Ascend Performance Materials Houston Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Ascend Performance Materials President and CEO  Phil McDivitt
Phil McDivitt
16 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Overall a great Work place

    Feb 3, 2021 - Technical Lead in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very motivated Employees and very helpful if you need them. Great Enthusiasm and you would always feel welcome.

    Cons

    Did not find any.Always happy when working with them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Average

    Feb 24, 2021 - Senior Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers Are young and agreeable Interesting job assignments Most of the time

    Cons

    Pay Lack of opportunity Weather Private equity Too much night sHift

    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Greedy company pays no bonuses in 2020!!

    Feb 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy working from home because of COVID, since that allows me to sleep during the day and interview for new jobs.

    Cons

    People worked very hard in 2020, but greedy Ascend decided not to pay bonuses AT ALL! The company lied to recruit employees by claiming they will pay 200% bonuses. However, when the time came to pay the bonuses, the company announced no bonuses despite making a profit of hundreds of millions of dollars! Run the other way from these people. No integrity!!!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    No 2020 bonus!!

    Feb 24, 2021 - Corporate in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They didn’t give bonuses for 2020 so I’m totally slacking off until I get a new job. F them

    Cons

    They didn’t give anyone a bonus. Wtf?!?!? We worked hard through the pandemic, launched a new product, and did two acquisitions. The company made a large profit (allegedly), but then they said zero bonuses because we didn’t make pre-pandemic-set budget. Are they f’ing kidding. I quit, but I ain’t leaving for a long time. I’ll get my money back. Don’t come to work here... who the f pays 0 bonuses?!?!?!?

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Leadership Team Is Disconnected from Reality

    Feb 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working from home during pandemic and nice, genuinely caring coworkers.

    Cons

    During the week that employees found out that despite the company making a sizable profit, they would receive no bonus, the company invites a third-party to discuss the company’s donations to a charitable organization. This speaker then encourages employees to donate to the organization. Seriously?! You just gave us all a major pay cut when you deprived us of our bonuses! Where do you think we get money to pay for charities of your choices? You took money from our families, from our children this year, after we did our part in 2020! I guess because the leadership did not skip out on their own bonuses they would be completely clueless about asking for donations for a charity. I guess they don’t realize that in the real world, for the average employee, money does not grow on trees. While charity work is important, in a year when we all ended up with a pay cut, we will be prioritizing our families and charities of our choice.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Good company

    Sep 2, 2020 - Processor in Alvin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, safety, amazing people, training if you worked in industry before. Loved the atmosphere

    Cons

    Training if you haven’t worked in industry before. Had 5 different people training on the same job but no 2 were the same. Had very little interaction with the team lead.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great culture and great prospect

    Aug 17, 2020 - Human Resources in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ascend's leadership fosters very collaborative and inclusive work environment. It operates as a safe start up where everyone has the ability to make a huge impact on the growth of the business which is very rewarding. I am writing this review during the COVID-19 pandemic and I have been very impressed with how leadership has handled the crisis. Non essential employees were immediately working from home before the stay-at-home order and site leadership has been implementing protocol to keep employees safe. Executive leadership elected to reduce their salary to help with cost reduction and avoid layoffs.

    Cons

    Processes aren't as mature as some other organizations that I have been in. Sometimes it takes a little digging and a lot of questions to figure out who owns what and what is needed to get things completed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Director, Global Communications

    Thank you for your feedback! #bettereveryday #OneAscend

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Truly great place to work and build a career

    Dec 6, 2019 - Human Resources Director in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun coworkers, forward thinking, great leadership, excellent benefits, community outreach focused, lives their values, develops people, family feel, truly cares about you

    Cons

    Some underdeveloped processes, old school mentality on some things like flexible work arrangements, downtown Houston, so commute can be a bear at times

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Love the company, bright future ahead

    Nov 17, 2019 - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is hands down the best company I have every worked for (since '91). We sell a quality product in high demand and Ascend's senior leadership is solid from Phil on down. Ascend invests in our prof. development and is steadily increasing benefits, e.g. paid parking or metro pass, very good health insurance, dollar-for-dollar match on the 401k, etc. What I look for in a company and find at Ascend is the opportunity to be challenged and make a difference. We work hard and expectations are high so it is not for everyone, but compensation is more than fair.

    Cons

    Huge projects amp up the stress level and you might work some late nights, but this is offset by insane prof. growth and experience and very fair compensation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    Director, Global Communications

    thanks for the feedback! #bettereveryday

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love the culture and leadership!

    Nov 1, 2019 - Talent Acquisition in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People love working here, there is a great work culture, and the leadership is extremely invested in the development of its employees. Lots of leadership programs for emerging talent as well as senior leaders.I love the Ascend Cares foundation and all the great community partnerships we have in place and the many opportunities to volunteer and give back as a company. This increases camaraderie and company pride. When I travel to the plants, I hear the same thing from those employees. They love what they do and who they get to do it with. Knowing this company truly lives and breathes it's values and they are not just something on the wall/website makes me feel good about recruiting candidates into this organization.

    Cons

    I have to park across the street cause the main garage is full.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 English Reviews

Work at Ascend Performance Materials? Share Your Experiences

Ascend Performance Materials logo
or