AstraZeneca Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

AstraZeneca Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
AstraZeneca CEO Pascal Soriot
Pascal Soriot
50 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AstraZeneca for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Patient focuses company with some good upper management but falling victims to weak pipeline Good salary and has good benefits

    Cons

    Some micromanagement and unrealistic execution expectations. They are not in good synchronization with field based job

    Advice to Management

    Keep a better touch what is appending on the field and their struggles with an ever changing culture of formulary restrictions and access issues

    AstraZeneca2016-05-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Primary care rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Primary Care Sales Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    Flexible hours, company car, gas card, 401 k match

    Cons

    You have little to no controls of your business and market. Dr's try to use your meds but managed care dictates what they can use. It's NOT a sales job anymore! I have NEVER made my full bonus and I am a really good rep.

    Advice to Management

    Give attainable sales goals!

    AstraZeneca2016-05-23
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid benefits, nice colleagues, competitive salary.

    Cons

    Too many field visits with management.

    AstraZeneca2015-12-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cardiovascular Specialty Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialty Sales Representative in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable Salary and Benefits, all AZ products are free to AZ employees so that is nice. Good place to start in Pharma

    Cons

    Moving up to performance levels is very political.. One manager will raise a mediocre rep to a next level usually based on time with company other Mangers expect much much more and deny deserving exemplary worker with great sales, great reviews just because they don't want to appear to easy to other managers, and so reps won't ask for increases in salary

    Advice to Management

    Managers should be advocates for their reps ...more transparency between reps managers and executive management..good reps will leave if you don't stay competative with base salary compared to other big pharma companies

    AstraZeneca2015-12-13
  5. "Executive Specialty Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Executive Cardiovascular Specialty Sales Representative in Manchester, NH

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits and strong senior leadership

    Cons

    weak pipeline in place for Cardiovascular products

    AstraZeneca2015-11-12
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialty Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career development opportunities, high base salary, working for a large bio-pharma company, flexibility, company car, (mostly) good management

    Cons

    Working for a large bio-pharma company (change can be slow), bonuses not reflective of work but instead insurance coverage of products, tech issues (poor intranet with awful search capabilities, sites you need to access are often down, AstraZeneca is slashing reimbursement for cell phones and internet-which is already lower than competing companies

    Advice to Management

    Continue to offer developmental opportunities for your employees without having to move to the East Coast. Do not cut reimbursement for necessary business use (cell phones, internet, etc) or you will loose people which cost the company much more in the long run.

    AstraZeneca2015-10-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. Diabetes Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Great support with sales tools and budget. Great benefits. 401K, profit sharing, commission, and award points. I love my manager and that makes the job.

    Cons

    Micromanaged by metrics rather than driving sales. Takes a long time to build up vacation. Field technology systems are cumbersome. Analysis systems are subpar to the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Allow reps to manage their territories to drive business rather than by metric. Get better systems for tool rather than Simon and Custhub.

    AstraZeneca2015-07-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Pharmaceutical Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmaceuticals Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for many years at AZ. They are trying to improve the culture. The technology is cutting edge. we have a strong pipeline

    Cons

    i am in my 3rd year in a row of not getting a decent bonus because the goal setting and compensation plan is terrible There are not many opportunities for development.

    Advice to Management

    Try to create environment of trust and that you value your employees. Review the compensation plan. I understand a forced rank, zero sum game saves you money, but there are certain market conditions, geographies, and managed care conditions that make it very demotivating to know that you are not only fighting against your goal, but against the nation. You can scratch and claw to get to 101% to plan with a lofty goal...

    Show More
    AstraZeneca2015-07-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Treated me well even through the layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lancaster, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    most of my managers were determined to help me succeed, received a raise every year I was there

    Cons

    corporate America rules, Upper management was not very friendly

    AstraZeneca2015-03-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "AZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Respiratory Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    Some good people and good products. Respiratory pipeline is decent! Good opportunity to understand how to change prescribing habits.

    Cons

    Somewhat unrealistic goal-setting at times. Somewhat of a me-too mentality when it comes to culture and style. Making mistakes that companies were making many years ago!

    Advice to Management

    Touch the field more! Understand local problems!

    AstraZeneca2015-01-07
Found 119 reviews