation since February 2014 when it was announced that we finally have a new CEO (Greg), a win for all who work here. I've met and spent a little time with Greg and Ascend chose a true leader who will work very hard to turn this disorganized company into a sought after place to work. We have a less than stellar reputation and we’ve earned it, but with the right changes across all business units, we will be back on our game. Greg has already removed a large roadblock in Tech and Ops – we’re on the right track to focusing on what’s best for all our employees, clients and business. Great rank and file employees who are genuinely interested in learning and working for the greater cause. Great people who can't wait to fall inline behind a good strategy Cash flow positive – this company makes money. Most business units do very well. Opportunity to do great things – 9 companies within Ascend that have wonderful business models Greg – Our new Chief Leader is very savvy, humble, quick to listen and very strategic. He has no ego (indicative of true leaders) and is passionate about the meaningful work we do.

      Cons

      Selfish instead of Selfless managers - Like most large companies, this is a problematic area we suffer from. This however, is very correctable! Leadership training and accountability will remedy this. Pay – Ascend needs to pay well to attract excellent talent. Example, I am paid $40k under market value for what I do here and have been told I will receive a raise since last year and more specifically, since year end review since I am top performer. Still waiting. Many programmers are also paid under market but stay because they are H1-B. Vacation - The take it as you need philosophy sounds great but for those of us who are managers, we don't have the luxury of taking it without feeling guilty knowing that our business struggles. New Hires - Some business units struggle because we “can't afford” to hire so many employees are burnt out every day doing multiple job functions. Attrition - Rate is extremely high from low job satisfaction, frustration with “managers” lack of vision and communication and our inability to innovate. Upward Mobility - Doesn't appear to exist. Remote leaders – This doesn’t work. Some business units function without a designated leader and it’s pretty tough. Having a GM show up a couple days a month and silent most of the time is not a leader. He is more worried about getting revenue and his bonus than the good of the employees, clients and business. Technology – We are not a technology company as stated in our online bio. Most platforms are antiquated and 10-15 years old; we have lost clients as a direct result. This needs to be a major focus and investment Asap. We reward/celebrate mediocrity – Retain underperforming employees and unprofessional sales reps and other employees who do not want to be here or who poorly reflect our values. All about revenue – Private equity is a tough business and everything is about money. The fun is almost nonexistent. Planning and communication – there isn't one or any except to bring in revenue. No one knows anything out the vision or goals/future of our business but we show up to work every day. Accountability - It is not clear there is any at the upper management level but this could change soon.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ascend Learning Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ascend Learning? Share Your Experiences

    or