Ashfield Healthcare Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashfield Healthcare Communications Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
69%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Ashfield Healthcare Communications President   Doug Burcin (no image)
Doug Burcin
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ashfield is a great company to work for(in 10 reviews)

  • "Working with a great team and a great company(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Distributor/tired portfolio/lack of opportunity/non dynamic senior management(in 5 reviews)

  • "This is a job for women with kids who don't want to work anymore or retirees, or College Students with little to no experience(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Clinical Nurse Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Nurse Educator in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Leadership, Make a difference in peoples lives

    Cons

    Limited amount patients in area

    Advice to Management

    Management is SUPER!

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2018-01-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Medical Communications - No Job Growth - Day to Day Tenured Staff - On the Verge of Leaving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time

    Pros

    Large Company; Great starter low level jobs with well defined growth potential; Great to get some experience then get out! Lots of new Senior manager, client facing positions available 12-18 months from now! Check back!

    Cons

    After a few years of advancing; NO GROWTH potential. Clear career path for lower positions; Senior day to day staff keeping clients/teams together and organized are ready to leave - They are only staying for the NEW 1 month time off benefit. It will be sad to lose the dedicated people in the east and midwest offices because they are committed to their clients but I get it. Why stick around when the company doesn't... value you? It's a DEAD END career after a few years. The senior executing staff with clients do a good job and I do learn from all of them. I'm trying to learn as much as I can from them before they leave. Still it makes me sad to think of all that experience leaving. Doesn't help me grow when we lose the knowledge in those positions. Ashfield Motto: People quit, You're Promoted! If interviewing with Ashfield in program management, ask for the career path and watch it drop off after 2-3 levels beyond what you are being hired for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared to train a whole new senior staff to execute daily work for clients.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-08-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Burns you out, no recognition, no work/life balance, poorly paid..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Medical Writer in Middletown, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were no pros for this position.

    Cons

    Poor, disengaged leadership; inadequate resourcing; poorly paid; financial incentives lacking (pathetic bonuses); they only promote their favorite staff members. The place is run like a high school with pettiness allowed to fester among their teams, and toxic individuals bringing negativity to the work place every day.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like human beings and recognize those who work hard. Hire more staff to resource properly and stop rewarding senior level management who are completely incompetent and uncaring.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-08-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Awful management/company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Writer in Middletown, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time

    Pros

    Overall, employees (who are not part of the leadership team) are hardworking and dedicated

    Cons

    Terrible management, little to no organized structure in the company, employees are expected to work on vacation and put in very long hours/nights/weekends. Bad company culture overall.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the fat.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Medical Writer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Love my coworkers. Work from home. Great benefits. Our health insurance cost went DOWN this year!

    Cons

    Nothing strikingly wrong. While they have a lot of work, there are slow times for me... Don't love that

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-03-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor top managemet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule to be able to cover business needs

    Cons

    Work more than 50+ hours covering territory not originally given, no “true” direction given by management when asked although critical to employee success and safety. Upper management too busy “selling” their pyramid side business

    Advice to Management

    Get true management i5 no outside interests

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-03-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "UK-Owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent work-life balance. Most of the company works from home.

    Cons

    Managed from the top with no focus on others. Changes are always happening.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the people actually doing the work. Put a plan in place and stick to it.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2019-01-01
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Very poor support in the remote working business model. They have an archiac business model and are inflexible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Medical Director in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications

    Pros

    If you like chaos, long hours, and high stress this place is for you.

    Cons

    Drive employees into the ground so they can recognize revenue despite client needs and employee life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Improve remote management methods, learn that some flexibility with processes is a good thing.

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2018-09-28
  9. "Pharmaceutical sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and a WONDERFUL District Manager

    Cons

    Constant change from Qtr. to Qtr. who we were calling on

    Advice to Management

    none

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2018-07-15
  10. "Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashfield Healthcare Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Products represented and Medical benefits were very good.

    Cons

    Contract company so job security was very risky.

    Advice to Management

    Complete transparency is very important

    Ashfield Healthcare Communications2018-07-26
Found 80 reviews