Ashley Furniture Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Ashley Furniture Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.7
4%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
Ashley Furniture President and CEO Todd Wanek
Todd Wanek
6 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful place to get new job experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Winchester, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good job skills and opportunities.

    Cons

    There were really no cons

    Advice to Management

    Management there was great worked with you on things you didn't know and helps you to improve skills

    Ashley Furniture2019-05-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "very stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ashley Furniture part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here

    Cons

    Low pay, no authority to actually solve customer issues, often working on your own with very little support from management and staff, rude sales people. Do not recommend to anyone.

    Ashley Furniture2019-11-25
  3. "Untruths Recruiting statements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Customer Service Representative in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are decent

    Cons

    Supervisor and upper management would rather have a negative post on glassdoor then to sit a resolve negative issues. In fact, they told me to go ahead and post on glassdoor. When recruited 2 years ago, was offer eligible to work from home after one year. Also was offered in interview and 6 months after employment. Now that it is after my one year, not eligible for work at home. Company policy changed but they have employees working from home. Feel like I was lied to again. We are to have weekly meetings which are canceled most of the time. If they have one, it is scheduled on my day off. Not properly trained on new processes that are implemented. Even the supervisor are not 100% sure on how things work. They will tell you that you can volunteer for overtime. But because no one wants to work, they make it mandatory which I understand. When you work their 5 hours mandatory overtime, then they tack on 9 hours more. When they are questioned that I have already did 5 so is that included in the 9, they say no. It has to be beween Thursday and Sunday. This is the second time I have worked at Ashley. There is no work, life balance. They will allow other employees "privileges" but when one brings this up, policies change. Other employees that took FMLA was.abke.to take this and work from home. But now that I am on FMLA to take care of my husband, who is to be having surgery. I cannot but 3 other employees before in in the last year could. If there is weather that we are not able to make it into work, Ashley allows to work from home. Customers are rude. Only place I know that can argue with customers then swear on the site. When they ask for a supervisor, certain supervisors will refuse to speak to them. During training, they tell you, you are the new eyes to Ashkey and ask why. Supervision tells you that you no longer work at your last job. I worked online customer service for 7.5 years before applying to Ashley. They actually trained you to be a customer service representatives. Now regretting. Ashley let me go in 2/2009, due to the poor economy, but was hiring in 5/2009. I moved on. Waiting for the day that Ashley does it again. Again looking for a different job. Really too many thing to list. I used to be opened minded. Keeping my suggestions to myself. Let them figure it out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep your hiring statements true to what your recruiters tell. Learn how to train proper customer service not only your difficult systems. Be more streamlined, not all over the place. More consistent, not just that Todd changed I his mind.

    Ashley Furniture2019-10-24
  4. "Furniture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hours and flexibility friendly coworkers offer work from home too

    Cons

    To many changes to many people come and go not enough employees

    Advice to Management

    Take more advice from workers

    Ashley Furniture2019-06-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for a franchise and they had very flexible scheduling

    Cons

    pay was not worth the effort

    Ashley Furniture2017-11-27
  6. "Negative Experience - Hagerstown MD Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hagerstown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Restaurants in close proximity to store for your 30 minute lunch break, store manager very understanding and accommodating, employee discount

    Cons

    Extremely unorganized, late pay checks to new employees, low pay, dramatic office environment, 0 life/work balance, not trained properly on how to do your job, or how to deal with angry customers (there's a lot of those), shady business tactics.

    Advice to Management

    Take action and responsibility for what you do wrong instead of pawning it off on a lower associate, follow through on promises to customers to avoid your CSR's being screamed at on the phone for something they know nothing about.

    Ashley Furniture2017-12-27
  7. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Santa Clarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the fast pace enviorment and also management was very helpful with the training .

    Cons

    not enough hours were given to me but I much appreciated the time i was with the company .

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing very well with the company and employment .

    Ashley Furniture2017-09-23
  8. "customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Arcadia, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing health insurance at a low price. Great benefits. Expanding a ton.

    Cons

    nothing really just the hill in arcadia

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really

    Ashley Furniture2017-05-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    most of the coworkers were very friendly like a family.

    Cons

    No social life at all. all holidays are mandatory except if you are a favorite(which i was) but still not very good for moral.

    Ashley Furniture2017-03-30
  10. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Arcadia, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance benefits, on-site clinic, nice office atmosphere, good employee discount on furniture, pay is good for a small town.

    Cons

    A lot of supervisors are friends/relatives of managers. They don't always pick the best person, but instead a relative or a friend. They expect a lot of work done at home by supervisors,

    Ashley Furniture2015-12-30
Found 19 reviews