Asuragen Reviews | Glassdoor

Asuragen Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Asuragen CEO Matt McManus
Matt McManus
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Innovative and fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asuragen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is small (~200) but it is growing quickly and which is always a good sign. Everyone I work with is down to earth, intelligent, and always willing to help if you ask for it. I really believe the senior management wants to foster an innovative and inviting work space so people can grow professionally and foster hard work and dedication for out products. They seem to really care about the well being of... their employees. I really enjoy working here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to grow professionally in a fun and growing company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a small company that is growing quickly can cause some processes and operations to be inefficient or frustrating when operating on a larger scale than it was intended. Hiring dedicated project managers (they are working on this) would streamline project trajectories and provide for better communication between departments. Lab managers or facilities personnel who's sole responsibility is to organize laboratory... operations, ordering equipment, maintaining instruments would allow the research and development teams to actually focus on their tasks at hand and play a more efficient role in product development.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More PTO/work holidays/etc. This may seem obtuse, but previous biotech companies I have worked for allowed for much more time off which made for more dedicated employees and more efficient use of their time when they were in the workplace. Those companies took on a more european approach to work life balance which seemed to significantly increased productivity and appreciation for the company. Other companies do... things like half days on Fridays, or 9 or 10 hour workdays so the business is closed every other or every Friday off so employees can spend time with their families/go to the DMV. Think about how much money we could save on electricity!

    Show More
    Asuragen2017-09-28

    Asuragen Response

    June 24, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to focus on providing a competitive total rewards package that includes creative, flexible programs that meet the diverse needs of our employees.

  2. Helpful (6)

    "Aggressive, dominating management - Low pay - Employees become scapegoats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Asuragen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's in South Austin by Catfish Parlor

    Cons

    There was a personality test given to employees and the management all came up as aggressive and dominant type. They pay people what was barely acceptable in the 90's. The founder's success with Ambion is the only reason this company exists, since it's not profitable.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to sell the company off and invest in the employees and processes they need so desperately.

    Asuragen2019-06-20

    Asuragen Response

    June 30, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback. We’ve worked hard over the past few years to move toward a strengths-based approach to talent management, anchored around the pillar of our core values, “Be the Best Version of You.” In line with that approach, we have used CliftonStrengths with some teams ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (4)

    "A mixed experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asuragen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of great, caring employees working to produce products that help people. Salary and benefits are solid but not exceptional. Good autonomy in day to day activities.

    Cons

    Very high turnover. Managment gives positive feedback to keep people happy while treating employees (promotions, growth opportunities) very differently and without explanation.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with employees instead of trying to protect their feelings. Employees can tell when they are not getting the full story

    Asuragen2019-04-19

    Asuragen Response

    June 24, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback. We will take the advice to heart and continue to focus on employee retention and effective employee communications.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits / Total Package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Asuragen full-time

    Pros

    By the visibility we have the company works hard to keep our benefits very competitive. Still a low deductible plan and affordable for employee.

    Cons

    Dependent premiums are a little high but manageable.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work with the providers and keep quality insurance subsidized for employees.

    Asuragen2018-11-18

    Asuragen Response

    June 24, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Our total compensation philosophy is to align programs that attract and retain the employees we need to meet our business objectives. Having affordable, flexible benefit programs that a meet the needs of a diverse workforce is important. Thank you sharing your thoughts on the importance ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (9)

    "High turn over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asuragen full-time

    Pros

    Smart people in Research and Development- but are we working on products that have any significant upside in sales

    Cons

    High turn over rate- especially in the sales team. I have never seen a company that loses valuable employees and so many- surprised the Board doesn't ask Senior Management why the turn over rate is so high. If you are considering joining investigate and ask questions!

    Advice to Management

    Several employees have been invited into a conference room and 15 minutes later are walked out- some of these have worked here for many years, I question all the glowing reports I see- the internal feeling is different.

    Asuragen2017-11-08

    Asuragen Response

    June 24, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We will continue our commitment to creating a positive work environment and increasing employee retention.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asuragen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people / team of people at Asuragen are a great group, dedicated, hardworking, engaged, friendly and helpful. Management is accessible and make an effort to implement business and employee friendly policies and decisions

    Cons

    As the sayings go, keep it simple stupid and if it ain't broke don't fix it. The strong knowledge base of the employees can and is stymied at times by the implementation of 'the next great thing'. There is a tendency towards constant innovation, which is not always driven by best practices / research and is instead seems more driven by the desire to change things. More trust in what employee's are saying are the... best ideas or what is most useful / needed, and less belief that this 'new idea' will revolutionize or improve the business / culture. Needless and frequent changes and overbearing policies create an sense of distrust and instability and in turn lowers productivity and an employee's sense of security.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clear communication is necessary, which is often done, but not always. Input from employees about issues that directly affect them should have the highest priority when making decisions, rather then dependence on the greatest ' new idea'; meaning there should be a preponderance of evidence / reasons for implementing the 'new idea' over voiced objections. Streamlining meetings, or making them much more regular and... thus predictable (if company wide meetings or trainings occur, only on Fri mornings, meeting free Tuesdays to allow for uninterrupted work days).

    Show More
    Asuragen2017-09-21

    Asuragen Response

    June 24, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.

  7. "Awesome place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Architect in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Asuragen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really smart people, a lot of opportunity for growth, always encouraged to be innovative, think big, and create something new. Competitive salary and benefits with other major tech companies. 100% self motivating work environment. Learn a lot of things and challenging work.

    Cons

    You're responsible for your own career progression and finding the places and teams that are doing the stuff you want to do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Make more employee friendly policies, I know you guys have started in this direction but there is a long way to go still.

    Asuragen2017-05-12

    Asuragen Response

    July 10, 2017Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback and sage advice. We can never lose focus on our team members and eliminating any barriers in the way of achieving our fullest potential.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Home based field sales employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asuragen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great support resources to assist with highly complex fully kitted assays. -Strong leadership at the top. -Executive team willing to get our there in front of customers. -Small Sales group. We all get along great. -Asuragen Fully kitted assays blow the competition away. Best in class workflows. -The best molecular development scientists in the business. -Competitive base salary.Fair bonus compensation.... -Tech support at Asuragen is the best I've ever experienced. Excellent follow up to completion. Highly skilled group led by someone who really cares about our customers -Hiring more sales people in the field is good. More feet on the street. -Much better HR support in last year. Better recognition programs to reward top perfomers.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Slowly becoming more of a commercial organization. A few bumps along the way but that's what it's like working for a small growing company. -Need to get more folks in the field listening to customers but that's on us sales people -Some turnover but that is expected. Sometimes it's hard to keep good talent because folks get lured away by grass being greener thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more sales people. More calls, more opportunities = more sales.

    Asuragen2017-04-18

    Asuragen Response

    July 10, 2017Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience - both what we're doing well and where we need to improve. Your suggestion is right on target as we continue into another year of growth.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "A good work environment, a positive trajectory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asuragen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are friendly, helpful, and easy to work with. There are a lot of great scientists and smart people in Research and Development. The company is growing and seems to be on a positive trajectory. Contrary to other reviews, I actually find the senior management to be pretty open and interested in my success and perspective. I also appreciated that my unique skills were taken into account in order to... allow me to contribute to a wide variety of projects, even outside my department. I also think the benefits here are quite good.

    Show More

    Cons

    One word: communication. I often find that different departments and individuals are on different pages as far as project timelines, approach, and goals. I think that more effective communication would also address some of the issues mentioned elsewhere. This can make it difficult to plan and execute.

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow, it will become increasingly important to address communication issues. I think we need to improve the way decisions are made as far as project deadlines and prioritization, and make sure that key individuals down to the project leads from each department are involved in those decisions.

    Asuragen2017-03-30

    Asuragen Response

    April 12, 2017Head of Human Resources

    I strongly believe that the viewpoint of every member of the Asuragen community has value. The perspectives of individuals that have joined the company relatively recently, like yourself, are particularly insightful. I’m glad that you see what I see: People who are bright, open-minded, ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (8)

    "So bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Asuragen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were cupcakes once, and they were delicious.

    Cons

    Badly managed, horribly run and everyone is underpaid. Also, they will sabotage your chances if you try to leave. I've worked at chain restaurants who treat their employees better.

    Asuragen2017-05-08
Found 34 reviews