Ashford University Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashford University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 749 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Craig Swenson
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "lots of pressure for enrollment/admissions department(in 40 reviews)

  • "There is no such thing as job security for anyone(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Enrollment Counselor 

      I have been working at Ashford University full-time

      Pros

      Work with great people

      Cons

      Life work balance is needed

      Ashford University2019-05-11
    • "Ashford University"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in San Diego, CA

      I have been working at Ashford University full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good training You can learn a lot in the environment

      Cons

      Culture Pay Lack of direction No professional development

      Advice to Management

      Invest in your employees development and success instead of micromanaging to certain metrics

      Ashford University2019-05-01
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Academic Support in San Diego, CA

      I worked at Ashford University full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Supportive management, great team members, generous tuition assistance, particularly for undergraduate degrees.

      Cons

      I was employed during a significant contraction in the company's growth rate. As people were laid off, my responsibilities increased, but pay remained largely stagnant. Your ability to advance is significantly dependent on your level of education, making it difficult to promote on the basis of experience or individual contribution, without a corresponding degree.

      Advice to Management

      Management was communicative, supportive, and very willing to recognize contributions from employees, but somewhat more reluctant to compensate financially. Overall, my impressions of the management were positive.

      Ashford University2019-04-16
    • "Good pay/ shady practices"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Enrollment Counselor in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ashford University full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I made some great friends, enjoyed the paid training and competitive pay plus benefits. Thorough paid training. I enjoyed helping students succeed.

      Cons

      Ashford cares about making money above the success and needs of the students they enroll. They spend a lot of time convincing employees that they are helping people but the ones who succeed do so only by shady practices. The management and staff are the most dishonest, morally appalling group of people that I have ever worked with in 20 yrs. 90% turnover rate from what I witnessed.

      Advice to Management

      A business should be built on high moral standards, of which Ashford has none. There is great potential to touch lives in a positive way, make money, and act morally but this begins at the top down and would require complete staff restructure.

      Ashford University2019-04-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "THIS IS A SALES POSITION!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - ESA in Tempe, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ashford University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      High salary for a terrible job

      Cons

      Using unethical methods to manipulate students

      Advice to Management

      They show no respect for students' well being - all they care about is numbers and how many people they can make money off of. Stay FAR away from this job and this company if you have respect for human decency.

      Ashford University2019-05-02
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ashford University full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Management is great. Not bad.

      Cons

      Sales, it can be high stress.

      Advice to Management

      None really. People have to produce.

      Ashford University2019-03-12
    • "Awesome place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ashford University full-time

      Pros

      Great boss to work for

      Cons

      I have no cons to put

      Ashford University2019-03-04
    • "Force"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

        I worked at Ashford University full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Great People to work around

        Cons

        Limited advancement & Management team is a little in the clouds

        Advice to Management

        Value your employee's a lot of them are more talented then you!

        Ashford University2019-03-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Get in, get a free degree, and get out."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Enrollment Services Advisor in Denver, CO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ashford University full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Free education. Getting a free master's degree is a huge pro, but it does tie you to the job. I made some of my best friends at Ashford. It can be a fun work environment. The job and metrics can be demanding, but it will teach you a lot of transferrable skills that you can take with you to any other job you do. Basically, you will get as much out of this job as you put into it, and you can grow your skill set while earning...

        Show More

        Cons

        No advancement or growth opportunities. There is very little development after training, unless you have a manager who cares about that, but so few do. There is such pressure to hit your numbers that you sometimes forget you're actually working with real students. Not a lot of job security. Overall, it's a great transitional job, but not something you would want to do forever. Get in, get a free degree, and get out.

        Advice to Management

        Provide continued training so that when an ESA slumps, they feel like they have opportunities to improve instead of feeling like they could lose their job any second.

        Ashford University2019-03-04
      • "Ashford University"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Admission & Matriculation Coordinator III 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ashford University full-time

        Pros

        lots of perks and great work life balance

        Cons

        upper management does not confer with employees before making drastic decisions.

        Ashford University2019-02-01
      Found 749 reviews