Athena Health Care Systems Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Athena Health Care Systems President & CEO Lawrence G. Santilli (no image)
Lawrence G. Santilli
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The upper management staff at headquarters is rude(in 4 reviews)

  • "There is no downsides at Athena Health care system(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company - treats employees with respect"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Family friendly Big company with opportunity to transfer to other facilities, but has a small feel because everyones knows each other.

    Cons

    Regular raises are needed.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-02-01

    Athena Health Care Systems Response

    February 14, 2019Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thanks much for the feedback!

  2. "Would not recommend"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time

    Pros

    Co workers are great to work with

    Cons

    Terribly mismanaged by upper management

    Athena Health Care Systems2020-01-29
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Staff is rude"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pca in New Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None they make it sound good

    Cons

    The upper management staff at headquarters is rude

    Continue reading
    Athena Health Care Systems2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Honestly: You're not just a dining service assistant, you're also hotel room service!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dining Services in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    *Benefits are decent *Co-workers that stick around are good *Great conversations with residents (old ones, not really the young ones).

    Cons

    Let's get started here..... *Profit centered (health care nowadays anyways) *Administrator snubs you sometimes,like you don't mean anything. A hello goes a long way! *If it's 730 at night and you're piled with paperwork and they call for food, A PBJ even with the stuff stocked on the floors upstairs to make it, YOU MUST BRING IT!!! OR YOU'LL HEAR ABOUT IT, YOU'LL PROBABLY GET DISCIPLINED as well because that's BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE THE ADMIN WOULD SAY......which I suppose it is but, you have work to do too. *In a flood, I see management taking off while us employees struggle as they scurry for their own lives. *Many non-compliant residents to feed, typically calling for stuff they can't have but, usually an all the time thing. *CNAs give attitude to us on the phone, and are very demanding at times with that same attitude. Makes us feel at the bottom of the totem pole. Like we are human beings as well.

    Continue reading
    Athena Health Care Systems2019-06-28

    Athena Health Care Systems Response

    October 2, 2019Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your suggestions and detailed feedback. It is important to us that we hear the opinions of our hard-working staff. We are glad that you have been happy working for us for nearly 10 years and we appreciate your dedication. We’d love to hear from you directly, either via a phone call (833.5.Athena) or an email to EmployeeAdvocate@AthenaHealthCare.com so we can better understand your specific concerns and work to address them.

  5. "Decent place to start your career"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in East Providence, RI

    I worked at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to start your career

    Cons

    Extremely high patient to nurse ratio

    Continue reading
    Athena Health Care Systems2019-05-24
  6. "RN Supervisor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems part-time

    Pros

    Good policies and procedures in place

    Cons

    Due to so many facilities, business plans appear to be too “cookie cutter” which doesn’t take into account each facility unique character.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-05-08

    Athena Health Care Systems Response

    October 2, 2019Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thanks for the feedback and review. Although Athena centers have many policies and procedures to ensure for the well-being of our residents and staff, we also feel that each center has a good deal of autonomy to implement specific changes to match the center's unique needs. Our Employee Advocacy line is always available for any suggestions to improve our services and programs - both for patients and employees. We'd love to hear from you to see what we can do better! 833.5.Athena or an email to EmployeeAdvocate@AthenaHealthCare.com

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding Career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working for Athena can prove to be rewarding, providing you work hard and follow instructions.

    Cons

    Management is not necessarily fair and reasonable. They make decisions on what would benefit themselves first before considering their patients, employees and family members.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-01-20

    Athena Health Care Systems Response

    February 14, 2019Director of Marketing & Communications

    Sorry to hear this and would love to have heard from you while you were with us to address your feelings at the time and learn more from you...

  8. "Client Service Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Culture, Pay, People,and benefits

    Cons

    They are a millennial company and just got bought up by a bigger corporation. They are in the process of making lots of changes. My position was taken away and i was let go because of it.

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-01-03

    Athena Health Care Systems Response

    February 13, 2019Director of Marketing & Communications

    We're pleased to see your 4 Star recommendation of Athena Health Care Systems, however we must point out that we have been in operation since 1984, and our President and C.E.O. has been with us since the beginning, in the same role. You may have us confused with Athena Healthcare, a health care billing company...

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worse company ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time

    Pros

    the health insurance is affordable

    Cons

    Everything except the cost of health insurance

    Athena Health Care Systems2019-01-26
  10. "Athena Hospice"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospice Social Worker in Farmington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Athena Health Care Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *the hospice team is comprised of people who genuinely care about patients and their families and are supportive of one another - a truly stellar group *the company has made a lot of changes/improvements since I started my employment in Feb. 2016 - it is nice to see growth in the right direction *flexible schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    *improving communication/partnering with nursing facilities continues to be a challenge at times but there is ongoing effort in this area

    Continue reading
    Athena Health Care Systems2018-11-29

    Athena Health Care Systems Response

    February 13, 2019Director of Marketing & Communications

    Thanks so much for the review and great advice! We appreciate your constructive comments and will start working on your suggestions.

Found 60 reviews