Associated Banc-Corp Universal Banker Reviews | Glassdoor

Associated Banc-Corp Universal Banker Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Associated Banc-Corp CEO Philip B. (Phil) Flynn
Philip B. (Phil) Flynn
7 Ratings
  1. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker in Mundelein, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of room for growth and opportunity! Work hard and promotion is there. Growing company that welcomes and actually will feed off feedback.

    Cons

    Have patience it is a growing company!

    Associated Banc-Corp2019-04-19
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker in Mundelein, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of support from the managers

    Cons

    Hard to advance, long training process

    Advice to Management

    They need to speed up the onboarding process

    Associated Banc-Corp2018-10-27
  3. "Universal banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Associated Banc-Corp full-time

    Pros

    The company has a customer first approach. The sales approach is based on an interview with the customer to find the appropriate products and services for their needs. The Executive team seems to care about their emoloyees all the way down to the teller line. The pay is ok and the benefits are better than most.

    Cons

    The goals are unclear and seem to change quite often. Some branches have a great team atmosphere, while others don't. Mid management has a "what are you doing for me" mentality instead of leading from the front.

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive of your employees, foster a team environment for the whole district instead of every branch for themselves. Open communication. Recognize and reward for accomplishments instead of who can brown nose the best.

    Associated Banc-Corp2017-10-17
  4. "Competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice pay, good employee programs and insurance, good communication, corporate sends out surveys and has town hall meetings almost monthly

    Cons

    Little flexibility for PTO usage in smaller branches, some branches understaffed

    Associated Banc-Corp2017-09-21
  5. "Universal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker in Whitewater, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Associated Banc-Corp

    Pros

    Good people, tend to care about you, if you work hard and stay positive you can move up.

    Cons

    A lot of it is luck when it comes to getting sales, and unfortunately that's how you get your bonus incentive ($$)

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you're doing, keep providing a good service but remember... banking is a service. Do not try to peddle products cause at times I felt like that was what I was doing and it wasn't always in the best interest of the customers (although it can be explained in a way that it was)

    Associated Banc-Corp2017-05-29
  6. "Sales is not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get like 15 days pto with the opportunity to purchase up to 5 more and 8 sick days.

    Cons

    Slow branches with high production thresholds, high deductible healthcare , pay is on the lower side.

    Associated Banc-Corp2017-03-02
  7. "Great Company! Need to be self starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to work independently, can truly create own pace and work environment, I like the Associated offers a base pay as well as a quarterly commission.

    Cons

    really need to be a part of a team that is committed to the numbers in order to succeed. your team is everything. you are only as good as your manager/other bankers/tellers are.

    Associated Banc-Corp2016-07-22
  8. "Universal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp

    Pros

    The amount of PTO you get is a really great benefit. Also its a really great work environment.

    Cons

    Policies are different from branch to branch or district. Management can be hard to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Dont always point out only your weaknesses. Improve on schedules.

    Associated Banc-Corp2016-07-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Universal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp part-time

    Pros

    I enjoy the benefit of being able to work on both the teller line and as a banker on the platform side because I am able to fully service customer needs. I also have the unique advantage over Relationship Bankers because I am able to identify sales and service opportunities from the teller line and then execute them as banker.

    Cons

    As a part-time Universal Banker at a high volume branch, I've learned that I can only succeed at both roles when we are fully staffed on the teller line. Since the beginning of my employment there has been high turnover on the teller line which pulls me away from my banker duties. As a banker, you need to cultivate and maintain relationships with new and existing customers which is not possible if most of your time is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Universal banker role is an essential as a liaison between tellers and bankers and should be compensated and supported as such.

    Associated Banc-Corp2016-05-20
  10. "Weak Structure / Uncaring Corporate CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Associated Banc-Corp

    Pros

    Pay, Manager, Location, Chicago Metro Retail Branches, Easy Accessibility for guests

    Cons

    CEO is uncaring and very corporate, CEO restructured the company for the worse, No longer a full service bank, CEO encourages employees to pursue wealthy clientele and lack supporting lower income and diverse families

    Associated Banc-Corp2016-04-14
Found 13 reviews