Aspirus Reviews | Glassdoor

Aspirus Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Aspirus CEO Duane L. Erwin (no image)
Duane L. Erwin
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great staff, professional work environment, great hours, constant communication with staff, learning opportunities(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great team members, adjacent team cooperation, exposure to technology (not cutting or bleeding edge however but that's healthcare)(in 3 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aspirus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company consistently strides for providing better patient care and connecting with the community. Good company benefits.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth in my current position. Also, current position doesn’t pay a whole lot, then again, it’s an entry level position.

    Advice to Management

    Continue providing support and encouragement for employees. It makes them feel valued and part of something greater. Pleasure to work there.

    Aspirus2019-05-07
  2. "Pharmacy tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aspirus part-time

    Pros

    Up beat environment, overall nice coworkers and awesome pharmacists

    Cons

    Some shifts can drag on

    Aspirus2019-06-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aspirus

    Pros

    Flex schedule nothing else positive to write

    Cons

    From day one my coworkers refused to help me learn the job. The supervisor asked, 2 weeks into the job, how it was going...I was honest and responded it was not going well, too much for a new person to do. She asked if I had asked anyone for help. I said "yes but was told no and that the work could not be split out. LIE. #1. The supe became visibly upset and an email went out to the team that they needed to split... the work with me. I became the bad guy from there on. It never improved. It was a very toxic, nasty environment. Grown women bashing each other and then acting like a friend. They didn't even try to keep their mean spirited comments quiet. Aspirus as a whole is full of rude providers and ancillary staff. When it was reportrd, nothing changed. I dis try to secure a position in other areas but have been unsuccessful. There is NO support from HR, in fact that HR is by far the worst I have ever had the displeasure of working with. If your unhappy leave....huh? Management including team leads are undeniably immature. We hear alot about weekend partying in our useless meetings vs discussing issues. Inexperienced, unqualified people are promoted only because no one else wants the job!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a major "house cleaning" of management from HR,team leads, to directors and managers. Stop promoting people who are unqualified. Clean up your nasty attitudes and down right mean spirit. Good people leave a horrible environment. The environment can only improve if management deals with the people issues vs making the person who complains, with documented exmples, the bad one!

    Aspirus2019-06-02
  4. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Wausau, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aspirus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awarded by IBM Watson's Top 15 Heath Systems 2018 & 2019 Consistently striving to provide the best patient care

    Cons

    Not much room for progression in select departments

    Aspirus2019-04-28
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspirus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good staff, truly care for the patiebts

    Cons

    Lots of politics, unplanned change

    Aspirus2019-03-28
  6. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Aspirus part-time

    Pros

    You will have the Greatest coworkers.

    Cons

    It is difficult to get a substantial raise.

    Aspirus2019-02-26
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Unfortunate decline in quality and patient safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure (IT) in Wausau, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aspirus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team members, adjacent team cooperation, exposure to technology (not cutting or bleeding edge however but that's healthcare) Ample parking

    Cons

    Management, directorship are clueless, play favorites, act on emotion rather than being professional. Back-handed intentions. There's a reason they've gone through so many managers and directors here with engineers and admins seeking to leave. Yearly reviews are a joke and nobody understands them. There's a survey annually to rate things like pace of work, mgmt, etc which is ignored. Used to have the CIO on it... until they received unfavorable reviews. Next year they were removed. Director received unfavorable reviews on the next year's, the following the director was removed from the survey. Have to fight to get fair pay and even then you're barely at market rate. Others in the area pay much better and have greater benefits. Benefits including 401k, health, paid time off are mediocre and getting worse every year. Epic analysts routinely skirt around protocol and will view patient and coworker health records in a way that is deliberately uneasy to audit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No advice given will be considered. Management in this space up to CIO should be removed. Lights stay on so nobody notices.

    Aspirus2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspirus

    Pros

    Coworkers arr amazing and caring

    Cons

    Upper management refuses to listen to frontline staff, bottom line drives everything

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them better

    Aspirus2019-01-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Wisc Rapids, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aspirus part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive work culture teamwork growth, quality care

    Cons

    Having to work two shifts

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance is important

    Aspirus2018-12-07
  10. "Surgical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aspirus full-time

    Pros

    Great management. Lots of different experience. General, OB/GYN, eyes and ENT, plastic surgery, orthopedic, Neuromuscular, and cardiac. Pay was great. Team members practiced team work.

    Cons

    On-call hours were crummy. One day a week and one weekend a month. If you lived further than 18 minutes from the hospital you had to stay in a hotel provider by the hospital.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest maybe offer some soft skill courses and communication techniques. Christmas bonuses. Develop more personal relationships with employees.

    Aspirus2018-11-13
Found 68 reviews