Ashton Woods Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

Ashton Woods Homes Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Ken Balogh
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Superintendent in Atlanta, GA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ashton Woods Homes for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The people and management are very team oriented and willing to help each other succeed.

    Cons

    Promotion opportunities can be limited.

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-09-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Counselor in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for! Treat their Sales Team very professionally unlike other companies. Build Beautiful Homes.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a struggle between sales and construction, but AW by far works to keep that to a minimum

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage cohesiveness between all departments.

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-09-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management seems very open to feedback. The culture is a big focus and management really tries to make the employees happy. Lots of growth and ability to grow with the company.

    Cons

    Not really a con of the company but the industry is super busy right now and there is a shortage with the trades which makes everyone a lot busier than normal.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being open to feedback and making the employees feel important.

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-08-26
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes

    Pros

    Has been a great company, they don't have a good warranty department though, so the builder have to do it.

    Cons

    No warranty Dept so the construction managers handle warranty

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-08-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The company has an entrepreneurial atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The culture at Ashton Woods is amazing. It's a bunch of talented, hard working, passionate people giving it their all every day.

    Cons

    As a private company we only have so much access to capital which limits how much and how fast we can grow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Don't ever forget how we got here as we get larger. We've been successful for a reason.

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-06-25
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good pay No pressure Laid back atmosphere due to lack of management Regular hours Good holiday time off Bonus is easy to achieve. It's automatic

    Cons

    Poor upper management No leadership No support Paperwork/administrative is terrible Plans/selection sheets are always wrong No one appears to be in charge Lots of interdepartmental conflict

    Advice to Management

    There was a company survey done by employees. If they can't figure out what's broken from that survey then they will never improve.

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-02-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Construction Manager,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Project Manager in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashton Woods Homes for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Loved the work place. The team was good to work for.

    Cons

    Loved the management team. I have nothing to change.

    Advice to Management

    Need room to move up in the company

    Ashton Woods Homes2016-01-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes

    Pros

    Outstanding Culture that empowers employees to make decisions and enjoy the experience

    Cons

    Sometimes pressures at the field level because of trade issues/delays can create departmental friction which unfortunately is an industry wide problem now. This puts added pressure on sales, construction, and purchasing. The company has a good understanding of this issue and communicates well with employees - to work to solve problems and get better each day.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an understanding of the current trade issues/delays and how that impacts the front line employees and consumers. This sometimes can translate into pressure between departments. CEO has an exception aptitude and understanding of this.

    Ashton Woods Homes2015-12-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ashton Woods Homes full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Smooth process. Group interview, intelligence test, upper level management interview, offer with contingency on passing background and drug test. Prompt response from management about next steps.

    Cons

    The time between desired start date and previous job end did not allow me to give enough notice. If I had been giving enough time I would have been able to start training class earlier.

    Advice to Management

    Continue recruiting and giving opportunities to those who have not had previous new home sales experience. I loved my Ashton Woods experience. Great people and great connections that will go with me into my next career venture.

    Ashton Woods Homes2015-12-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "The best private homebuilder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ashton Woods Homes

    Pros

    Amazing culture and employees. Very entrepreneurial and employees have the ability to make a difference in the business. Great focus on design and product.

    Cons

    Growing business that requires people to be very adaptable.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep the culture in tact while continuing to grow.

    Ashton Woods Homes2015-10-09
Found 35 reviews