AstraZeneca Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

AstraZeneca Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 213 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
AstraZeneca CEO Pascal Soriot
Pascal Soriot
93 Ratings
  1. Helpful (23)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee benefits and perks, we have a very nice facility with awesome services, the company spends so much on employees in training and development. Probably the most important to me is Diversity and Inclusion, making AZ a safe place out of discrimination in any sense and you can bring yourself to work everyday.

    Cons

    Work is very fast paced and some seasons it's hard to have a work-life balance. It's normal anywhere I guess...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    AstraZeneca2018-08-06
  2. "Nice environment and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of nice people, the environment is pleasant and stress-free

    Cons

    working with some vendors like ZS could be problematic

    AstraZeneca2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Restructures often"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with some nice people.

    Cons

    A lot of people left due to politics or layoffs

    AstraZeneca2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poorly run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salaries are competitive; strong brand name, good benefits

    Cons

    The company has gone through many layoffs. This is due to a number of factors, which include lagging behind competitors with new products, internal disorganization, inability to get key drugs approved. People work in silos and are often rude.

    AstraZeneca2019-06-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company - lot of new people creating a positive work environment.

    Cons

    Many inexperienced people at higher positions

    Advice to Management

    Promote proven leaders with right experience

    AstraZeneca2019-06-04
  6. "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good for the most part

    Cons

    People are promoted based on a highschool like process.

    Advice to Management

    Build an environment of meritocracy.

    AstraZeneca2019-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Money- Bad work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay/some nice people/ 401k/great pipeline

    Cons

    No work life balance Use old bell curve for evaluation Ruthless management

    Advice to Management

    They won’t listen or care to hear anything against themselves.

    AstraZeneca2019-05-04
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovative and expanding. Like any company, your director manager determines a lot about your experience. I have had a majority of good people as managers.

    Cons

    MedImmune and AZ business is still divided, There is some disparity in pay based on the team that you are working for..driven by markets I'm sure.

    Advice to Management

    More work from home arragements

    AstraZeneca2018-05-01
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible work environment, cut throat and uninspiring."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job provides a steady paycheck.

    Cons

    Tedious repetitive processes that are constantly changing and re-organization. . Chronic understaffing and high turnover. Nothing done to retain employees. Benefits continually being cut.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better. Don’t cut benefits and compensation. Don’t revise your ratings system every year so that employees work harder but get worse ratings and less compensation. Stop trying to save money by outsourcing to countries with low wages, in the long run it’s more costly.

    AstraZeneca2018-05-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "AZ Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable, Strong product line providing significant patient benefits. Strong core values. North American leadership has a clear long-term strategic vision that has proven effective and provided a well-engineered return to growth.

    Cons

    Rapid leadership succession in field sales leadership often leaves sales reps confused about strategic direction as each leader has different key priorities. This also leaves individuals feeling undervalued and frequently struggling to reproved their worth.

    Advice to Management

    Mandatory minimum tenure for sales leaders.

    AstraZeneca2018-03-08
Found 213 reviews