AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals Sales Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

AstraZeneca Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
AstraZeneca CEO Pascal Soriot
Pascal Soriot
41 Ratings
  1. "Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Flagstaff, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Work/Life Balance, Freedom, Trust, Your Ideas are listened to.

    Cons

    Lots of travel depending on territory.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2018-05-02
  2. "AZ ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pipeline in Oncology and Respiratory Biologics

    Cons

    Primary Care future uncertain. Goals setting and attainment is suppose to be transparent but is very confusing and always changing. Collection of interim sales data poor and does not match actual end reports. Don't have an idea either or be prepared to have it shot down

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2019-07-08
  3. "Terrible Senior Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great counterparts and DMs.

    Cons

    Below average salary, dishonest and incompetent leadership, inconsistent and unrealistic goals, not much growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2018-12-27
  4. "AstraZeneca Diabetes field sales representative review from a level 4 Executive PSS and 2017 COE winner."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Sedona, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Freedom to work your Territory as you know best. I have a great manager who coaches very well.

    Cons

    The Managed Care environment is very restrictive this year and the physician’s Time is more and more limited in general in my field. I think the IT solutions at AstraZeneca need a serious revamping. We have way too many different sites and platforms. We should be all Apple based. Currently we do some functions on computer and others on iPad and it is a mess. Not effective or efficient.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2018-05-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The R&D invests in quality products. They are marketing experts. Most generous patient assistance program.

    Cons

    Bad communications between company and field. Disconnected company culture.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2017-09-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Hostile enviornment. Checkbox culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits right out of college.

    Cons

    The PSS role at AZ quickly becomes mundane and boring. If you are okay with a checkbox culture with few opportunities for creativity or critical thinking then the PSS role at AZ is for you.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2017-08-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A "sales job" with very little to do with selling anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Carbondale, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    The pay is decent and the job is inconceivably easy. A pharma rep that tells you they work hard is either extremely naive about what it means to work or is a very dishonest pharma rep.

    Cons

    Instability of the company and industry is the worst part. I can't imagine going back to an industry where layoff worries are a constant concern. Stay away from this industry.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2017-03-10
  8. "Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Short hours and no weekends.

    Cons

    No room for movement or advancement for promotions and/or raises.

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2017-03-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very innovative products for patient care

    Cons

    Management did not appreciate consistent years of service

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2017-02-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Changes in leadership, no confidence in future direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great benefits, lots of resources for development. A good place to learn about the environment of pharmaceuticals. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Poor recent leadership. There is concern about the direction of current leadership and ability to deliver on lofty goals to back fill loss of crestor and nexium

    Continue reading
    AstraZeneca2017-01-16
Found 89 reviews