AstraZeneca "pipeline" Reviews | Glassdoor

AstraZeneca Employee Reviews about "pipeline"

Updated Jan 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
AstraZeneca CEO Pascal Soriot
Pascal Soriot
1,040 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pipeline"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Opportunity for growth, new experiences, and global working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Smart and engaged coworkers Entrepreneurial for a big company Great benefits and time off allowance

    Cons

    New pipeline showing signs of weakness

    AstraZeneca2017-02-22
  2. "Great place to work ten years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmaceutical Sales Representative in Santa Rosa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Average salary, great benefits - 6% 401k match

    Cons

    Sales data dubious, culture is very negative, no strong leadership, weak pipeline.

    Advice to Management

    Improve formula for calculating COE so that it is a fair comparison, bring back some fun and motivating culture... it will help people want to sell for you again and retain the good employees.

    AstraZeneca2019-01-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    The pay is good, and the Medical Benefits are pretty reasonable

    Cons

    Comp plans are horribly, Mid Level Mgrs are sub-par, pipeline for Cardiology is drying up, and the company has sold off almost all of its Corporate Headquarters Buildings in Delaware so ther's no sense of a feeling of growth and development, and innovation rather a lot of downsizing, and desperation!!!

    Advice to Management

    Invest in YOUR Good people so they won't feel compelled to go outside the company to advance their career!!! And embrace diversity and stand up for ALL people all inclusive of EVERYONE! And stop pretending to say you put patients first.

    AstraZeneca2018-11-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "For a Pharma company doesn't care about health of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca

    Pros

    Lots of job opportunities as there seems to be high turnover. Big Pharma so some people are able to hide and get away without doing anything as I've seen first hand.

    Cons

    The worst company I've ever worked at, they are so disorganized and some people have no idea what they are doing. Talking to Hr is a joke as they are part of the problem. They do not care about employees and in fact encourage people to leave. They think people should be lined up to join their company. They don't have a strong pipeline as some of the drugs they were counting on have not panned out the way they... wanted. They know how to spin stories to their advantage. I would never recommend this company to anyone knowing what I know now. I should have trusted my gut before joining this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with the truth don't lie and cover up.

    AstraZeneca2017-12-20
  5. "Speciality Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, good products, good benefits

    Cons

    pipeline, senior management, constant change

    Advice to Management

    fix pipline, remain nimble, consistent leadership

    AstraZeneca2017-05-03
  6. "AZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and good culture

    Cons

    Patent cliffs and pipeline risks

    Advice to Management

    Focus on growth and pipeline

    AstraZeneca2017-04-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company that is beginning to flounder."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are great. The greatest loss for me will be not working with my colleagues anymore.

    Cons

    Pipeline falling short of expectation. Since losing the three largest contribution product patents, there has been little to make up for the loss. Diabetes portfolio is a performing poorly, Advair will soon be generic which means respiratory market will erode for Symbicort and the Oncology products -though innovative- can't make up the $$.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on motivating your people and demonstrating leadership in the face of uncertainty.

    AstraZeneca2017-02-14
  8. "It was fun working at AstraZeneca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager GLP&RQA in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, Health, Gym, Daycare, Atmosphere

    Cons

    High Pressure, changing pipeline priorities

    Advice to Management

    Move to the MedImmune stle

    AstraZeneca2017-01-30
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time

    Pros

    High standards and good reputation

    Cons

    Future success depends on the pipeline

    AstraZeneca2017-01-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Business Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AstraZeneca full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Very good benefits (6% match on 401k plus another 3% to 7% company pension contribution, depending on age & tenure, without employee contribution required) -Good pay -Good pipeline especially in oncology -Good products

    Cons

    -Pipeline is very weak outside of oncology -Big pharma mentality (although not as bad as some other big pharma companies, a lot depends on your direct manager and his manager) -A lot of big revenue products have and will go off patent soon -Sales employees have to pay $160 per month for personal use of company car -Cost of health insurance has gone up in the past few years but AZ still pays approximately 90% of... the cost

    Show More
    AstraZeneca2017-01-14
Found 78 reviews