Ashley Furniture "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashley Furniture Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Ashley Furniture President and CEO Todd Wanek
Todd Wanek
362 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time

    Pros

    There are literally none. You'll find some awesome coworkers as someone else said, but everyone is interviewing - so don't get attached.

    Cons

    IT at Ashley furniture is a black hole, according to the chairman of the board and owner - Ron Wanek. I have never seen a company care less about its employees than Ashley. You are one of 26,000 employees and its made clear that you wouldn't be missed if you left. If you go back in history a bit on this website, you can see that it used to be a good place to work - all of that has changed. New executive leadership and new stringent rules about core hours made this place the hell hole that it is now. The entire 3rd floor is disorganized and management only looks out for each other. You are a nobody, and don't forget it. Brown nosers and butt kissers are rewarded heavily; while people that just work hard and head home to their families after work are left behind. There are TONS of other IT jobs in the Tampa area with better pay, more flexibility, and better work life balance - another opportunity won't be hard to find. If you are being recruited from out of state, they do that on purpose because the rumors of what a terrible company it is to work for haven't traveled your way yet. The IT community in Tampa is small and people talk. Beware!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start over from scratch, try again, do something. Start with recognizing when it all started to go downhill -- and there's your problem.

    Ashley Furniture2017-02-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Director Global Command and Support Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is an exciting company on the cutting edge of technology. As a whole the organization is toward Agile alignment. This is a very supportive environment. Assistance is never far away. You can come into this organization and expect your voice to be heard by executive management. It is amazing the amount of accessibility you will have to founders and executive team. Express yourself and your concerns will be taken notice. If you are only looking for a job, then this is not the company for you. This is a place that promotes and actually lives up to REAL career growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    Work life balance can sometimes be a bit lopsided, however, that will depend on your role.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to in your general direction. Please continue to listen to your people, because I can assure you they are thankful to have you leading them.

    Ashley Furniture2016-11-28
  3. Helpful (4)

    "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ashley Furniture for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You are exposed to many different technologies. Lots and lots of projects.

    Cons

    No time to do anything the right way. Always on call. No appreciation for a work / life balance. They just don't care.

    Advice to Management

    You need to understand that people need a balance in their lives. You actually need to act like human beings.

    Ashley Furniture2016-10-11
  4. "Polymer Production Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Supervisor in Leesport, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    Weekly pay is great, company empowers management to make sound decisions, fast-paced environment with 0 downtime. Great place to work with the ability to be promoted.

    Cons

    Moderate to low "work-life" balance because of mandatory overtime. I had no issue with overtime, provided more opportunities to learn/grow in my role and more money to provide for my family.

    Advice to Management

    Management is absolutely amazing with a ton of responsibilities, they are non-stop busy. I would suggest developing concise/in-depth training modules for employees as well as management on the floor (supervisors). Provide in-depth training of AS 300 and AIS. Great management team to work for.

    Ashley Furniture2016-08-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Office in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    Great co-workers, on-site cafeteria, ample parking, free turkey at Thanksgiving.

    Cons

    Very strict, "no fun" atmosphere - "more working, less talking", can't have your cell seen, can't listen to music, too much work - needed to hire more people for the amount of work being done. Staff worked at an insane pace all day, every day. That together with the strict atmosphere was way more than I could take. No work/life balance. Many processes and procedures are done as if the business is still small vs. the multi-billion dollar company that it is, lots of inefficiencies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up!!

    Ashley Furniture2016-08-05
  6. "Ashley Furn Ind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General and Operations Manager in Pontotoc, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    Never a shortage of work. Very aggressive taker of market share.

    Cons

    Work/life balance. Current boss is hard to work with.

    Ashley Furniture2016-02-20
  7. "Terrible- one of the worst places I ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    I really cant think of anything to put here, but this is a required field.

    Cons

    No work life balance- many people working late into the night or early morning hours. Very stressful atmosphere. A lot of backstabbing between team members and teams. Started with upper management & went all the way fown the ladder.

    Ashley Furniture2016-03-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate is a Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An adequate employee discount

    Cons

    No work life balance They don't close the doors at night in some desperate attempt for more sales They offer store bonuses if certain numbers are met, yet the numbers are consistently unattainable The company's customer care is an embarrassment to the idea of customer service itself A lot of the special order items are confusingly difficult considering customers can pay less on Amazon and get it sooner

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your corporate and regional offices. They are making you look like fools.

    Ashley Furniture2016-03-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "All Talk No Heart for Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Advance, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ashely has good benefits. I truly think the ownerships wants to do good by there people but it cannot be proven because of so many managers and superintendents that don't give one whit about the issue of treating people well.

    Cons

    Work Life balance is absolutely horrible. The leaders do not care. A lot of talk about treating people well, safety and opportunity... But no follow through. Their idea of good safety practice is making the employee sign forty documents a day so that they can say to OSHA that they are doing everything they can. Pay is below par for the same positions elsewhere. Piecework pay system is skewed in the favor of the company and seldom benefits the operator. The only thing management cares about is corrective actions documented at every level so at to protect the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating people like animals. Start practicing what you preach. Maybe the owners need to do an undercover boss episode... When V.P.'s are micro managing operators and supervisors they are wasting time money and resources. Way too many silos and dotted line authority structures to be helpful to the employees or the customers. If I were Todd I would reach out to all the people who have left the company in the last year with a well thought out survey. I think he would be amazed.

    Show More
    Ashley Furniture2016-02-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Part of Human Resources team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer/Translator in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many entry-level positions for new graduates and plenty of overtime available.

    Cons

    Does not provide an adequate work/life balance and few advancement opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    The lack of recognition from managers pushes good employees away.

    Ashley Furniture2015-09-20
Found 37 reviews