Ashley Furniture "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashley Furniture Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Ashley Furniture President and CEO Todd Wanek
Todd Wanek
362 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Good pay and better benefits. We Are The Best Furniture Company in the World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and the Company continues to grow. By putting its money back into its facilities to improve the industry standard.

    Cons

    Work life balance is a little off at times but is getting better.

    Advice to Management

    The motto hire for attitude, train for skill is lacking which affects everyone due to no veteran employees in some of the plants. GSD is good and all but even for the leadership GAD would be best. A person that knows their leadership listens to them will be infectious to others or vise versa leading to a lost employee. My leaders in the Army instilled this in me and I try to instill in others as it is hard to go to war if your team doesn't have your back and it shows in how employees react to me in our facility as there is not a day that goes by I am not asking someone how things are going and do they have any issues going on in their area during my walk arounds. I love the company and our facility and hate when we lose a good veteran employee because of this mindset. I have been here for 5yrs now in Advance and hope to be around for many more.

    Show More
    Ashley Furniture2018-08-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Company with lots of money, but doesn't value employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    Profitable company, they will be around for years. Health care benefits.

    Cons

    No work/life balance, lack of direction, revolving door of leadership. Cannot work from home, no maternity leave policy. Morale of employees in corporate office is low.

    Ashley Furniture2018-09-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Professional/Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Ok pay and good benefits. open door policy. ability for advancement. many in upper management really do care about employees and try to do right by them. They try to innovate.

    Cons

    ZERO work-life balance, at Ashley you're all in, or all out. Immensely political, interested in your success and ideas as long as you agree with them, very hyper-focused; they WILL TRY to figure out who wrote this, which in and of itself speaks volumes about their protectionist attitude. Too many "lifers" from Wisconsin who only talk the talk. Current market challenges are a real threat to the industry, and Ashley in particular.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    REALLY open to change, keep trying, GIVE MORE VACATION and paid time off (2 weeks to start for first five years), pay a salary which doesn't require so many hours, STOP trying to figure out who wrote this and worry about WHY they wrote it. Keep jobs in US.

    Ashley Furniture2018-07-30
  4. "Ashley jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, Ashley for the Arts and company picnic are enjoyable, as well as the awards banquet.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is generally poor. Management is not well trained. Employee moral is low, not allowed to have fun at work mentality.

    Ashley Furniture2018-06-01
  5. "A Company of Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An evolutionary company that is making changes in technology, processes, and people to align to the changing business environment. Great coworkers and working environment. Physical space in Ybor is fun and inviting.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge, need to manage up to ensure you are not overloaded. Many of concurrent changes at once.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating, become more transparent with strategy and people changes.

    Ashley Furniture2018-04-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time

    Pros

    It is a job that offers benefits

    Cons

    Work/life balance leaves much to be desired

    Ashley Furniture2018-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Manager in Advance, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Steady company with a good future if management improves.

    Cons

    Work life balance. 60+ hours a week expected from management but pay based on 43 hours a week. Scheduling is very inconsistent.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to schedule.

    Ashley Furniture2017-12-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A bunch of unhappy employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time

    Pros

    You do get a decent Discount on the furniture, location of office, opportunity to learn multiple facets of the business

    Cons

    No maternity leave, no matching 401k, they make employees share hotel rooms with total strangers when traveling, many employees pay for their own hotel while traveling to avoid sleeping in a room with someone you've never met, top heavy company, no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Stop spending needless amounts of money on workshops with you know who and wasteful stuff employees don't actually benefit from. People would take maternity leave over "workshops" you require employees to attend on weekends. And sharing hotel rooms is going to turn into a big problem one day you should really stop that practice, it's archaic uncomfortable and cheap. Also good talent has refused jobs here because they have already heard of the culture problems its 2017 time to start competing for talent that way

    Show More
    Ashley Furniture2017-10-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Employee Policies and Practices for Management and Factory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Biggest in the industry has benefits

    Cons

    Short sighted executive management team. Complete lack of respect for work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro-managing such a large company.

    Ashley Furniture2017-04-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Distribution Center Shipping Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Cares for employees for the most part Benefits pretty good Pay

    Cons

    Long Hours Work Life balance

    Ashley Furniture2017-02-04
Found 37 reviews