Astoria Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Astoria Bank Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Monte N. Redman
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good starting point, you can learn a lot(in 5 reviews)

  • "hours are great, health benefits are fantastic, great cowokers(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "High stress environment for a very low pay(in 6 reviews)

  • "Impossible to reach monthly sales goals(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time

    Pros

    Excellent HR Department Bonus potential Good management training program

    Cons

    Need to promote more from within

    Astoria Bank2017-08-23
  2. "Astoria Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time

    Pros

    Knowledgeable staff, professional atmosphere, nice location

    Cons

    Pay grades are too low

    Astoria Bank2018-10-31
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Now it has merged with Sterling National, I do not know their present working environment. I enjoyed working there

    Cons

    It is now Sterling National Bank, I do not know current situation

    Astoria Bank2018-10-08
  4. "Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Lake Success, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Comfortable working conditions. Friendly Employees.

    Cons

    Little room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Better training.

    Astoria Bank2018-08-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible antiquanted organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Lake Success, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organization was purchased by another bank

    Cons

    Everything else about the organization: exceptionally poor management and leadership; lied to employees about sale of the company; example: could only get a free cup of coffee on Fridays if: 1 - you wore the company pin 2 - you used the company cup 3 - you wore a blue shirt. The sad thing is that I'm not making this up.

    Astoria Bank2018-03-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Old Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Success, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Co-workers generally stuck together and supported eachother

    Cons

    Toxic Management and hostile work environment

    Advice to Management

    Get over yourselves

    Astoria Bank2017-12-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and working schedule (8:30-4:45). Management listen's to staff and has open door policy.

    Cons

    There is no paid maternity leave. PTO policy isn't generous unless with the company for over 5 years.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to involve staff in

    Astoria Bank2017-09-27
  8. "License Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time

    Pros

    It is an excellent environment to work in

    Cons

    the promoted employees can be treated a little better

    Astoria Bank2017-08-06
  9. "Business Banking Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Astoria Bank part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Small goal oriented company

    Cons

    In process of merging

    Advice to Management

    -

    Astoria Bank2017-08-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Overall, the company is good to work for, but like any other company, it all depends on your manager.

    Cons

    Company is very antiquated.

    Astoria Bank2017-07-27
Found 113 reviews