Ascension Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Ascension President / CEO Joseph R Impicciche
Joseph R Impicciche
318 Ratings
Pros
  • "Experienced staff, good benefits, tuition reimbursement(in 110 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, PTO and discounts at cafeteria(in 95 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The upper management is out of touch with the reality of healthcare, it is very business-oriented(in 76 reviews)

  • "Short staffed all over the hospital(in 68 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ascension and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great Opportunity

      Apr 30, 2021 - Nurse Intern in Miramar Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hospital and staff are amazing and provide tons of opportunities for new grads and career RNs

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your review. We are a team of more than 50,000 nurses strong. When you join Ascension, you become one of our caregivers committed to not only caring for the community and each other, you join a ministry dedicated to amplifying your voice. We appreciate all that you do. Thank you for your service and commitment.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company to work for!

      Apr 17, 2021 - Pharmacy Intern in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits with extremely competitive salary for the area. The management team is great and I love all of my coworkers.

      Cons

      Company is currently undergoing a lot of changes. Difficult to keep up with as an employee and student.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your experience working with Ascension has been a positive one. We are thrilled to know you feel supported by staff and management. We thank you for your service and dedication to our mission.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not Compensated Appropriately

      May 11, 2021 - Certified Medical Assistant in Franklin, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In demand jobs means job security, Multiple locations making it easy to find a site to work close to home

      Cons

      Compensation is not based on experience. No raise in 2020 and hearing rumors we will not be getting one in 2021 either. Bonuses given to Managers, supervisors and higher, but those of us that worked the testing tents or vaccine clinics received nothing. Supervisors and Managers rarely on site

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Saint Thomas needs HELP!!

      May 9, 2021 - Nursing Leader in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the opportunity to volunteer at the medical missions. Good residency program with University of Tennessee training next generation of clinicians.

      Cons

      Weak corporate nursing leadership. Great employees loosing their jobs and drastic changes being implemented over an executive’s little feelings. HR is ineffective, allowing greedy executive to eliminate associates’ jobs for personal reasons. Also, unfairly eliminating positions to favor friends. All the while, Ascension’s PR is out talking about Catholic values and inclusion. Talking of camouflaged greed, the Saint Thomas Health’s CNO is also the System’s COO. Often making irrational decisions and since HR is incompetent, the check-balance is compromised.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      May 14, 2021 - Global Procurement Coordinator (GPC) in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      3 day work week, lots to do, lots o FP laces to transfer to out of state

      Cons

      Lots of gossip, far from where I live

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your experience working with Ascension has been a positive one. We strive for all of our associates to experience our culture. We will take your comments and reflect upon them. We thank you for your service and dedication to our mission.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work

      May 14, 2021 - Security Officer in Appleton, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very nice benefits. Supportive staff

      Cons

      Usually not fully staffed. Work a lot of extra shifts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your balanced review. At Ascension, we aim to provide exceptional benefits that provide generous PTO, tuition reimbursement and an exceptional work-life balance. We will take your comments and reflect upon them. Thank you for your service and dedication to our team and our mission.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Better than other systems in Indy

      May 15, 2021 - Registered Nurse, Float Pool in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good bonuses, pay rate, safe ratios

      Cons

      needs better retention bonus /incentive

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Nursing associates account for over one-third of our total associate population. That means you are a part of a collective, united by one goal; to provide compassionate, personalized care to all - especially to those in need. We will take your comments and reflect upon them. We thank you for your service and dedication to our mission.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place

      May 15, 2021 - Tech Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy it here.

      Cons

      Some days aren’t great but it happens s

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your dedication to our mission to provide personalized, compassionate care to those who need it most.

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Horrible Leadership and Teamwork

      Apr 26, 2021 - RN-ED in Pensacola, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good doctors You can always get hours Majority of coworkers are supportive

      Cons

      No lunch breaks Weak leadership and teamwork Unsafe environment Stressful work environment Management cares more about numbers than they do about their associates. Mission and values are not enforced or encouraged by leadership, nor is teamwork encouraged. There are clicks and gossiping which breaks down the teamwork. I put in my 2-week resignation, and I was told I needed to work 4 weeks for re-hire eligibility by management. I looked up the policy in Ascension, and rehire eligibility minimum was for a 2-week minimum notice. Management's reply to my notification from the policy was "We've always done it that way." I would work overtime consistently and was respected by management. When I decided to work the expected amount of hours in my contract due to personal responsibilities and would say "No" to requests for coming in extra even with bonuses, management turned on me, and the respect was gone. Hardly anybody else would pick up extra hours, and the scheduling was awful and unfair.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your balanced review. Associates at Ascension are the organization’s greatest strength. We will take your comments and reflect upon them. If you would like to continue this dialogue, we would welcome that discussion. Please feel free to email us at Careers@Ascension.org.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great place to work and learn

      May 14, 2021 - RN Navigator in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent employer- no negative issues at all

      Cons

      none great team, good management. transparent expectations

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ascension Response

      Reputation Management Specialist

      Thank you for your review. At Ascension, we strive to provide spiritually-centered, holistic care that sustains and improves the health of individuals and communities. We appreciate your service and dedication to our mission.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,110 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ascension Job Seekers

    Office Operations Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ascension? Share Your Experiences

    or