Asplundh Trimmer Reviews | Glassdoor

Asplundh Trimmer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
10%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Christopher B. Asplundh
6 Ratings
  1. "Job quilty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tree Trimmer in Pikeville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asplundh full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    None really the job sucks and they work unlike a dog

    Cons

    The bosses don't communicate with the general formans and they work u like a dog and don't pay enough

    Advice to Management

    Work with the employes and listen to them cause the formans r not speaking up when they need to

    Asplundh2014-11-16
  2. "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trimmer 

    I have been working at Asplundh full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Weekends off is very nice

    Cons

    Pay sucks, and to no class

    Asplundh2019-03-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Asplundh not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trimmer in Ridgway, CO

    I worked at Asplundh full-time

    Pros

    Got paid every week unless perdeim was involved

    Cons

    We’re lucky if they paid you the correct amount

    Asplundh2017-12-13
  4. "Tree work is not for everyone, not worth it if you're non-union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trimmer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asplundh full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pays better than most jobs, but not for the type of work you are doing. I worked with a lot of good people, learned a lot of useful skills, and had a lot of fun.

    Cons

    Worked out of town 5-6 days a week (more if you are on storm work) and Per Diem wasn't enough to cover a motel room. We split the cost (4 people per room). Non-union pay is terrible. The risks involved with working high-line (138,000 Volts+), let alone chainsaws, wood chippers, etc. far outweigh your compensation if you aren't union. Also, every time I got paid my pay rate was messed up. When I got laid off I was still...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people. Fix your pay system (I heard it was a very common issue).

    Asplundh2017-01-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Watch you back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trimmer in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Asplundh for more than 2 years

    Pros

    If you get under the right general forman and crew you can learn something new everyday.

    Cons

    A lot of the workers are shady so be careful

    Asplundh2016-12-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trimmer in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Asplundh full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    If you just need a steady job to get by on and don't have to many bills to pay this will get you by.

    Cons

    They just pay you enough to keep you from being economically destitute, even some of the management only brings home 550-600$ a week, you're on call 24/7 for storm work so if trees go down in the middle of the night you have to go in and work. Management can be very inconsiderate to the employees.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to show more consideration to your employees, when you have a shop down the road from where your employees live and you send them an hour away to work somewhere else it really causes great inconvenience to them. Management will refuse to transfer you closer to where you live simply because it generates more paperwork that they don't want to do. This really makes the employees feel like...

    Show More
    Asplundh2016-09-03
  7. "trimmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trimmer in Bluefield, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asplundh full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great hours I learned new skills and proper techniques in dealing with tree work in different types of settings such as weather, terrain ,commercial and also residential applications. .

    Cons

    I would say extreme weather conditions for me is definitely a downside to doing tree work. I love the outdoors but when you have to work outside everyday all the time it can long lasting effects on one's health an wellness. .

    Advice to Management

    For this type of work I believe management should pay better and provide employees with a certain type of clothing and boot allowance due to the nature of work and having to be out in the elements to do said work.

    Asplundh2016-03-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "agitated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tree Trimmer in Van Buren, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Asplundh full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    guaranteed work and good co workers

    Cons

    Long hours that are not always paid for.

    Asplundh2015-10-19
  9. "9.88"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trimmer in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asplundh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and safe place because of the good safe rules and I love the environment

    Cons

    Hot sun the weather be up and down but it a man job so If your not a man yet this job isn't for you

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing the water n Ice for

    Asplundh2015-05-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Asplundh was the greatest hands on experience i have ever had ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trimmer in Laurel, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Asplundh full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every employee treats each other like family

    Cons

    you don't find out what's going on til last minute

    Advice to Management

    treat your employees with respect instead of like dogs they are there to make a living just like anyone else and stop parking your trucks under a tree and falling asleep do your job because theirs always someone that can do it better.

    Asplundh2012-12-11
Found 13 reviews