Ashley Furniture "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashley Furniture Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Ashley Furniture President and CEO Todd Wanek
Todd Wanek
362 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Regional Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture full-time

    Pros

    If you are part of the "good ole boys club" (which I actually was) it is actually a decent place to work mainly because Ashley is constantly moving.

    Cons

    By far Todd Wanek is the most narrow minded executive I've ever worked for. Todd sees things only through a multi-millionaire's perspective. He see no reason to have his management teams work 70 hours a week and be available to take calls all hours of the day and night. I suppose if everyone was reaping the direct benefits of those hours (millions of dollars) that would be ok. But Todd just believes everyone should put in the same hours as he does. Don't get me wrong Todd is a smart man but as a leader he lacks all the necessary soft skills that would make his teams better. His teams fear him vs really want to do well for the team. Work/life balance is the worst part of working for Ashley corporate. Don't read all these comments and assume that is the way across the country since roughly 90% of the stores are independently owned and operated and their are some fantastic Licensees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand that not everyone needs to work 70 hrs a week to be productive. Hire qualified people and let them do their jobs without micromanaging on a daily basis. You are guiding a big ship and big ships don't turn on a dime and certainly don't change on a daily basis. Understand that people that you have hired or promoted "just because" aren't always the best fit.

    Ashley Furniture2015-08-07
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Crooked and Shady Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    Not really any that I can think of.

    Cons

    Salaried employees are expected to work 60-70 hours for very little pay. I worked at corporate and in other locations. It's a boys club operating like it is 1980. Most directors and senior management have little to no education and have no idea how to run a business. Employees on the floor are treated like animals and are considered expendable. Management is constantly yelling and swearing at it's employees. You are asked to do the job of 3 people and then are yelled at when it isn't done. There is no work life balance. The things I was asked to do in HR were so illegal yet it came down from the CEO so my boss told me I had to do it. When I didn't, I was yelled at. This place is so shady and crooked it is sad. Do not work here! No wonder they can't find anyone to work for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You may have mastered how to manufacture furniture but that won't help you if no one wants to work there. Get rid of all your upper level management. Learn how to have legal hiring practices and an HR dept. that actually cares about employees.

    Ashley Furniture2015-06-18
  3. "Ok Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    decent commission structure, fun and energetic work environment

    Cons

    long hours, poor management, work life balance is non existent

    Ashley Furniture2015-02-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Arcadia, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities to gain experience in various departments and business units, including international opportunities. Fast-paced, goal-oriented environment.

    Cons

    Zero work life balance. The owners expect overtime every week for anyone who is on salary, including nights and weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Out of touch with current trends with human resource best practices on employee engagement. Need to provide better compensation considering the expected long hours. Need to provide a flexible work schedule and work from home options.

    Ashley Furniture2014-06-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Culture and values are non existent. Very bad environment to work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    Pay and benefits were OK.

    Cons

    There is no work life balance. Employee retention is very low. It is a revolving door from the upper management to the housekeeping job. Very few employees stay at the organization.

    Ashley Furniture2014-03-03
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashley Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay Great owners, and employees, and co-workers

    Cons

    Work Life Balance...such is retail.

    Advice to Management

    All of the stores are locally owned, and operated. I cannot speak for all stores, but the 4 owned by the family I work for are great. The owners truly care about the employees. The pay even for a store manager is 100 pay for performance, but it works better. being a performer I made more than any salaried manager I have ever heard of. Only down fall is work life balance. there are only two managers at each location meaning a lot of of time away form home, and family to make sure the store always has a manager on duty.

    Show More
    Ashley Furniture2013-09-27
  7. "We're the best mentality!!! RAH RAH RAH... Blah"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Territory Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashley Furniture

    Pros

    You get paid well. Work hard it pays off.

    Cons

    No work life balance, work hard, travel lots, long hours, lots of pressure

    Advice to Management

    Sleep more. They put in ridiculous hours especially at trade shows.

    Ashley Furniture2015-01-30
Found 37 reviews