KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Asset Health

Engaged Employer

Asset Health

Add a Review

Asset Health Troy Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 11 of over 23 reviews
3.8
72% Recommend to a Friend
87% Approve of CEO

Found 11 of over 23 reviews

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Asset Health Founder and CEO David E. Wilson (no image)
David E. Wilson
8 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

445

62 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Heading towards right direction with cutting-edge technology!

    Oct 30, 2019 - Software Engineer in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I write from personal experience of working at Asset Health for about 2 years as a passionate Software Engineer. The company is heading towards right direction with the introduction of cutting edge technology/architecture and new, large-scale projects coming down the pipeline. With the profound leadership of the development team, the company has internally matured into an excellent structure with new opportunities for growth. It almost has a startup vibe to it. Joining the development team would be a decision well made as you'll be impacting lives through healthcare software products, aside from the learning and problem solving aspects. The people are great; everyone that I have worked with seem to put in their 100%. Benefits/salary are competitive with a generous amount of PTO days that increase over time. Company culture is meaningful and reflective of its employees. Also, I'd like to point out that flexibility goes far beyond any company that I've worked for - you'll be able to deal with life situations without it having affect your line of work.

    Cons

    I feel as though khakis and button downs are a thing of the past for software developers in this day and age. The coffee is meh. Honestly could be better.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company Culture

    Jan 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Team, Work and Business

    Cons

    Keep continuing good work !!!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great culture, meaningful mission

    Jun 15, 2019 - Associate Consultant in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Asset Health improves the health of thousands of people nationwide. It’s amazing to work with health advocates!

    Cons

    Amount of paid time off

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't walk, run!

    Mar 27, 2017 - Anonymous in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a paycheck.

    Cons

    Everything else. Small company owned by religious people who are hypocrites. They don't want to pay for quality and have young kids with no life experience, work experience or education working for them. They get what they pay for and it shows in the constant upheaval of the culture there. Terrible place to work. It was so bad that every month, on the anniversary of my last day, we celebrate.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amid Otherwise Universal Superlative Qualities, One Huge Downfall

    Feb 14, 2017 - Deputy to the Assistant in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, freedom, ability to grow, competitive pay, generous paid time off package, good benefits, great people, very nice building and kitchen, clean bathrooms, understanding and extremely smart C Suite occupants

    Cons

    Bad coffee (Did I mention "bad coffee"?)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company, Fun Place to Work, Mediocre Pay/Benefits

    Nov 3, 2016 - Software QA in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Asset Health for 2 years. This is a great place to work with great people. Everyone here is extremely nice and willing to work as a team. The management here provides a lot of opportunity to learn new things and grow your skills, and senior team members are willing to help junior members learn and grow. The technology being used is relatively new and cutting edge, so you won't feel like you are using outdated technologies working here. It is a small company, so the lack of corporate red tape provides a nice working experience. You actually have the power to make a difference without going through walls of management and approvals. The office itself is new and updated, and is very comfortable. Flex hours are allowed, so the work/life balance is great. If you are a young professional, you will fit right in and enjoy working here.

    Cons

    The salaries here are mediocre at best, and the benefits are not great. They do not do any kind of matching on 401K. They also do not provide bonuses. Be prepared to be low-balled on salary if you come to work here. There is also not a lot of long term career opportunity here because of the fact that it is a small company with a development team of only ~20. New employees only get 10 days of paid vacation, and you have to work at the company for 5 years to be eligible for more than that. Recently after I was hired in, the company moved to a fully renovated new office. The new office was awesome, but for some reason the owners decided that the employees didn't deserve decent chairs, instead leaving them to fight over a slew of old broken desk chairs. This was my single biggest complaint the entire time working here. I often went home with a sore back because the chairs were so bad.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A seemingly friendly, supportive company... until you are fired.

    Mar 18, 2015 - Software Engineer in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a fairly relaxed environment (business casual), they keep a well maintained and nice looking building, and starting recently they do a good job providing the technology needed to efficiently do your job. They also have some very intelligent, hard-working employees.

    Cons

    The daily tasks are generally bland and repetitive There is little to no room for growth (other than perhaps a new title with no raise or new responsibilities) They admit to monitoring "online activity," including personal conversations While they are supposedly easy going when it comes to working from home, they fired me for working from home with a fairly serious illness (admittedly I was not doing much work, as I was very sick, but I was keeping on top of important issues) The company has a very high turnover rate - on average I would say this company of approximately 40 employees fires more than 5 employees per year, while still somehow managing to have at least a few long time employees who are very incompetent. "No one's safe" became a half-joking, but common saying in the technology department. Much of the technology used is out of date. They are slowly improving in this respect, though. Some poor design decisions early on have left them with some poor performance, high maintenance tools, with little time or desire to fix them.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A nice place to work, with a fast-paced, sometimes chaotic schedule

    Oct 22, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The atmosphere is very relaxed, but it is important that the work is done correctly, well, and on time. The Salary, while not necessarily up to the standards of larger companies, is fairly competitive. This is especially true considering how small Asset Health is. I have never had any trouble getting time off when I needed it, or with working from home when circumstances called for it. Each time I an issue that needed to be resolved, management has been willing to work with me. Any reasonable request was accommodated. The people here are very nice in general. We have a HSA that Asset Health contributes to on a yearly basis.

    Cons

    There is a LOT of technical debt. The foundation of the system is a little shaky because the company grew very quickly early on, and many new features needed to be thrown together in a hurry. Because the team is so small, any new development often comes at the cost of client work. Of course this means that new development doesn't happen nearly as often as one would like, and even when it does, it happens slowly. This can cause the work schedules to be chaotic, with developers jumping back and forth between small requests from the client services team and new development projects. One other complaint is that a good number of those small client requests do not involve actual software development. Some parts of our system are not easily configurable by non-developers (at least at the moment), which means that the developers need to configure the software for our clients in certain circumstances. Asset Health is self-insured, which means that the deductible on our policy is relatively high. We do have a HSA into which Asset Health contributes a small amount of money, but it doesn't cover much.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Asset Health is Improving and Growing Quickly

    Sep 12, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked in a variety of places, and Asset Health is unique in that there is a real nucleus of people who are truly passionate and dedicated to what they are doing. The leadership at the company is very driven and vision-oriented, but also open to new ideas, and receptive to analyzing and improving processes. At any given time, there are a variety of projects to work on, which makes things interesting. The atmosphere is very open and friendly - the in-office hours are flexible, as long as quality work is finished on time. The culture is definitely positive and things seem to be trending in an even more positive direction as the company grows.

    Cons

    Not much. Client needs are put above all else, which is great for the clients, but sometimes gets in the way of moving forward with standardization and process improvement. Also, while compensation and benefits are good, a 401(k) matching policy would certainly be welcomed.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Asset Health is a great, growing company to work for!

    Jul 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Troy, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of freedom in work schedule--flexible 9-5 workday, and very easy to work from home if needed, time off requests are respected and no worry about scheduling issues (as long as you take care of any outstanding work before leaving, of course). Upper management is very personable and easy to talk to. Client issues (unreasonable requests, last second changes, etc) are dealt with in a way that supports Asset Health employees while fulfilling client needs as well as possible. Pay and benefits are fairly good, the only exception being the 401(k) program (See cons). Company is very quickly growing; my department has grown significantly since I started into a full team of people with a wide range of skills, and we are constantly hiring in all positions with almost no turnover.

    Cons

    Some interdepartmental issues exist, mostly dealing with either clients' requests or lack of communication between departments, but that is fairly minor. 401(k) program is good if you're making a fairly high income, but in my situation (student loan & car payments in addition to regular bills), the contribution needed is too much to reasonably participate. It seems mostly geared toward people who have a spouse with a second income. We can also be our own worst client from time to time, mostly due to very specific visions that upper management has for the company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Asset Health? Share Your Experiences

or

Glassdoor has 23 Asset Health reviews submitted anonymously by Asset Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Asset Health is right for you.