Ascension Borgess Reviews | Glassdoor

Ascension Borgess Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Thomas Stover
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No raises even when you get an excellent review(in 3 reviews)

  • "Two hour meetings where the three managers sit and gossip with each other about higher management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Borgess medical center is a great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Technician in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ascension Borgess full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice environment, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    No downsides to share about Borgess

    Ascension Borgess2019-06-12
  2. "Borgess before Ascension Michigan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Kalamazoo, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ascension Borgess full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits n flexibility in work hours

    Cons

    Too many Chiefs. Since all hospitals in Michigan became part of Michigan Ascension things have gone downhill.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the people you have. You already are losing doctors, nurses and staff as you aren't respecting them.

    Ascension Borgess2019-07-20
  3. "Good place to start, little room to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support 

    I worked at Ascension Borgess part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start a career

    Cons

    Little room for advancement. A lot of lip service but little meaningful change,

    Ascension Borgess2019-07-21
  4. "I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascension Borgess full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind and dedicated to program

    Cons

    Slow to connecting originally

    Advice to Management

    More aggressive and fast

    Ascension Borgess2019-07-10
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Patient Service Associate in Kalamazoo, MI

    I worked at Ascension Borgess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Full time with overtime Work schedule Management

    Cons

    Short staffed Divide between clinical and office

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Ascension Borgess2019-05-24
  6. "Great places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Activity Therapist 
    Recommends

    I worked at Ascension Borgess part-time

    Pros

    Nice people and attention to spiritual care

    Cons

    Decent salary but could be better

    Ascension Borgess2019-04-22
  7. "No upside to working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Access Specialist in Kalamazoo, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ascension Borgess full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Becoming friends with doctors and nurses comes in handy when you’re sick. By coincidence, met some fantastic coworkers.

    Cons

    No raises even when you get an excellent review. Unrealistic expectations of upper and lower management when the work load was meant for a team with at least 3 more people. Health benefits that are lackluster.

    Advice to Management

    Raises based on reviews. Hire more people.

    Ascension Borgess2019-04-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "No structure. Lack of direction. Very short staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Kalamazoo, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ascension Borgess full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok. Lots of opportunities to get into positions you wouldn’t get into at a hospital that is more structured and well managed.

    Cons

    Lack of direction. Awful management. Lots of union nurses who are awful nurses but rely on the union to protect their job. No one is happy here.

    Advice to Management

    Staff your hospital! Focus on creating better patient outcomes. Developing standardized order sets based on diagnosis and best practice. Appreciate the staff you already have that has stuck with you through it all and stop your awful billing practices. Look at your waste!! Ask your front line staff for help identifying the waste!! Educate your staff!!!!

    Ascension Borgess2019-01-10
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Ascension Borgess full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great mission, great people

    Cons

    Senior leadership not in touch with operations

    Ascension Borgess2018-12-23
  10. "Medical assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ascension Borgess

    Pros

    I love everything I do, my co-workers and provider and managers are amazing

    Cons

    The wage we start at.

    Ascension Borgess2018-10-24
Found 85 reviews