Ascension Parish School Board Reviews | Glassdoor

Ascension Parish School Board Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Patrice Pujol
5 Ratings
  1. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gonzales, LA

    I have been working at Ascension Parish School Board for more than a year

    Pros

    The children are wonderful to teach.

    Cons

    Change is constant and there is no time to learn new things

    Advice to Management

    not available

    Ascension Parish School Board2015-10-26
  2. "Administration makes a tough job better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Saint Amant, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascension Parish School Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The most helpful, affable and supportive administration I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    Low pay for the work load that is expected, and very little chance for improvement within the company.

    Ascension Parish School Board2015-06-24
  3. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Gonzales, LA

      I have been working at Ascension Parish School Board for more than a year

      Pros

      Great way to get teaching exposure

      Cons

      Pay isn't even decent, then again, I guess there are lazy "tv substitutes" who spoil it for the rest of us.

      Ascension Parish School Board2015-06-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "You are no one if you aren't in the In Crowd at Dutchtown High"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Louisiana in Geismar, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Ascension Parish School Board full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Students are great! Teachers are wonderful!

      Cons

      Administration does not care about their teachers Students run the school Administration will not abide by the rules that are in the handbook causing issues for teachers.

      Advice to Management

      Get out of your offices and walk to halls! It was so much better 5 years ago!

      Ascension Parish School Board2015-05-08
    • "na"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Ascension Parish School Board full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      not a single one at this place

      Cons

      choose not to mention at all

      Advice to Management

      compensate your employees for the work and service that they provide.

      Ascension Parish School Board2014-11-17
    • "the best"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - High School Teacher in Saint Amant, LA

      I have been working at Ascension Parish School Board full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      coworkers and students. High expectations, lots of work. Good students, great support. High pay compared to others. I love it here

      Cons

      alumni has too much influence. Everyone is related to everyone. very political. Have to know someone to get a job. Don't anger anyone . never can please everyone.

      Advice to Management

      none

      Ascension Parish School Board2014-03-08
    • "substitute teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Ascension Parish School Board part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      it was a was a 2nd job. My full time job was evenings and weekends

      Cons

      there were no benefits given with this job

      Ascension Parish School Board2013-11-21
    • "Special Needs Counselor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Special Needs Counselor in Gonzales, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Ascension Parish School Board full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of independence, great school system, dedication to student needs, cooperative faculties and administrations

      Cons

      Homophobic atmosphere at times, little choice in school placement, some collegial tension

      Ascension Parish School Board2013-06-04
    • Helpful (2)

      ""Everything great and intelligent is in the minority""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Donaldsonville, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Ascension Parish School Board full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I have worked for 2 different schools in the Parish. The first was a dream come true. Great support from administrators, colleagues, parents, and community. Our professionalism was never questioned. "A" school. Freedom to experiment with new techniques created a culture of teachers and students who were excited about learning. District offers comparatively good medical coverage and life insurance benefits. The...

      Show More

      Cons

      2nd school......I am actively looking to leave and follow in the footsteps of many who have quit recently. Overabundance of paperwork, useless data charts and graphs..."busy work" if you will. No lunch break, no planning periods, no time given to fulfill normal teaching duties. Employee morale has bottomed out. Faculty literally being told to "teach to the test." The students and teachers are suffering in order...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You have lost your BEST teachers so far, (check the names, credentials, schools) and it is only November. Unless you slow the bleeding, expect to restaff entire schools come January and August. "Attitude reflects leadership."

      Ascension Parish School Board2012-11-29
    Found 19 reviews