Ashfield Healthcare Communications Medical Writer Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashfield Healthcare Communications Medical Writer Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
71%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Ashfield Healthcare Communications President   Doug Burcin (no image)
Doug Burcin
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best company in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Writer in Lyndhurst, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management, benefits, flexibility, the people

    Cons

    zero things. it's amazing. i can't think of a single thing.

    Advice to Management

    keep on keepin' on. love my job.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2017-07-12
  2. "Avoid this company at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Writer in Lyndhurst, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There aren't any pros for this position.

    Cons

    Work here only if you want an EXTREMELY stressful job. Writers are consistently overworked, handling the work of 2-3 people at any one time. Impossible deadlines require consistent after hours, weekend, and holiday work. At a company meeting, we were told to "put our heads down and work harder" to meet company objectives. Bonus was pathetic, and did not make up for the missed time with family/friends and physical /mental/emotional stress. Team members are often petty, reporting everything to managers and petty issues are created within teams. The people who start problems are often favorites with HR and issues are not dealt with fairly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Accurately staff projects. Train personnel to be honest about deadlines and the ability to work on projects based on Ashfield staffing. Pay employees what they are worth. Create professional development plans (online yearly assessments that are never used or integrated into a training/development program don't count). Train employees instead of making employees responsible for their own training.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-12-17
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Burns you out, no recognition, no work/life balance, poorly paid..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Medical Writer in Middletown, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were no pros for this position.

    Cons

    Poor, disengaged leadership; inadequate resourcing; poorly paid; financial incentives lacking (pathetic bonuses); they only promote their favorite staff members. The place is run like a high school with pettiness allowed to fester among their teams, and toxic individuals bringing negativity to the work place every day.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like human beings and recognize those who work hard. Hire more staff to resource properly and stop rewarding senior level management who are completely incompetent and uncaring.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-08-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Awful management/company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Writer in Middletown, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time

    Pros

    Overall, employees (who are not part of the leadership team) are hardworking and dedicated

    Cons

    Terrible management, little to no organized structure in the company, employees are expected to work on vacation and put in very long hours/nights/weekends. Bad company culture overall.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the fat.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Medical Writer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Love my coworkers. Work from home. Great benefits. Our health insurance cost went DOWN this year!

    Cons

    Nothing strikingly wrong. While they have a lot of work, there are slow times for me... Don't love that

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-03-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Medical Writer at Ashfield Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Writer in Manchester City Centre, England

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A dynamic and flexible company with great staff benefits and support.

    Cons

    No particular con to note.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-09-16
  7. "Great potential but poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Writer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with lovely people. Training opportunities are second to none.

    Cons

    Poor pay. Career progession is often time-dependent not skill-dependent. Limited client portfolio: you may end up being pigeon-holed. If you end up in the right team, it's great, if you don't, good luck! Company's focus is money for the stakeholders not their staff.

    Advice to Management

    Out your staff first, not just in your words with your corporate nonsense. Make career progression more agile and raise your salaries!

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-08-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Poor maternity policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Writer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great little perks like free lunches, cycle to work scheme, flexible working once past training period etc.

    Cons

    Maternity policy is poor - only statutory 6 weeks at 90% and then SMP

    Advice to Management

    Since the majority of the workforce are young females, benefits to suit this demographic would ensure better retention rates and possibly recruitment

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2018-05-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Very friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Writer in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large so can get experience of different projects. Very friendly. Upper management are approachable. Good atmosphere in the Macclesfield office.

    Cons

    Can be very busy with long weeks. Do not get any over time pay even if you work a week with 50% more hours

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2017-10-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A real people first approach!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Medical Writer in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at AHC as the culture and the people make what I do really enjoyable. The flexibility that is available is second to none! While it is a big company you never feel like you are 1 of many as each agency has its own culture and family feel.

    Cons

    It would be great to have more inter-agency events. This would help with career progression and sharing of best practice.

    Advice to Management

    While the company grows try and increase the internal network and flag opportunities for movement and development.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2017-07-13
Found 11 reviews