AstraZeneca Senior Director Reviews | Glassdoor

AstraZeneca Senior Director Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
AstraZeneca CEO Pascal Soriot
Pascal Soriot
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    people development, teaching ground, collaborative environment

    Cons

    lots of governance, management change, lower pay that competition

    AstraZeneca2019-06-26
  2. "Reorg Reorg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director 

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Location, pay, fabulous onsite gym and other amenities

    Cons

    Watch out for your back. Reorg after Reorg

    AstraZeneca2019-02-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "An exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AstraZeneca ticks every one of the boxes I value as a great place to work: true focus on the patient, an exciting innovative pipeline, staff that works together as a team (family), focus on success of the drug pipeline but also the individual AZ associate, multiple career paths that evolve with time to meet the needs of the day. Management asks the associates for their vision of the future and take their suggestions...

    Show More

    Cons

    We are victims of our own success, we have had an incredible success rate with data read-outs and submissions. We need more like minded people to help up on our quest to help patients!

    AstraZeneca2018-08-03
  4. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong science basis, excellent drug pipeline

    Cons

    Overworked and short staffed. Has been an issue for many years but not addressed. Poor leadership and management in some functions.

    AstraZeneca2018-06-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Be Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great medicines, many great people, good comp and benefits program

    Cons

    Do not value people - too many people let go. The financial situation should not be a surprise so they should not have been hiring and then turning around and letting people go. It demonstrates a lack of sensitivity to people and their families.

    Advice to Management

    Demonstrate more of a commitment to employees by not hiring just to reduce months later, better staff planning

    AstraZeneca2017-01-11
  6. "AstraZeneca is a good place to advance as manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good core values, generally good opportunities for career development, decent compensation, generally OK benefits, good colleagues, potential for growth, recently improved project portfolio

    Cons

    Currently the only real chance for career advancement is in managerial positions, scientific ladder is very much unappreciated and can only lead to limited advancement. This is a problem for the company as best and most ambitious scientists are incentivized to leave the bench and move into management

    Advice to Management

    I would pay more attention to career possibilities within scientific ladder, a brilliant but also ambitious scientist should not feel that becoming a line manager is the only safe option for career and pay-grade advancement.

    AstraZeneca2016-08-12
  7. "Good humane values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Civil working environment, good pipeline. Value science, patients and employees. Honest environment

    Cons

    Going through some tough time. But will come out of it

    Advice to Management

    Value by employees is what motivated gates people. Keep that going

    AstraZeneca2015-10-25
  8. "satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, robust science

    Cons

    very large - uncertainty about pipeline

    AstraZeneca2014-08-01
  9. "Progessive company and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director IT in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The CIO really wanted to make positive changes

    Cons

    The downside was the confusion of working under AZ's shadow.

    Advice to Management

    Decide how Medimmune will be managed and stick with it.

    AstraZeneca2014-03-19
  10. "Sr Director of Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Director in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay and benefits are good as well

    Cons

    Horrid culture, continually cutting jobs , poor leadership

    Advice to Management

    Need more accountability at the brand and better leadership

    AstraZeneca2013-12-30
Found 18 reviews