Astoria Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Astoria Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Monte N. Redman
10 Ratings
  1. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Elmhurst, NY

    I worked at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family environment Great customer base

    Cons

    Not changing fast enough to attract younger affluent clientele

    Astoria Bank2017-01-17
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Astoria Bank full-time

      Pros

      They paid for education on a grade scale.

      Cons

      They are merging with NYCB which usually means they were bought out.

      Astoria Bank2016-12-06
    • "Supervisor, Loan Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supervisor in Jericho, NY
      Recommends

      I have been working at Astoria Bank

      Pros

      Astoria Bank is a great company to work for, there is opportunity to gain exposure and to learn about all parts of the operation. The entire CRE department has always worked well together, it really feels like a family.

      Cons

      Due to the recent Astoria Bank merger there is low job security.

      Astoria Bank2016-10-12
    • "Astoria review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Assistant Director of Mortgage Systems, First Assistant Vice President in Coram, NY
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Astoria Bank for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good group of people to work with

        Cons

        Unknown and trepidation from merger

        Astoria Bank2016-10-10
      • "Small Bank"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Astoria Bank

        Pros

        value customers and employees. Good work/life balance.

        Cons

        no room for growth

        Astoria Bank2016-10-05
      • "Excellent Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Success, NY
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Have always been given the opportunity to learn new things, and take on additional responsibilities. I've been mentored and taught by some of the best in the banking industry. Was always spoken to with respect. Co-workers and other employees are terrific, and have become like family.

        Cons

        None, really, other than the company being acquired...

        Astoria Bank2016-08-26
      • Helpful (1)

        "Not a happy camper"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Astoria Bank

        Pros

        i cannot think of any at the moment its a job I guess

        Cons

        Unreasonable management that have no clue how the branches run yet are know it alls.

        Advice to Management

        Treat your staff with respect and dignity and they will shine for you otherwise it lowers morale and hurts results.

        Astoria Bank2016-09-29
      • Helpful (1)

        "Sinking Ship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Success, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        None to speak of these days

        Cons

        Bank has been sold. People leaving, Management mailing it in. No leadership or direction for the last 4-5 years.

        Advice to Management

        None. They have cashed out.

        Astoria Bank2016-08-31
      • "Systems Coordinator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Success, NY

          I have been working at Astoria Bank full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Good people, room for growth, willing to educate

          Cons

          growth is limited past a certain point, company being sold.

          Astoria Bank2016-07-18
        • Helpful (2)

          "Teller"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Teller in Rego Park, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook

          I worked at Astoria Bank for less than a year

          Pros

          Great training and HR, good life work balance.

          Cons

          Poor management and lack of professionalism at the branch.

          Astoria Bank2016-06-21
        Found 113 reviews