KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Asymmetrik

Is this your company?

Asymmetrik

Add a Review

Asymmetrik Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 38 reviews

4.9
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Asymmetrik  CEO Michael J. Frentz (no image)
Michael J. Frentz
23 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Amazing benefits(in 8 reviews)
  • "Management is accessible and will work with you on any issues you bring up.(in 4 reviews)
  • "The work is stimulating and challenging, and the culture is friendly, welcoming, and relaxed.(in 2 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place

    Mar 23, 2022 - Engineer-In-Training 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lots of free food and drink!

    Cons

    Can't work from home for now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A job as well as a family

    Jul 2, 2021 - Office Administrator in Jessup, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    During my employment at Asymmetrik, I have received nothing short of a fun, warm welcome. We’re a tight knit community but we come from such a diverse background that although we’re very different from each other, it feels like being apart of a family. The work here is challenging enough to push you, but also help you grow, develop, and thrive. I love working here and am committed to a long, prosperous future with this company. Our mascot, Farley, is a black sheep for a reason: we are not like our competitors, we do things very differently, we are the outliers, and it’s just an overall great experience.

    Cons

    As to be expected, the work here is fast paced, but that is not necessarily a con. It teaches discipline, prioritizing, and execution.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    High performance culture

    Aug 22, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues here are intelligent, personable, and highly motivated, you will find no shortage of skill or ability from this company. Benefits are unmatched by similar companies in the area. There is a diversity of work available for both cleared and un-cleared engineers.

    Cons

    The organization is pretty flat, which can be good on one hand, but on the other hand, it doesn't offer a clearly defined path for advancement and career growth.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Asymmetrik Response

    Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review! We're happy that you're enjoying your experience at Asymmetrik. We do pride ourselves on hiring people who are not only smart and capable, but also humble and nice to be around!

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture and people

    Oct 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The biggest reason to stay is the culture and the people

    Cons

    Growing pains felt by any small company transition to a large

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jul 7, 2021 - Office Administrator in Jessup, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly people, fun environment, and excellent interactions.

    Cons

    Absolutely none, everything so far has been nothing short of a rewarding experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    May 19, 2021 - Human Resources Administrator in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone here is very friendly and helpful!

    Cons

    I'm going to gain weight with all the free snacks and drinks in the kitchen!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Small Company Feel in a Growing Company

    Apr 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diverse group of people with diverse educational backgrounds, work experiences Fun activities during and after work Leadership team that cares

    Cons

    Communication can be slow at times, but that occurs with most jobs

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Asymmetrik Response

    Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review! We truly believe that by hiring employees with diverse experiences and backgrounds, we can build great teams and more importantly, learn from one another.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company culture

    May 15, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues, outstanding benefits, meaningful work

    Cons

    None to speak of glassdoor

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Asymmetrik Response

    Brand Manager

    Awesome! We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your time here. We might be biased, but we 100% agree with you on the amazing colleagues. :)

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Dec 10, 2020 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working spaces and work flexibility

    Cons

    i dont have any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love coming to work every day!

    Sep 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of companies will tell you that they're different, but when you look inside, it's more of the same. After working in the defense industry for years, this company is a breath of fresh air. Every employee gets their choice of PC or a Mac Book Pro (most people are on Mac), they run on the Google ecosystem, and their office is modern and bright, created with a strong eye towards design. They have a fully stocked kitchen with every kind of beverage and snack you can think of (even a beer fridge). While other companies in this space have these amenities, it's usually hard to take advantage if you work on a customer site. Since a lot of Asymmetrik's work is unclass, there are plenty of developers working in the main office, so the environment is energetic and fun. Super collaborative too, since we all use Google Drive and Slack. Leadership is the real deal---they have a modern mindset, they truly listen and there's no red tape (we're under 60 employees, so there shouldn't be). Ex: they already had maternity leave, but they added paternity leave to their benefits after employees suggested it. If this wasn't enough, they probably have the best benefits in the business---15% company 401K contribution, bonuses, 100% healthcare coverage you and your family, employee stock plan and competitive salaries. Love, love, LOVE Asymmetrik!

    Cons

    Everyone here is so smart (they have a difficult technical interview), that it pushes you to keep up to date with the latest technologies. It's not a con necessarily, but if you're looking for a place where you can hide among the ranks, this is not the place for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Asymmetrik Reviews FAQs

Asymmetrik has an overall rating of 4.9 out of 5, based on over 38 reviews left anonymously by employees. 94% of employees would recommend working at Asymmetrik to a friend and 95% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Asymmetrik employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Asymmetrik . This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

94% of Asymmetrik employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Asymmetrik 4.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.9 for culture and values and 4.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Asymmetrik to be career development, management, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, compensation.

Popular Careers with Asymmetrik Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Asymmetrik ? Share Your Experiences

or

Asymmetrik Photos

+ Add Photo
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
Asymmetrik  photo of: Bowie Baysox Night 2021
See All Photos