Astoria Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Astoria Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Monte N. Redman
10 Ratings
  1. "Assistant Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time

    Pros

    Excellent HR Department Bonus potential Good management training program

    Cons

    Need to promote more from within

    Astoria Bank2017-08-23
  2. "License Personal Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time

    Pros

    It is an excellent environment to work in

    Cons

    the promoted employees can be treated a little better

    Astoria Bank2017-08-06
  3. "Enhanced Due Diligence Investigator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enhanced Due Diligence Investigator in Jericho, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family, community, amazing, friendly, professional, treats employees with respect

    Cons

    To be honest, there isn't much to complain about. Wonderful company to work for

    Astoria Bank2017-01-26
  4. "Supervisor, Loan Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Jericho, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Astoria Bank

    Pros

    Astoria Bank is a great company to work for, there is opportunity to gain exposure and to learn about all parts of the operation. The entire CRE department has always worked well together, it really feels like a family.

    Cons

    Due to the recent Astoria Bank merger there is low job security.

    Astoria Bank2016-10-12
  5. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Success, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Have always been given the opportunity to learn new things, and take on additional responsibilities. I've been mentored and taught by some of the best in the banking industry. Was always spoken to with respect. Co-workers and other employees are terrific, and have become like family.

    Cons

    None, really, other than the company being acquired...

    Astoria Bank2016-08-26
  6. "Great place sorry to see it go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Director in Lake Success, NY

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere very good people and a stable company

    Cons

    There really wasn't much in the way of cons. Unfortunately they sold to another bank

    Advice to Management

    Really wish management would have kept the shop I think we could have made it

    Astoria Bank2016-04-16
  7. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Astoria Bank

    Pros

    Great people, great management, great everything

    Cons

    Bad pay, bad advancement, bad

    Astoria Bank2014-10-28
  8. "Working for AFS was a great experience- it's a company I was proud to work for, giving back to the community and workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Lake Success, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Astoria Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, able to get out of the office once in a while, was challenged and supported by coworkers, gave me my first taste of the business world - which was a good one.

    Cons

    as an intern/seasonal worker there were little opportunities for me to take when my time was up, most open positions are in the branches and not the corporate office, could be monotonous, could have a whole day with no human contact, all work was done on a computer.

    Astoria Bank2012-10-09
  9. "Great place to work great company great co workers all my years there was awesome A pleasure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Licensed Personal Banker in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Astoria Bank

    Pros

    everything was great, best job ever

    Cons

    Salary discretion is not given to management for those employees with great performance

    Advice to Management

    Be competitive in salaries

    Astoria Bank2012-02-23
  10. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in
    Recommends

    I worked at Astoria Bank

    Pros

    very interesting place to work. bank closes early from monday through thursday making it possible to attend to other personal issues

    Cons

    very frequent turnover with staff. good company to work if you want to proceed into management . they have a program

    Advice to Management

    when in the management associate program, managent should limit travel to home county and not having to travel the 5 counties which makes it difficult for especially mothers

    Astoria Bank2010-04-25
Found 113 reviews